Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to get a Shedstart in life
This highly entertaining book seeks to highlight and promote the many and varied activities that are undertaken in the buildings-that-aren't-buildings living in gardens across the UK. The seeming mundanity of the humble shed is blown-apart by the sheer exuberant range of activities, people and machines that appear in these pages. A thoroughly interesting, if brief, read...
Published on 15 Jan. 2003 by Dave

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sheds I have known and loved
This is a pretty cracking book, with some fantastic sheds featured, brought to life with some lovely black and white photography.
My only criticism is that the text lets it down a wee bit - I didn't feel that the author really gets to the bottom of the "shed thing", but tended instead to ramble on a bit about stuff that wasn't really relevant.
That said, it's...
Published on 16 Oct. 2003 by Shed Monkey

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sheds I have known and loved, 16 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Men and Sheds (Hardcover)
This is a pretty cracking book, with some fantastic sheds featured, brought to life with some lovely black and white photography.
My only criticism is that the text lets it down a wee bit - I didn't feel that the author really gets to the bottom of the "shed thing", but tended instead to ramble on a bit about stuff that wasn't really relevant.
That said, it's worth buying on the strength of the photos - you can't help but smile looking at them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to get a Shedstart in life, 15 Jan. 2003
By 
Dave (Stroud, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Men and Sheds (Hardcover)
This highly entertaining book seeks to highlight and promote the many and varied activities that are undertaken in the buildings-that-aren't-buildings living in gardens across the UK. The seeming mundanity of the humble shed is blown-apart by the sheer exuberant range of activities, people and machines that appear in these pages. A thoroughly interesting, if brief, read that seeks no explanation or philosophy behind the shed, but simply to show what people, in fact men, do in and with their sheds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't get you out of my shed, 20 Jan. 2003
By 
Dave (Stroud, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Men and Sheds (Hardcover)
What an excellent way to imagine you have another life outside of the daily grind. Each of the short articles, accompanied by a picture, explains a different use that chaps have for their sheds. It is well presented and made me wonder in awe at the somewhat unusual spare (and not so spare) time activities of the shed-loving community. The photographs capture the esence of the activities undertaken in each shed, and it is amazing to look at how each shed has evolved over time to be an ideal partner for whatever goes in inside. It rather put my simple garden shed full of tools and garden equipment into the shade. It is a great read to flick through in any order, and gives flight to your imagination, and maybe your motivation, in order to contemplate what your old shed would be like with a lick of paint and a comfy chair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Englishman's home is... his shed, 17 May 2004
By 
Peter Fenelon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Men and Sheds (Hardcover)
The shed is a powerful psychological totem for the Englishman. It is private space, sacred space, space for contemplation - oh and space for storing the debris of a life's hobbies, DIY, and assorted junk-gathering. This excellent little photo-essay on shedding covers a range of sheds and their owners ranging from the purely functional to the esoteric and eclectic. All human life (at least, all human life as comprehended by the Shed-Type Bloke) can be found within the walls of an outbuilding - the hopes, dreams and mad projects of the British male can be seen in extremis in this book.
Oh and it's funny too ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The woman's Perspective!, 13 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Men and Sheds (Hardcover)
A Lovely book! An ideal Christmas gift for the man in your life - along with a shed of course! In my view, every man should be shedded!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very small book!, 15 Dec. 2008
By 
G. Town (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Men and Sheds (Hardcover)
I haven't yet read this book as it is a present for my father. However the first impression left me slightly disappointed. There is much emphasis on the photography in this book yet its dimensions are smaller than many fiction books and it is a lot thinner. The description led me to believe it would be a book with high visual impact when in fact this is a book that would easily be overlooked on a bookshelf or coffee table.

However, having flicked through the content I am sure that my dad will love learning that there are people out there just like him :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Men and their Sheds - a great british institution., 9 Dec. 2005
This review is from: Men and Sheds (Hardcover)
A book about men who have their own private den. A retreat away from the cares of life where they are free to engage in their hobbies be it a home made office, lab, workshop or simply a store for collecting things. A snapshot about life itself, showing diverse buildings and the many uses which people put their sheds to. One very minor gripe is that I would have preferred colour pictures which would have brought out a more individual feel, so characteristic of every proud shedder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every man's retreat, 14 Jan. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Men and Sheds (Hardcover)
Just what every man who needs to get away from it needs - all without having to get away. Simply take this with you to any safe quite haven and indulge. Nice to know there's others who do this sort of thing. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Men and Sheds, 8 Oct. 2009
By 
Mrs. Judith M. Watson (Dorset, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Men and Sheds (Hardcover)
I bought this funny little book for a 65th birthday present for my brother, who is just building himself a shed. Its very entertaining and gives a great insight into what men do in their sheds, very amusing. Great to leave around the place to fill in the odd few moments - in the loo or by the kettle or bedside. Just the job for a pressie for middle-aged men who have birthdays and you don't know what to give them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Men and Sheds, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Men and Sheds (Hardcover)
I bought this for a male friend of ours who has recently built himself a shed at the end of his garden. When I saw this I thought it would make him and his wife laugh. And they did. They thought it was very apt. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
     Huge Summer Sale Now On opens new browser window
  www.shedsandthings.co.uk/   -   Range Of Pressure Treated Sheds Free Mainland UK Delivery
     Storage Shed opens new browser window
  industrial.warehouses.kopron.com/   -   Find how to cover every space. Fast to install. No Maintenance

This product

Men and Sheds
Men and Sheds by Gordon Thorburn (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Joy of Sheds: Because a Man's Place Isn't in the Home
The Joy of Sheds: Because a Man's Place Isn't in the Home by Frank Hopkinson (Hardcover - 17 May 2012)
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (34)   
Buy new£7.99
In stock

101 Things To Do In A Shed
101 Things To Do In A Shed by Rob Beattie (Hardcover - 3 Nov. 2005)
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (36)   
Buy new£9.99
In stock

Fifty Sheds of Grey: Erotica for the not-too-modern male (Fifty Sheds 1)
3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1,381)   
Buy new£4.99
In stock