Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Complete Winner
I purchased this book last Christmas in a last minute panic buy for my partner. He absolutely loved it and so did his father and they didn't take their noses out of it all afternoon (all other presents were abandoned). All you heard were waves of laughter and then they would read a few lines to the rest of us. One line had my in such stitches that tears were rolling...
Published on 16 Dec 2011 by Dancer

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny and enjoyable, if a little predictable
Wendy Roby's book probably doesn't need any extra publicity from me, having been shown on "Russell Howard's Good News " on TV the other day. The book is called "Universally Challenged " - which is surely one of the most popular names for quiz teams throughout the length and breadth of the country - right up there with Norfolk and Chance, I'd guess. If you haven't heard of...
Published on 27 Nov 2010 by Mr. D. Clark


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny and enjoyable, if a little predictable, 27 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. D. Clark "londinius" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Universally Challenged: Quiz Contestants Say the Funniest Things (Paperback)
Wendy Roby's book probably doesn't need any extra publicity from me, having been shown on "Russell Howard's Good News " on TV the other day. The book is called "Universally Challenged " - which is surely one of the most popular names for quiz teams throughout the length and breadth of the country - right up there with Norfolk and Chance, I'd guess. If you haven't heard of it, basically a collection of daft answers which have been given by real contestants on real TV quiz shows.

There's no doubt that there is a lot of very funny stuff in here. I'll admit that I was laughing out loud at some of the answers in here.

However
- quite a few of the funniest ones in here have been out there on `funny things contestants say on quiz show' web sites and web pages for a long time, and won't be new to you.
- most of the answers tend to come from a rather limited number of shows.
- You can't help wondering whether every answer given in here is 100% genuine. For example, one of the answers given is this - in reply to the question which went something like this - what was the name given to people in medieval times paid to entertains royalty and the nobility ? - the answer given was lepers . Really ? I can remember the same joke being used in an episode of Blackadder 2.
- A large number of answers come from Family Fortunes, or from its American progenitor, Family Feud. For me, this tends to make them less funny than wrong answers in a real quiz.

Its not an expensive book at all, and pretty good value I would have thought. It was nice to see a little bit of a tribute to Bob Johnson - Family Fortunes' Turkey man - at the end of the book as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Complete Winner, 16 Dec 2011
By 
Dancer (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universally Challenged: Quiz Contestants Say the Funniest Things (Paperback)
I purchased this book last Christmas in a last minute panic buy for my partner. He absolutely loved it and so did his father and they didn't take their noses out of it all afternoon (all other presents were abandoned). All you heard were waves of laughter and then they would read a few lines to the rest of us. One line had my in such stitches that tears were rolling down my face! A good book for dipping in and out of and a good light-hearted read for Christmas.

My only complaint is that they haven't brought out another one this year, but I suppose that amount of material is hard to find in enough quantity to fill a whole book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but best read in short doses, 26 Aug 2013
By 
Brian Clegg "Brian Clegg" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Universally Challenged: Quiz Contestants Say the Funniest Things (Paperback)
Having been on University Challenge (if only as the subject of a question) I had a natural interest in the book Universally Challenged, quiz contestants say the funniest things. It was a slight let down that most of the contents have nothing to do with that august quiz show, featuring rather less academic ventures, but it doesn't stop the responses being entertaining.

What we have here is a whole stream of wrong answers from the downright dumb to the entertainingly wacky (I like 'What insect is commonly found hovering over lakes?' - 'Crocodiles.') There were a few questions where I doubted the selection, because the answer made too much sense. There was, for instance, 'Name a place where you take your clothes off beside home?' to which the apparently funny answer was 'School.' Now, I can see why this was funny, but in fairness to the contestant it was also correct - most people have taken off clothes at school to change into games kit. But even these were interesting because it meant you could feel superior to the editor of the book (it's not exactly being an author), Wendy Roby, because you know better than she did.

I read the book through while on holiday, which was possibly a mistake, as apart from the truly hilarious and wildly eccentric answers, it could feel a little flat, just reading question and answer after question and answer. It may be it's a better book to dip into - perhaps to keep in the loo. But there is no doubt that it makes a great combination of entertainment and mind boggling at humanity's ability to get it wrong - and it would make a great gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for all the family, 27 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universally Challenged: Quiz Contestants Say the Funniest Things (Paperback)
My son wanted this book for Christmas and it's huge fun. Lots of amazingly stupid things....and caused great hilarity.
A fun book and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Universally challenged, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: Universally Challenged: Quiz Contestants Say the Funniest Things (Paperback)
Gave us some good laughs over Christmas

Amazing how quiz show contestants can start their mouthsbefore engaging their brains
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not that funny, 15 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universally Challenged: Quiz Contestants Say the Funniest Things (Paperback)
It was for a stocking-filler, but I should have known better. It really isn't that funny - a lot of it is very predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Acceptable, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is ok, but becomes very predictable after a short time, I did read it all, there are a few gems to be had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars went down well!, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universally Challenged: Quiz Contestants Say the Funniest Things (Paperback)
Another one of those gifts which are suitable for someone you don't know too well but suspect may have a sense of humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny!, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universally Challenged: Quiz Contestants Say the Funniest Things (Paperback)
This is a really funny book. I bought it as a present for a friend and he really loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't read this book in a public place - you'll get funny looks when you fall about laughing!, 12 Mar 2014
By 
Debbie Young "Debbie Young" (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
I picked this up in a charity shop the other day when we were away for the weekend in our camper van, and the whole family enjoyed sharing it as I read bits aloud to them. (Had to omit a few bits as they weren't suitable for children, so won't be storing this on an easily reachable bookshelf.) It's a bit patchy in places, and a few of the answers supposedly funny aren't actually that far from being right and don't raise a laugh - but there are also such classics that it's worth persevering.

I suppose it is a bit unkind to laugh at people's ignorance, but then if you're willing to put your stupidity in the public domain in hope of winning prizes and 15 minutes of fame, you are fair game.

This book also reminded me why I don't watch TV game shows - they're just too painful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Universally Challenged: Quiz Contestants Say the Funniest Things
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews