Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


401 of 401 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended for garden use but not a 'field guide'
Despite the availability of many larger and more comprehensive bird identification books, I still recommend this one for those who just want to identify the birds in their garden, especially beginners. Dave Daly's paintings are beautifully clear and with half a dozen good-sized images for each species, including juveniles, this is by far the clearest and most...
Published on 26 Oct 2001 by andrew.cannon@bto.org

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Garden Birds
Reasonable value for the money, but not exactly 'complete'. Most of the common garden birds are in here; each bird has a double page, with quite good illustrations (drawings / paintings, not photographs), and a good description of habits distinctive features and markings. That bit is good.
The downside is that unless you know what the bird is, there is no assistance...
Published on 27 Feb 2012 by Pete E


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

401 of 401 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended for garden use but not a 'field guide', 26 Oct 2001
This review is from: The Complete Garden Bird Book: How to Identify and Attract Birds to Your Garden (Paperback)
Despite the availability of many larger and more comprehensive bird identification books, I still recommend this one for those who just want to identify the birds in their garden, especially beginners. Dave Daly's paintings are beautifully clear and with half a dozen good-sized images for each species, including juveniles, this is by far the clearest and most user-friendly guide for those who just want to sort out which species are using their bird tables or feeders in the UK. It's also very good value.
Andrew Cannon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bird identifier, 23 July 2009
By 
madge (Warlingham, Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Garden Bird Book: How to Identify and Attract Birds to Your Garden (Paperback)
No more arguments about the identity of that bird on your garden feeder. This is a really good reference book - you'll need to keep it buy the back window because you'll use it all the time. Really clear pictures showing male, female and young and describing markings, habitat and calls with handy ways of telling similar birds apart. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars would prefer photographs, 30 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Garden Bird Book: How to Identify and Attract Birds to Your Garden (Paperback)
The book is good content wise, but I was disappointed that it only contains drawings of birds and not actual photographs. I feel that this makes it harder to identify them. I bought it in a bit of a hurry and wish I had looked more clearly then I would have realised this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birds of Britain, 10 Oct 2009
By 
N. N. Shaw (Cheadle Staffs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Garden Bird Book: How to Identify and Attract Birds to Your Garden (Paperback)
This is an excellent reference book, well illustrated.
My grandaughter had a great time identifying the birds in
our gArden, using this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Garden bird book, 28 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: The Complete Garden Bird Book: How to Identify and Attract Birds to Your Garden (Paperback)
Very interesting book. This was bought as a gift for a friend and they were over the moon with it.
It is very informative and interesting to read.
Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful bird recognition book, 5 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Garden Bird Book: How to Identify and Attract Birds to Your Garden (Paperback)
This is a useful book for recognising garden birds & how to encourage them to visist your garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Bird Lovers, 22 May 2010
By 
D. Hancox "DonnaPoo" (Ilkeston, Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Does what it says on the cover!! Greatly illustrated and up to date if you like your stats. And suprisingly enough, the only thing that I have ever bought that has been labled as 'pocket size' that really is pocket sized (and no I dont wear a poachers jacket!)
Would suit all ages for people who are just getting the bird bug, to (semi) experienced bird enthuiasts like me - you never stop learning as this book has information and tips that have not been copied straight from another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Garden Bird Book, 26 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. E. B. Stead "beasthead" (letchworth garden city, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Garden Bird Book: How to Identify and Attract Birds to Your Garden (Paperback)
An interesting, informative and well written little book. It told me exactly what to do to attract garden birds at any time of the year and more importantly "how to behave towards them"! The photographs, illustrations were outstandingly good.
Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy book, 11 May 2011
By 
John Grant "Johnny Boy" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For its handy size this a very good little book.
It does focus on most of the birds you are likely to find in or around a garden and allows for regional spread as well.
It also ignores the more exotic birds you are unlikely to come across.
As a simple reference for all amateurs, young and not so young it is a worthwhile purchase; it has certainly encouraged my 7 year old Grandson's interest in birds. He has even found a site on the internet where he can identify bird song so this book can really stimulate interest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Garden Bird Book, 14 Nov 2010
By 
N. C. Booth "M0CVO" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Garden Bird Book: How to Identify and Attract Birds to Your Garden (Paperback)
Bought this book for my wife as a guide to the birds she is now observing in our garden. It is an absolute treasure of information and so easily understandable. A well written and illustrated book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa80f57e0)

This product

The Complete Garden Bird Book: How to Identify and Attract Birds to Your Garden
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews