Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please Sir, Can I have some Moore?!
What a fantastic book!

To start with it is bigger than I expected, 287mm x 223mm, and it is 224 pages long.

It is a lovely looking book with a beautifully designed glossy outer sleeve, and really thick and sturdy cardboard covers with a high quality binding.

The book begins with a really great introduction by Roger Moore, and it is full of...
Published on 4 Oct. 2012 by IOWBOY

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but lacking in the Dalton years
It's quite good.

The problem for me was that it pretty much glosses over the Timothy Dalton films and his portrayal of Bond very very quickly, and tells us very little.

Timothy Dalton was my favourite Bond and The Living Daylights is my favourite film, so I was disappointed.

Plenty of coverage of Craig, Connery, Brosnan and of course...
Published 2 months ago by Zin


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please Sir, Can I have some Moore?!, 4 Oct. 2012
By 
IOWBOY - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bond on Bond: The Ultimate Book on 50 Years of Bond Movies (Hardcover)
What a fantastic book!

To start with it is bigger than I expected, 287mm x 223mm, and it is 224 pages long.

It is a lovely looking book with a beautifully designed glossy outer sleeve, and really thick and sturdy cardboard covers with a high quality binding.

The book begins with a really great introduction by Roger Moore, and it is full of the wit that makes this wonderful man so special.

What follows are 11 chapters, and they are:

1. Bond on Beginnings
2. Bond on Villains
3. Bond on Girls
4. Bond on Gadgets
5. Bond on Cars
6. Bond on Style
7. Bond on Location
8. Bond on Bonds
9. Behind the Scenes
10. Bond on Screen
11. Bond on Films

The chapters are jam-packed with literally hundreds of photographs, mostly colour, and many of them are new to me.

The book is visually stunning but also manages to provide a huge amount of fascinating Bond trivia, again as with the pictures a lot of which was new to me.

The humour from the introduction is carried throughout the book, and although Roger Moore was not the sole author of this publication his presence is felt on every page and it comes across as a very personal tribute to a series he is clearly very proud of.

The final chapter, `Bond on Films', has a reproduction of the main poster used for each of the 22 official films to date, as well as `Never Say Never Again', and also has production information along with the budget and final worldwide gross.

The book is completed with a very thorough index.

I own many books on the Bond series and this is without a doubt the best I have seen yet, it is a fantastic tribute to the series and is without a doubt one of the finest examples of a cinematic book on the market, certainly within this price margin.

This book is an essential purchase for anyone who considers themselves a fan of the Bond legacy, I would also say however that it would make a wonderful gift for anybody who enjoys films or simply likes a good read!

Absolutely superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moores Dry Humour Elevates This 007 Gem, 24 April 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bond on Bond: The Ultimate Book on 50 Years of Bond Movies (Hardcover)
Hardback Book 224 pages.

I purchased this book over 2 year's ago among plenty of other 007 merchandise as I find suave English gent Sir Roger Moore who has wrote this book about 50 year's of James Bond delivers a well humoured approach & does justice to the material.

It's Sir Roger Moores tongue n cheek humour in this book that elevates it from simply being just another standard release as there plenty of Moores witty comments, Heartwarming tales & humourous anceodes that had me in hysterics throughout this books 224 pages.

I love how Moore comments on Grace Jones as "She who will not be named" which is a good non aggressive response to the two of them not getting along on Moores last Bond outing in A View To A Kill.

This book features iconic photos & previously unreleased pictures & gives a detailed account about the Bond franchise in general & gives the purchaser plenty of enjoyable written chapters making this a well researched book.

This is a great witty read delivering a good natured narrative by a 007 legend in Sir Roger Moore & is well worth adding to your James Bond collection.

This has 11 chapters covering all things James Bond including Non Canon 1967 Casino Royale & Thunderball remake Never Say Never Again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody Does It Better, 26 Oct. 2012
By 
This review is from: Bond on Bond: The Ultimate Book on 50 Years of Bond Movies (Hardcover)
You couldn't do better than this beautiful book to celebrate 50 years of Bond, and even more special to get the views and thoughts from possibly the wittiest Bond of all Sir Roger, as mentioned in the previous reviews it's packed with some gorgeous stills too, some of them new to me.

I'll take issue with Graham Harter that a kindle version is better than the printed one, as far as I'm concerned that'll never be the case, books like these are wasted on a puny screen, and also he should have checked the price on here, a full eleven pounds fifty cheaper than the original price.
And as a Christmas present for a friend, I can't think of anything more disappointing than simply downloading a book, I know I'll take more pleasure in gift wrapping it myself, and I know they'll get more pleaure from it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift for Bond Lover, 15 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bond on Bond: The Ultimate Book on 50 Years of Bond Movies (Hardcover)
Purchased this book as a gift for my brother. Glanced through before wrapping it for his birthday and spent the next hour reading the articles which have plenty of entertaining accompanying photographs, clips and promotional media. Would definitely recommend for a bond fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great present for any Bond fanatic!, 12 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bond on Bond: The Ultimate Book on 50 Years of Bond Movies (Hardcover)
Very enjoyable, informative book....my husband just loved it, he read it from front to back in about a week!
Great present for any Bond fanatic, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for fans of the films, or the books!, 13 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To coincide with the 50th anniversary of the release of the début film, Dr. No, Sir Roger has co-authored this "fan book" of thoughts and anecdotes from each of the 22 films to date (along with the "rival" production Never Say Never Again, the dreadful 1967 Casino Royale, and of course Fleming's literary Bond!).

At £25.00 RRP the hardback edition is rather steeply priced - although understandably so, given that it contains over 250 full-colour reproductions of everything from scenes from the films, to the cars and gadgets which were used in them, to "behind the camera" stills, to advert campaigns used at the time of each film's release.

On the other hand the Kindle edition is a snip at £6.99, and it still has all the photos, perfectly viewable on a Kindle Keyboard albeit in b&w. (You can always use Kindle for PC if you want to see them in colour.)

As for the book itself, it's very much a coffee-table sort of affair, with 11 self-contained chapters ranging from "Bond on Beginnings" (how the franchise started), through "Bond on Girls" and "Bond on Cars", to "Bond on Bonds" where he discusses the merits of the other five Bond actors!

There are some wonderful anecdotes here. For example, he tells us how the rarely-seen Q of the novels became the iconic Q of the films, played by Desmond Llewelyn until 1999. Or how he was filming the boat chase scene in The Man With The Golden Gun, fell into the water and was greeted under the water by a decaying corpse! Or again how, whilst filming The Spy Who Loved Me in Luxor, he managed to persuade Barbara Bach that a burka-clad woman walking past was a Catholic nun!

Thanks to his ongoing friendships with the other Bond actors as well as many cast and crew members from the films, the anecdotes aren't limited to his seven films either: there is plenty here for the fan to devour about the making of Connery's films, Lazenby's one, Dalton's two, and right up to the present day.

The Kindle edition has been specially (and very nicely) formatted for Kindle, and even contains a substantial index so that you can look up any people or anecdotes as they spring to mind later!

On a slightly niggling note, I did find Moore's self-deprecating humour was laid on a bit thick in the first couple of chapters; and the chapter "Bond on Gadgets" reads more like a roll call of 50 years of essential spy gear than any kind of memoir.

Also, this is definitely a fans' book: some of the reminiscences are rather in-jokey ("After all, Q is quick to remind us, 'I never joke about my work, 007'."). But for anyone who is a fan, either of the films or the books, and wanting to know more before the new film comes out later this month, this is an essential buy.

Terrific!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Roger Moore's account of the James Bond movies to Skyfall, 30 Dec. 2012
By 
Tim Roast (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bond on Bond: The Ultimate Book on 50 Years of Bond Movies (Hardcover)
Who better to provide an insight into James Bond, and we are talking about the movie James Bond in particular, than one of the actors to have played James Bond? Well maybe all six of them but instead you'll have to make do with just Roger Moore's version of the story. Obviously that means that his films have the best coverage (and Daniel Craig's probably the least), with some good anecdotes in amongst the facts. It also means that you'll have to make do with Roger Moore's writing style, which is a little bit like his James Bond style of being light-hearted and jocular, but fine by me.

There are a number of chapters here, some better than the others. Obviously things like the villains, the girls, the cars etc are covered. The gadgets chapter wasn't necessarily the most interesting with bits being like reading a technical manual, but the chapters on the people, like the girls, or the insights into the filming schedule were much more entertaining. However, Moore being the gentleman, does keep some of the leading lady anecdotes anonymous.

There are glossy pictures throughout to accompany all the text and at the end you have pictures of all the posters from the films (up to Quantum of Solace) with the details of the films such as budget and takings.

Of course if you are an avid collector of Bond stuff you may have seen much of this before but for me it was a good Christmas present to read and look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but lacking in the Dalton years, 20 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Bond on Bond: The Ultimate Book on 50 Years of Bond Movies (Hardcover)
It's quite good.

The problem for me was that it pretty much glosses over the Timothy Dalton films and his portrayal of Bond very very quickly, and tells us very little.

Timothy Dalton was my favourite Bond and The Living Daylights is my favourite film, so I was disappointed.

Plenty of coverage of Craig, Connery, Brosnan and of course Moore, but sadly lacking in Timothy.

There are also one or two discrepancies with the facts presented here, but I can live with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Bond Speaks!!, 7 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Bond on Bond: The Ultimate Book on 50 Years of Bond Movies (Hardcover)
I have various Bond books but I must say, 'Nobody Does It Better' on this occasion. This really is superb. Brilliantly written by Roger and it is so obviously him as his wit and cheeky light hearted charm and charisma just saturates this most entertaining book. Its just great that a Bond of 85 years is still giving us pleasure - having the energy and enthusiasm to compile such a masterpiece - you would think he would just be happy to relax at home in Monaco with a Martini, but I am pleased to say he really still has what it takes. The photos are of very high quality, some of which I understand have never been seen. and each one has a little remark next to it from Roger. He has also included many other films and actors whom were not involved in his own films and is very complimentary towards the other Bonds, in fact often being very self critical, which makes you warm to him even further. Overall, a superb book that I would recommend to all Bond fans. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, great writer, fascinating read., 7 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like Sir Roger's writing style, humorous without being sarcastic, respectful of friends and foes alike. No back biting or unfair criticism of fellow actors. The book is full of interesting facts and figures and stuff James Bond fans never even knew. Highly recommended, you won't put it down once you've started reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bond on Bond: The Ultimate Book on 50 Years of Bond Movies
Bond on Bond: The Ultimate Book on 50 Years of Bond Movies by Roger Moore (Hardcover - 4 Oct. 2012)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews