Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars29
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 November 2014
Easy to read, interesting facts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2010
This book is a great concept, and enjoyable to pick up and read. However as a book on Britian, the spelling of words with a 'z' instead of an 's' is quite annoying.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
ok. but a bit boring... But that's history. lol... now the guidelines tell me 9 more words are required... So there!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2011
Product arrived before the stated time in excellent condition and the product was very good and exactly what I wanted.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
I rated this low as I found the book didnt relate to what I wanted to know. I was looking for more english grammer.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2011
Utter rubbish. There is a section entitled 'Tudor Britain', and there was no such thing. The British state came into existence in 1707, and the Tudor dynasty ended with the death of Elizabeth I in 1603. In 1603 the Scottish monarch was James VI. How could Elizabeth be Queen of Britain?

Furthermore, the author lists monarchs of Britain which includes the Anglo-Saxons and the Normans. William the Conqueror a king of Britain? I think not.

If this is the standard of historical accuracy in the rest of the book, it needs to be avoided. Any so-called historian who thinks there was a 'Tudor Britain' needs to study their history a bit more.

From a BA (Hons) history graduate.
1515 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse