Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History in Bite-Sized chunks
What a great, fun and manageable way to remember the most salient points of British history that we've all forgotten from school. It takes all the boring bits out and covers history from Roman Britain to the second world war. It's easy to dip in and out of and the perfect accompaniment to the brilliant I Before E that I bought last year. This book makes history fun!
Published on 21 Oct 2008 by Lulu J

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The History of England in Bite-Sized Chunks in Disguise
Although the author claims this book is a history of Britain it is in fact a history of England in disguise. As an example in the list of monarchs there are no Scottish, Welsh or Irish rulers listed except when the Scottish Stuart family took to the English throne, however rulers that are considered English, starting with Egert (802-839), are mentioned even though Britain...
Published 3 months ago by Madcap


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Not a memory tool, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this to remember stuff, I can't remember what it was I wanted to remember..... although contains some good little .... I can't remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The History of England in Bite-Sized Chunks in Disguise, 4 April 2014
Although the author claims this book is a history of Britain it is in fact a history of England in disguise. As an example in the list of monarchs there are no Scottish, Welsh or Irish rulers listed except when the Scottish Stuart family took to the English throne, however rulers that are considered English, starting with Egert (802-839), are mentioned even though Britain didn't exist then. In fact everything in this book is English orientated up until the union of Scotland and England.

With all that this book is useful for those who want a concise history of England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 100% happy, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
100% happy WITH THIS BOOK AND I WOULD RECCOMMEND THIS TO OTHER READERS. ITS GREAT FOR THOSE WHO NEED SMALL AMMOUNTS OF LEARNING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great refresher for bygone history lessons, 22 Nov 2013
In this book Parkinson makes the great history of Britain very easy to digest. A brilliant little reference book to dip in to but also easy to read from cover to cover. Each page gives a succinct account of those noteworthy occasions in Britain's past; a good inspiration for further research elsewhere if it takes your fancy.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars seen while visiting a friend, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember, Remember (The Fifth of November): The History of Britain in Bite-Sized Chunks (Paperback)
This book was in my room when I went to stay with friends and I was very impressed with it as a quick historical overview. I was very pleased to be able to obtain it on amazon at a good price. It came very quickly and I am enjoying dipping into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but why the American spelling!?, 20 Feb 2010
This book is a great concept, and enjoyable to pick up and read. However as a book on Britian, the spelling of words with a 'z' instead of an 's' is quite annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember, Rember, 5 Feb 2009
By 
B. White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 20 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remember, Remember (The Fifth of November): The History of Britain in Bite-Sized Chunks (Paperback)
ok. but a bit boring... But that's history. lol... now the guidelines tell me 9 more words are required... So there!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember, Remember ............, 17 Sep 2011
Product arrived before the stated time in excellent condition and the product was very good and exactly what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No that brilliant, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I rated this low as I found the book didnt relate to what I wanted to know. I was looking for more english grammer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Remember, Remember (The Fifth of November): The History of Britain in Bite-Sized Chunks
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews