Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lot of Fun
A good fun pick up and read. I use it to help keep the old grey matter ticking over. Hopefully doing some good as hadn't realised how much I had forgotten!!
Published 19 months ago by LG

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic Stuff
A useful tool to remind one how to do things at a very basic level , however dosen't show simple things like how to find a square root.
Published on 16 Sep 2011 by XXXX


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lot of Fun, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good fun pick up and read. I use it to help keep the old grey matter ticking over. Hopefully doing some good as hadn't realised how much I had forgotten!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maths for pleasure, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Used to Know That: Maths (Hardcover)
Book in excellent condition. The contents were really useful, clear and concise, and certainly reminding me of things I used to know, plus things I now know thanks to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy refresher, 27 Jun 2012
By 
bookbug (Nr Corby, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Used to Know That: Maths (Hardcover)
Bought this book because I am interested in working things out and to see how others work differently to me to achieve the same result. Maths was a badly taught subject for me at school and I ended up teaching myself the practical maths that I use in DIY etc. This book is a useful aid to unravelling some of the more unintelligioble features of maths. Some of the "ways of thinking" about a problem, or visualising it, dont fit what I do but that doesnt matter. It just proves that there are as many ways of doing something as there are people trying to do it. The result is the important thing. The book is entertaining and I am only part way through it so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turning back the clock, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Used to Know That: Maths (Hardcover)
Opening this book brought back unhappy memories at first. I purchased it because I was always at a loss when it came to
equations and I wanted to revisit the subject. I scanned the pages at first and almost felt my ex-maths teacher at my shoulder; not an understanding sort of fellow! He used to petrify me. However, I started to read the text and follow the examples on each
page. The author's light-hearted style of writing was much appreciated and I could follow each explanation easily.Using a sentence like 'This may look a bit weird, but bear with me' is just what the reader needs, it is not at all intimidating. My only slight criticism is that the book could usefully include a few examples (and answers) within each section for the reader to try. My only regret is that the author wasn't my maths teacher in the 60's !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maths made so flipping easy!, 10 Nov 2011
This review is from: I Used to Know That: Maths (Hardcover)
It must be the would-be-Geek in me, but I was annoyed that I couldn't remember how to do quadratic equations or divide fractions or, more commonly, couldn't remember how to show the growth of something in percentage points. My friends have asked why I would even care, but it did bug me. But I'm bugged no more - this book is great with a simple, clear approach that explains how to do all these things and much, much more. For someone who doesn't usually pick up anything more taxing than a novel or the Sunday Times Supplement, this has become this week's bedtime reading. Now I'm sure Miss Lloyd (my maths teacher) would never have dreamt that was possible.

I may have to work my way through some of the other titles in the series, starting with the English Grammar book. Now, how do I parse a sentence?...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what the teacher ordered, 3 Jun 2012
I Used to Know That: MathsHaving struggled to remember most of the fundamentals from my school days, I was quite daunted by the thought of my children's homeworking needs. I needn't have worried - this author nailed it. Easy to understand, informative and surprisingly interesting this book has re-kindled (pun intended) my interest in the subject matter and I look forward to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic Stuff, 16 Sep 2011
This review is from: I Used to Know That: Maths (Hardcover)
A useful tool to remind one how to do things at a very basic level , however dosen't show simple things like how to find a square root.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff, 4 May 2012
This review is from: I Used to Know That: Maths (Hardcover)
This was a great way to remember a lot of the stuff I learn back at school while I was helping my son with his maths homework - simple language, useful diagrams! I recommend it for anyone looking for a quick recap or a moment of nostalgia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well presented., 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Used to Know That: Maths (Hardcover)
great book. It renewed a subject i thought i had forgotten. Helped me to help my grandson with his maths homework showing grandpa isn't a dimbo afterall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maths revisted, 12 Mar 2013
By 
James Walker "Jim" (Berkshire, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent. Every child should be made to work through this book, and adults with children studying for their GCSE's. Just a fantastic little book on what I used to know, and still remember. Fantastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Used to Know That: Maths
I Used to Know That: Maths by Chris Waring (Hardcover - 27 May 2010)
7.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews