Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars35
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2012
The author has taken a set of attitudes and skills pertinent to making a Great Detective, briefly described them and used references from the stories of Sherlock Holmes to aptly illustrate them. In addition there are quizzes and brain teasers at the end of each section for you to practice. This is a light-hearted book, non pretentious , which I enjoyed and made me want to revisit Conan's canon.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
Any reader of the Sherlock Holmes stories will get something from this aesthetically pleasing little book: entertainment, puzzles and knowledge.
All the relevant aspects of psychology are covered, for example, Lateral Thinking, Logic, Concentration, 'Luck' and Memory amongst others.
The Holmes related puzzles, some of which require the reader to have some experience of the detective's stories, are very enjoyable, if not frustrating at times!
Perhaps a shade short of what I expected, nevertheless, an enjoyable work presented in an entertaining way.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
The book delved into the mind of Sherlock with ease but did not go to the deep end, for want of a better phrase. The book covered the basics of Sherlock's methodology and his way of thinking enough for the reader to understand what he does at the crime scene, but doesn't analyse how he does it effectively enough, especially for a book entitled 'How to Think Like Sherlock'. The puzzles at the end of each section should keep you entertained enough, but all in all both the style and content of this book only manage to hit the average mark.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
This book is not useful in any way and is very superficial. Large tracts have been lifted from the Sherlock Holmes stories, ostensibly to illustrate points but in fact serve as padding. The quizzes are childish and indeed, the book seems aimed at a pre-teen audience. Perhaps the best advice is from the author himself on page 84 of the hardback edition: "To improve your own deductive powers, you can do no better than read the entire Sherlock Holmes canon."
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
I got this book for a friend who hinted very subtly that she was interested. The package came two days late, but I ordered a few more items with it so that was probably why. When it did arrive, I was very impressed with it. It looks even nicer than it does in the image, it's an excellent hardback. The dust cover comes off to reveal a very sophisticated looking black cover underneath which is blank on front and back but has the title and author on the spine. The pages are very nice quality, though the font is a bit too big for those of us who are used to reading minute fonts. It doesn't come with a sewn in bookmark. Overall, excellent production quality.

Since I wasn't able to give it to her for a couple of weeks, I decided to read a bit of it myself (and hope she wouldn't notice). I read about halfway through and then gave it up, not because it was bad, but because I had four other novels lined up and finding out how to be like Sherlock Holmes wasn't particularly a priority. It's quite well written; easy to read (minus the occasional "fancy" words which I have a feeling the author throws in occasionally to make his points sound cogent), it's well planned out, follows a certain structure, and is written as a form of commentary with the author frequently providing his own insight on different topics. He includes several brain teaser puzzles, which I imagine would be quite fun if you don't skip over them like I did. While this is by no means a "bad" book, it should only really be considered as a bit of light reading for those of us who adore Sherlock Holmes, it's certainly not a guide book on how to become super intelligent, and honestly, at times feels like more of an English essay than anything. The writer spends an awful lot of time waffling on about this or that and giving page long quotes from different Sherlock novels to back his points up.

In conclusion, this book would make a nice gift, and would provide a couple of hours of entertainment, but that's about it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 November 2013
This is an interesting subject matter and it really would be nice to think like the great detective. However, I am not sure that this book is the way to go about becoming like Sherlock Holmes.

Let's start with the first thing needs to be clear for all people with this lofty goal, even for people like me who just find the idea fascinating; Sherlock Holmes isn't real! As great as it would be to have the mind of Sherlock Holmes and the abilities of the man as well, it is probably never going to happen for most people, if anyone; because quite frankly, human's aren't created like that.

Books and movies have over the years romanticised certain abilities to the point where people strive to those goals without understanding them. The kind of mind that would have the computational power of Sherlock Holmes' mind is not the kind of mind that you would find a healthy human being. When looking at most of the super geniuses of the world there is always a huge draw back to their cognitive brilliance and in most cases that is the lack of a comfortable level of sanity.

Now that isn't to say that there aren't things to be learned from this book. There is plenty of information about improving memory, the mind and other areas of our life that all people can learn from. There is a brief overview of a number of techniques and ideas that are genuinely interesting and can improve your life tremendously. As a person currently trying to improve his reading speed and understanding the benefits of an improved reading speed I can testify that anyone can learn some of these skills and that they can be of a huge help to people.

Before I ramble on too much about this book I would like to finish with a quick summary which I feel is most pertinent to this book. There is a lot of helpful starting points in this book and some useful information. But at the same time remember to take everything with a pinch of salt. The author writes about Sherlock Holmes as though he were actually a real person and is a man that everyone can be with the right amount of work. Limit your expectations and take from this book what you genuinely might be able to use which is a step in the right direction for developing a more useful mind.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
This product is great. Full of little brain teasers and challenges that make you think. Even if you're not an avid Sherlock fan like myself this book is still a great buy just to train your mind to become more observant and improve your memory, etc :) Great little book - perfect for a gift :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
Oh dear. Lazy and exploitative. While the mind tricks are valid enough, they are far from original, and their link to Sherlock is more in the light scattering of references, without any indepth investigation of any one deduction, other than verbatim sections of the Conan Doyle canon. Might suit a teenage spy just starting off, but gave me no joy and in parts its crassly written. (The reference to the "you don't have to be mad" sign particularly jarring and the "Brain attic stocked with furniture" quote is repeated two or three times.)
The quizes are not particulary unique either, the lateral thinking one solved by memory rather than any deduction.
Disappointing. Sherlock himself would be far from impressed and even Watson might scratch his head..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Loved this book. Simple and easy to understand. It was a quick read and the end tasks and puzzles keep it interesting.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
I enjoyed reading this book because it gave a great insight into how to think outside the box. It encourages exploiting all possible avenues in order to get the most out of the evidence that has been collected.

Great read, would recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse