Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and thorough introduction to flying training.
I purchased this book a few months ago and I have to say it is very well written with some excellent diagrams to help you learn the basics of flying training. It assumes no prior knowledge of flying and takes you totally from grass roots including theory of flight basics. The authors are clearly experts in their field and this is evident throughout the whole book. I was a...
Published on 28 Dec 2007 by Mr. Jn Bingham

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present
The book is of good quality not cheaply made and worth it's money but as I gave it as a gift I haven't read it!
Published 8 months ago by Mrs. Debra J. Squires


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and thorough introduction to flying training., 28 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. Jn Bingham (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Air Pilot's Manual: Flying Training v. 1: Flying Training Vol 1 (Air Pilots Manual 01) (Paperback)
I purchased this book a few months ago and I have to say it is very well written with some excellent diagrams to help you learn the basics of flying training. It assumes no prior knowledge of flying and takes you totally from grass roots including theory of flight basics. The authors are clearly experts in their field and this is evident throughout the whole book. I was a little reluctant to buy this book in the first place as I already had some exprience of flying, however I was surprised to learn many new aspects of hands-on flying and theory of flight which I didn't know.

This series of books will probably teach you more than you would need to know for taking the PPL course, however they are great if you are wanting to go further than PLL. The style of writing does not include cheesy and irritating 'americanisms' or humour - it just gets straight to the point and teaches you exactly what you need to know. If you are looking for a humour and storytelling then don't buy this book. If you are looking for a very precise and well written text which covers exactly what you need to know then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended book., 10 July 2011
This review is from: The Air Pilot's Manual: Flying Training v. 1: Flying Training Vol 1 (Air Pilots Manual 01) (Paperback)
Whilst not mandatory, this book (this series of books) are frequently provided or highly recommended by flight schools in the U.K. as part of PPL courses. Even if you're not intending to learn to fly, but want to understand how and why a light aircraft behaves as it does, or even just know how to use a flight simulator more realistically, you won't go far wrong. I would recommend this along with Volume 4, 'The Aeroplane - Technical' as the minimum requirement for your library.
Note that they do assume a degree of intelligence on the part of the reader, however most people aiming to become a qualified pilot will have no problem whatsoever in understanding the material presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beginners guide?, 13 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Air Pilot's Manual: Flying Training v. 1: Flying Training Vol 1 (Air Pilots Manual 01) (Paperback)
Like all the books in this series this book represents both excellent value for money and in my humble opinion an excellent guide to the initial stages of flying training. To some degree this is a difficult subject to capture in two dimemnsions on a page however with one or two exceptions I found the illustrations clear, concise and above all easy to understand. I believe this helps to build a mental picture of the processes involved which will compliment the actual training undertaken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class, 1 July 2012
This review is from: The Air Pilot's Manual: Flying Training v. 1: Flying Training Vol 1 (Air Pilots Manual 01) (Paperback)
Top marks for this volume. It's not exciting reading for a night when "Sky Movies" is having problems - it's an excellent detailed description of Flying Training!

Loads of diagrams make the text easy to follow. I use Flight Simulator mostly and this book has helped me enormously. Part of a great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Companion for PPL Training, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Air Pilot's Manual: Flying Training v. 1: Flying Training Vol 1 (Air Pilots Manual 01) (Paperback)
Very comprehensive with airwork and exercises to support all aspects of flight. Contains an excellent overview of material more fully explored in subsequent and complimentary volumes.

Found the concepts introduced to be pitched at just at the right level for a beginner to grasp. Some of the underlying physics however requires full concentration for those wishing to fully absorb the underlying theory as well as put it into practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Air Pilot's Manual: Flying Training v. 1: Flying Training Vol 1 (Air Pilots Manual 01) (Paperback)
The book was a very reasonable price, and was delivered promptly and in good condition. It is a brilliant book and gives me an idea of the principles behind the next lesson. I always go back and re read the chapter after the lesson and it makes more sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive and logical, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Air Pilot's Manual: Flying Training v. 1: Flying Training Vol 1 (Air Pilots Manual 01) (Paperback)
I'm using this book for my motor-glider training. It covers all the basic (and those bit more advanced) exercises and explains thoroughly all the effects involved. It answers all the questions you may have when flying your first hours. I've been reading it along my training and the book complimented it like nothing else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 10 out of 10, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Air Pilot's Manual: Flying Training v. 1: Flying Training Vol 1 (Air Pilots Manual 01) (Paperback)
this book meets all the requirements,very informative and helpfull,will order the rest of the set.

this is a must for any budding piolet,it teaches the basics and give very good advice and is a very good referance book to keep with the rest.

many thanks for good service it was bang on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Air Pilot's Manual: Flying Training v. 1: Flying Training Vol 1 (Air Pilots Manual 01) (Paperback)
No additional comment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Air Pilot's Manual: Flying Training v. 1: Flying Training Vol 1 (Air Pilots Manual 01) (Paperback)
Best book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Air Pilot's Manual: Flying Training v. 1: Flying Training Vol 1 (Air Pilots Manual 01)
Used & New from: £51.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews