Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


130 of 133 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for managing a project
This book is perfect for anyone who wants to manage a home extention project. There is invaluable advice on all the major aspects of getting work done on time, safely and cost effectively. It also deals with legal aspects (in plain English) that will ensure that if anything goes wrong, you and your money are protected. But DON'T buy this book if you are looking for...
Published on 30 Aug 2000

versus
55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Most suitable for those intending to use tradesmen
Written by a building control officer this book provides a good backgrounder to those who are contemplating having an extension built for them. The book is written in a personable manner and touches on most areas involved with the whole process from planning to completion. However, for those like myself, who want to learn about doing it all themselves, the book is...
Published on 10 Mar 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

130 of 133 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for managing a project, 30 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This book is perfect for anyone who wants to manage a home extention project. There is invaluable advice on all the major aspects of getting work done on time, safely and cost effectively. It also deals with legal aspects (in plain English) that will ensure that if anything goes wrong, you and your money are protected. But DON'T buy this book if you are looking for information on how to build it yourself. This book is designed to give you enough information about the work you are employing builders to do so that they don't rip you off with shoddy or dangerous work. All in all this is an excellent book with gems of vital information on each page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must for home-improvers, 17 Mar 2001
By 
P. J. Goble (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am planning an extension to our home and, since reading the book, realise how many holes I could fall into!
the book is very clearly set out and indexed, starts at the beginning (when your extension is just a vague idea), and takes you step by step through the whole process. It is illustrated with very clear diagrams and graphics, and uses non-technical language to put across stuff you never even thought of, but which is crucial to seeing your dream become reality.
There are lots of checklists that tell you what to look out for at each stage of the work, so you know how to keep abreast of what Bob the Builder is up to (or not up to, as the case may be).
When I asked the first person who wanted to do the job if he was "Vat-registered", his sharp intake of breath was a revelation!
Don't spend a penny on that extension till you've bought a copy. It could save you thousands!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well presented, stuctured book for the layman, 24 Feb 2002
By 
borg2560@yahoo.co.uk (Brotton, North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
The book is ideal for someone who knows little of the construction industry, but would feel less intimidated after reading.
As a builder myself, I bought the book out of sheer curiosity. I found it to be structured in such a way as to complement the new build extension as it progresses.
Very factual, and as the saying goes, I have to admit, that even I was caught out by "Well I did`nt know that!"
If you buy this book, you definetly will not be caught out by the cowboys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars future plans, 1 Feb 2009
This review is from: Home Extensions: The Complete Handbook (Paperback)
Hymer's 176 page, A5 sized, soft back book is an informative work on the ins and outs of extending your property. Despite having a construction background - 'on the tools' until a few years ago - there were tips, suggestions and information in it that I found extremely useful. Planning law, neigbourly disputes and the way local authorities work are all covered, as are tips on how to look at your property to see potential problems before you start work - trees, hedges and ground types. The actual process from foundation to roofing is explained too and the book shows why work is completed a certain way, often confusing to those not involved in the process.
Whether you wish to tackle the job your self or just be able to understand waht the professionals you hire to do it for you are talking about then this book should be on your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Most suitable for those intending to use tradesmen, 10 Mar 2000
By A Customer
Written by a building control officer this book provides a good backgrounder to those who are contemplating having an extension built for them. The book is written in a personable manner and touches on most areas involved with the whole process from planning to completion. However, for those like myself, who want to learn about doing it all themselves, the book is frustratingly breif in certain areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home extensions, 13 Dec 2004
This review is from: Home Extensions: The Complete Handbook (Paperback)
Very good and very helpful. I used it along with 2 other building books and between the 3 of them managed to get my extension built without a hitch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a bad book for beginners. Could do with a little more insight . Building is complex and relationship with builders and subcontractors is paramount
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Extensions: The Complete Handbook (Paperback)
This was a great book and I learned a lot from it. It is the ideal handy book to have nearby when you're doing an extension. This book saves you time and guides you away from all the pitfalls. Definitely recommend reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 24 May 2012
By 
Mrs. V. L. Skidmore (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
lots of useful info about extensions, havent read it all but it was quite interesting and had some handy tips, great book to help if you are a novice about building rules and regs like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Home Extensions, 11 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Extensions: The Complete Handbook (Paperback)
A good book to have in your builders library, not hard to read and very helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home Extensions: The Complete Handbook
Home Extensions: The Complete Handbook by Paul Hymers (Paperback - 12 Aug 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews