Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars clear instruction
This book is a motifs collection. - no projects or anything beyond this.
All motifs come with photo, chart and written instruction. It also includes a general crochet introduction to the main stitches in text and picture.
The over all layout is very tidy and the instructions are easy to follow. - i personally follow the charts only.

space to...
Published on 10 Jan. 2011 by smartblur

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lovely patterns, badly written
This is a very inspiring book - the motifs are mostly really lovely - and I would recommend it to anyone who can read crochet charts. However there is a huge problem with the text because UK and USA crochet terminology are constantly mixed up. It is enormously frustrating and very confusing - I would certainly avoid this one if you are beginner.
Published on 11 April 2009 by A. R. Burdon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lovely patterns, badly written, 11 April 2009
By 
A. R. Burdon "Very Berry Handmade" (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Harmony Guides: Crochet Stitch Motifs: 250 to Crochet (Paperback)
This is a very inspiring book - the motifs are mostly really lovely - and I would recommend it to anyone who can read crochet charts. However there is a huge problem with the text because UK and USA crochet terminology are constantly mixed up. It is enormously frustrating and very confusing - I would certainly avoid this one if you are beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars clear instruction, 10 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Harmony Guides: Crochet Stitch Motifs: 250 to Crochet (Paperback)
This book is a motifs collection. - no projects or anything beyond this.
All motifs come with photo, chart and written instruction. It also includes a general crochet introduction to the main stitches in text and picture.
The over all layout is very tidy and the instructions are easy to follow. - i personally follow the charts only.

space to improve... - the majority of the motifs are rather simple, so some more complex motifs (like the irish eye) would be nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference, 28 Aug. 2008
This review is from: The Harmony Guides: Crochet Stitch Motifs: 250 to Crochet (Paperback)
I really like this book- it has loads of lovely unusual motifs. Unfortunately the section on Irish Crocet does not explain properly how to piece motifs into a fabric, but otherwise there are many gorgeous motifs and snowflakes. Not many flowers or leaves- get Nick Epstein's book for that!
There are written instructions and international symbols in the schematics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 17 Mar. 2010
By 
A. W. Falvey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Harmony Guides: Crochet Stitch Motifs: 250 to Crochet (Paperback)
I have found this to be a very good book just watch out as sometimes the patterns are written with American stitches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great patterns, terrible editing, 27 April 2014
By 
This review is from: The Harmony Guides: Crochet Stitch Motifs: 250 to Crochet (Paperback)
It's a good thing that every pattern comes with a symbol pattern as well as a written pattern, because the written patterns are constantly alternating between UK and USA terminology. The stitch guide at the start of the book and indeed the symbol guide at the back all use UK terms, and nowhere in the book does it mention the difference between UK and US terms, so it must be pretty confusing for a beginner to find a pattern that mentions the American 'sc' stitch and find no explanation of what 'sc' actually is anywhere else in the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to follow and very useful!, 25 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Harmony Guides: Crochet Stitch Motifs: 250 to Crochet (Paperback)
I brought this book when I was learning to crochet and have found it extreemly useful, its easy to follow and i've found it very useful! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 250 crochet stitch motifs, 6 May 2013
By 
B. Singleton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harmony Guides: Crochet Stitch Motifs: 250 to Crochet (Paperback)
This is in my opinion a just above average book - nice to have but not the best available. In parts it provides for the individual to create some unique motifs. The down side is that I have found some to be repeated with little difference.
If you have several books then this is, as said, a nice addition to any collection, but as a stand alone book there are better around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost endless inspiration, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harmony Guides: Crochet Stitch Motifs: 250 to Crochet (Paperback)
As an active needleworker in all possible spare time I love "dictionaries". Browsing the patterns in this book always starts ideas of a new project or the edge/finishing of an ongoing project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 8 Oct. 2013
By 
Hooker 4 Life (Peterborough, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harmony Guides: Crochet Stitch Motifs: 250 to Crochet (Paperback)
I love this book just what I was looking for will be my "go to" time and time again I have learnt loads of new stitches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harmony Guides: Crochet Stitch Motifs: 250 to Crochet (Paperback)
Would use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Harmony Guides: Crochet Stitch Motifs: 250 to Crochet
The Harmony Guides: Crochet Stitch Motifs: 250 to Crochet by Erika Knight (Paperback - 19 May 2008)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews