Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Enjoyable
This book was an enjoyable read. I found most, if not all, of the sayings that I am familiar with inside its covers. It's one of those books that you can pick up and dip into whenever you have a few moments to spare. Whilst it may not give an encyclopedic account of a sayings origins, it certainly enables you to gain an insight into how or why they have been passed...
Published on 5 Nov 2011 by MR P J FAIRWEATHER

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh for an index
There are many sayings and proverbs that are a familiar part of our speech and yet many who use them have no idea of their origin. That's what this book attempts to address, by explaining the meaning behind such proverbs as 'Many hands make light work' and 'Take the bit between your teeth'. In many cases the first recorded usage is listed, along with alternative...
Published on 14 Nov 2011 by Vinman666


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Enjoyable, 5 Nov 2011
By 
MR P J FAIRWEATHER (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: One for Sorrow: A Book of Old-Fashioned Lore (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book was an enjoyable read. I found most, if not all, of the sayings that I am familiar with inside its covers. It's one of those books that you can pick up and dip into whenever you have a few moments to spare. Whilst it may not give an encyclopedic account of a sayings origins, it certainly enables you to gain an insight into how or why they have been passed down. I was interested to find out that quite a few have now been validated by scientific research. A good example of this is "St Swithun's day if thou dost rain ...." which has been found to have a pretty sound scientific basis. Apparently in mid-July the jet stream tends to settle into position for the summer, and if by 15 July it's on a southerly pathway, bringing rain, it will often stay that way until the end of August. I think that overall this book has made me even more aware of how completely out of touch we are nowadays with the world that we live in. There are many illustrations by the leading English wood engraver, Thomas Bewick, reproduced throughout the book which add to the pleasure of reading its text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant way to pass the time, 17 Sep 2011
By 
T. Russell "mug panda" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One for Sorrow: A Book of Old-Fashioned Lore (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are many books of this type available - a number of proverbs/sayings have been selected and we are told of their origins, meanings and common variants. This particular example of the genre, however is particularly pleasing. The small format is comfortable in the hand, the entries are not overlong and ably researched and the pages are decorated with a number of Bewick woodcuts - which are always a delight. Most of the sayings were familiar, but there were a few surprises, all entertaining. There isn't much more to be said - if you know anyone with an interest in language or folklore, they would appreciate this as a gift, if you can be persuaded to part with it. A great treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming, well-researched, beautifully illustrated, 17 Sep 2011
By 
J. Pittam "Maythorn" (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One for Sorrow: A Book of Old-Fashioned Lore (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a well-produced little book, good quality binding and paper - very suitable as a gift. The author is, apparently, a journalist who has had a life-long fascination for 'Old Wives' Tales' and similar folklore, gained from her Fenland ancestors.

The book explains traditional sayings and superstitions and is deceptively well-researched. Each saying is explained in detail, giving the earliest point at which it appears in written English, and the possible date when it might have arisen in oral history before that. It is charmingly illustrated by Charles Bewick, one of the greatest artists in woodcut, and is worth having for the pictures alone.

Suitable for writers or those who just love folklore, or tidbits of language and history. However, the best bit about this book is that it's a suitable present for that notoriously difficult section of the general public - a DAD. Dads, get it on your Christmas list now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent book for all ages, 20 Dec 2011
By 
Champak "Hundalz" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: One for Sorrow: A Book of Old-Fashioned Lore (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Sweet April showers, do spring May flowers. Do you know origin of this saying? Do you know how this saying came about? If not, then this is a perfect book for you. This book tries to simplify the origin of sayings which dates back to mediaeval ages. It is suitable for children and old alike. It is good to read for fun, education and study. It is a perfect book to have in every household whether you like to read or not, you won't regret to have it in your library. Leave it on a table, and it is bound to generate good discussion. It is excellent for the nights of family get together, or waiting in airport or stuck in miserable rainy day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh for an index, 14 Nov 2011
By 
Vinman666 (Essex, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: One for Sorrow: A Book of Old-Fashioned Lore (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are many sayings and proverbs that are a familiar part of our speech and yet many who use them have no idea of their origin. That's what this book attempts to address, by explaining the meaning behind such proverbs as 'Many hands make light work' and 'Take the bit between your teeth'. In many cases the first recorded usage is listed, along with alternative interpretations and modern usage. It's well researched and interesting, but a dry read for anything longer than a few pages at a time.

Annoyingly, the index lists the source material, rhymes, famous people and subject matter mentioned in the prose accompanying the proverbs, but does not list the proverbs themselves; neither are they listed at the beginning of the book nor do the proverbs appear in alphabetical order. Trying to find anything specific therefore requires flicking through from front to back.

As this is the type of book that I would either use as a reference to look up a saying, or to occasionally dip into at random, it's useless at the former and reasonably interesting for the latter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, 7 Nov 2011
By 
Null Unit (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: One for Sorrow: A Book of Old-Fashioned Lore (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is exactly what I was hoping it would be. It contains a wide selection of familiar and not so familiar sayings, some of which you may hear in everyday use.
Each saying has been carefully researched, and has a short description of its origin and meaning, and is suitable for either dipping in and out of, or reading in one sitting.
The book itself is of good quality and is well illustrated.
It is a very interesting read and should have a place on all bookshelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming...., 31 Oct 2011
By 
L. Hay "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One for Sorrow: A Book of Old-Fashioned Lore (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This delightful litle book is a collection of old saying and proverbs most of which we will all be aquainted with as they are in everyday use. Here we are given a history of their derivation and meaning and it is quite surprising how old some of them are. They are each taken individually and one finds oneself getting quite absorbed and reading another and then another.
This is the sort of book I must admit I quite enjoy, but my grandmother and great-aunts would have loved it. It would make a lovely gift which would probably be much appreciated by elderly people rather than youngsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few selected proverbs and folklore - informative, well presented, and a very easy read, 18 April 2013
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: One for Sorrow: A Book of Old-Fashioned Lore (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have a large bound volume of The Oxford Dictionary of English Proverbs, which is very interesting in terms of giving a few lines about where the proverb came from, but sadly it doesn't actually tell you the meaning (I guess most are self explanatory). And the joy of proverbs is that they are often contradictory, i.e. 'Absence make the heart grow fonder', and 'Out of sight and out of mind', although the bible can be little better with the likes of 'Spare the rod and spoil the child' and 'Suffer the little children'. I guess there's a bit of truth in all of them, depending on the situation. Unlike my Dictionary of English Proverbs that lists every single one it can think of, 'One for sorrow' chooses to concentrate on a just a few but go into far more detail, and to be honest that does make for a more interesting read - you can just sit down and read this book cover to cover, rather than just dip in (which also works as the proverbs are neatly laid out with titles).

Some of the folklore are truism's like `A stitch in time saves nine' and Chloe discusses the expense of cloth and clothing in years gone by. Others are more folklore myths, such as "St Swithun's day if thou dost rain, for forty days it will remain". St. Swithun, the Bishop of Winchester, had requested to be buried outside `where he would be subjected to the feet of passer's bye and the raindrops pouring from high', but after nine years his body was moved inside the Cathedral into a shrine, and on that day there was a huge down-pour - all linking him to rain. Chloe suggests that there is some scientific basis to this, as the weather pattern tends to hold at that time of the year, so if it rains on St Swithun's day, the 15th July, the tendency to rain can last until the end of August (and visa-versa). Many of the proverbs discussed are related to the weather, not surprising really given the importance of the weather to the Harvest (and Author Chloe Rhodes, now a freelance writer/journalist, was raised on a Fenland farm).

Other folklore and their origins discussed in the book are:`Better a wolf in fold than a fine february', 'When the Peacok loudly brawls, we'll have rain & squalls', `There's no rose without a thorn', `Red sky at night, shepherds delight', `If the birds fly low then rain we shall know', 'A leap year is never a good sheep year', Hares may pull a dead lion by the beard', `A burnt child dreads the fire', `Trout jump high when rain is nigh', `Cold hands, warm heart', 'Crooked logs make straight fires', `Curses like chickens come home to roost', and `Onions skins, very thin, mild winter coming in'. There's roughly one proverb per page, and the book has 192 pages. Although it's written in a very light and breezy style, there's a fair bit of authority in the book as well, with a detailed index and a three page bibliography. It's got quite a few very nice B&W ingravings by Thomas Bewick (b 1753) as well. Overall a good book, that is nicer in hardback printed form than on the Kindle, as it's quite small and so well presented. Quite good value for around a fiver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 3 Nov 2011
By 
M. Simpson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One for Sorrow: A Book of Old-Fashioned Lore (Hardcover)
good book enjoy the folklore, enjoyed the reasons for the sayings and their ancient derivitives, hope there are more books of this genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old Fashioned Lore, 3 Nov 2011
By 
Twixie "Twixie" (Farnborough UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: One for Sorrow: A Book of Old-Fashioned Lore (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Chloe Rhodes has written an informative and absorbing study of everyday sayings and their origins. It is very readable and fascinating. The delightful old illustrations are just the finishing touch it needs. This really is an excellent book with just the right amount of technical information.

A collection like this will ensure that these lovely old sayings do not get lost in the mists of time, which would be a great shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One for Sorrow: A Book of Old-Fashioned Lore
One for Sorrow: A Book of Old-Fashioned Lore by Chloe Rhodes (Hardcover - 8 Sep 2011)
7.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews