Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous book
I love this book and for those who have never followed a pattern it is clear and easy to follow the instructions. For the more adventurous it is also easy to adapt these designs and make them your own. It even has a spiral bound spine which means it lays flat preventing that annoying closure of the book whilst your knitting!

thoroughly recommended.
Published on 1 Sep 2006 by ZoŽ LB

versus
28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Little variety
As a newer knitter, I wanted some simple projects to work on that would teach me some new skills, allow me to gain further knowledge, and produce something that was more than just a scarf. This book looked intriguing so I got it and chose a project based mostly on the yarn that I had available. Now that I completed that project, I've gone through and tried to find a next...
Published on 8 May 2006 by librarygirl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Little variety, 8 May 2006
By 
As a newer knitter, I wanted some simple projects to work on that would teach me some new skills, allow me to gain further knowledge, and produce something that was more than just a scarf. This book looked intriguing so I got it and chose a project based mostly on the yarn that I had available. Now that I completed that project, I've gone through and tried to find a next project, but I'm at loss.

Pretty much every project in this book is the same thing with very little variation. For example, what is essentially the same bag, but knitted in different dimensions or two pieces of two other bags put together so you have a seed stitch front and plain back.

I think you'd be better off browsing this book in a store or library and seeing if it's worth buying before buying it blind like I did. Or better yet, just search for bag patterns online and get a far wider variety of both free and inexpensive patterns.

I give this book two stars for it's layout (I really like the spiral binding), multiple pictures of the projects, and clear instructions, but I didn't learn anything and haven't really felt inspired to do any more of the patterns in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous book, 1 Sep 2006
I love this book and for those who have never followed a pattern it is clear and easy to follow the instructions. For the more adventurous it is also easy to adapt these designs and make them your own. It even has a spiral bound spine which means it lays flat preventing that annoying closure of the book whilst your knitting!

thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emma King - 25 Bags to Knit, 29 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This is a beautifully produced book, well worth buying if like me you want a book using wool which is easily available in the UK shops(Rowan). The bags to knit seem well within the ability range of most knitters, practical yet very attractive.
My only gripe is that although the cover is produced for the English market with English spellings, the rest of the books has US spellings and terminology (eg color rather than colour, gauge rather than tension). This could have been easily avoided with better proof-reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fabulous bags to knit as gifts, 26 Jan 2010
By 
Small Wonder (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 25 Bags to Knit: Beautiful Bags in Stylish Colours (Paperback)
Fantastic book! First of all I thought I had made a mistake by purchasing the American version of the book. However, the author ensures that both terms are used throughout, so us Brits don't get confused!

Truely inspirational! The author even takes time out to teach some basic design techniques in GREAT detail, which I have failed to master with other books (including several beginner's guides), i.e. intarsia (adding coloured areas).

Highly recommended, easy to follow patterns to make funky and modern bags, and this is coming from a fairly new knitter... now the only question is, which bag to knit first?

PS The paperback version is published in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book!, 23 Feb 2006
I love this book, and am always buying more wool, as I want to make loads from it! The only thing that stops it from being a 5* book, is the lack of lining options, as several of the bags I have had to make linings for, as they would have stretched otherwise There are loads of super patterns though, that all use smallish quantities of wool, so all those odments can come in useful! It does use Rowan wool, but I have rarely used the specified wool, as the size doesn't matter so much like a sweater! Hope this review helps you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Bags to Knit: Beautiful Bags in Stylish Colours (Paperback)
Fair descriptionn of this second hand book. I am now busy knitting one of the bags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect transaction, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All went as well as it could go with this order. No delay, item arrived in condition as described and I have no reason for complaint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring book, 1 July 2013
By 
A. Steele "A Steele" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Bags to Knit: Beautiful Bags in Stylish Colours (Paperback)
Easy to follow patterns with good instructions even for a beginner. Bags make great presents and book is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great patterns, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Bags to Knit: Beautiful Bags in Stylish Colours (Paperback)
more to knit for my craft stall. Emma's patterns are always clear and concise. Friends are always borrowing book for her patterns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Bokk, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Bags to Knit: Beautiful Bags in Stylish Colours (Paperback)
This is a lovely and unique book. So many of my friends were very impressed with the items I've made so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

25 Bags to Knit: Beautiful Bags in Stylish Colours
25 Bags to Knit: Beautiful Bags in Stylish Colours by Emma King (Paperback - 1 July 2009)
Used & New from: £6.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews