Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another unsung WW1 hero.
Read and enjoy. Immensely moving and thought provoking. The tragedy of our young men at war in such conditions can never fade from the memory. Books like this will remain essential reading for many generations to come.
I was very impressed with the blog edition of this book. I did not take part in the event but feel it was a very good way of getting a younger...
Published on 2 Jun 2009 by Pedros

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but not inspiring
This is an interesting insight into one soldier's life in the Great War. It's a shame that the commentary is largely just repetitive speculation on the family. Far more could be made of either an explanation of the military context or social history of the time. I'm afraid that letters with just a few footnotes would have been as interesting.
Published on 14 April 2012 by Dr. G. Wilson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 23 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters From The Trenches: A Soldier of the Great War (Hardcover)
For my mothers partner who straight away sat and started reading it. He is not a great book reader but this had him hooked. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It just didn't do it for me, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am sure that this is a fascinating tale of a simple man who goes to the trenches and does his bit for king and country... but I just found it dull I'm afraid. The letters are interesting without doubt, and provide a real insight into the lives of the troops who fought in the war, but there is too much commentary between them which seems to be there to pad the book as much as add anything to it, and for this reason, i just didn't ever finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars letters from the trenches, 9 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read. very interesting to read how the war progressed. Hats off to Harry who faced such terrible hardship and danger with great bravery and lived to tell the tale. So glad he made it through the war to continue his life in peace. Rest in peace Harry. We all owe you so much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Letters from the Trenches, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well presented and researched book giving the reader a 'fly on the wall' type feel. At times you feel you know what its like to be in the trenches. Having served in HM forces this book may have more relevance, but its quite an eye opener even if you have some knowledge of WW1, drawing you in, right to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good listening, 4 Jan 2012
Very interesting if you like history with a reality feel. Bought for my Dad in his 80's and losing his sight and has been an avid reader all his life. He loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Soldier/trenches, 25 Aug 2009
By 
D. W. Hendra - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Letters From The Trenches: A Soldier of the Great War (Hardcover)
A book with a difference complete with many personal memories. The continuous repetition of phrases in the letters signal autheticity but made for rather boring reading after a while. I appreciate that there would be little about what he actually did rather than felt - all very enigmatic. Disappointingly, for me, I didn't get a first-hand 'feel' of the trenches from most letters. I had to concentrate very hard to stay reading for very long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars the book itself was a big disappointment., 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters From The Trenches: A Soldier of the Great War (Hardcover)
After hearing the book read on radio, on the appropriate date for each event, the book itself was a big disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
arrived promptly well packed looks interesting gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: Letters From The Trenches: A Soldier of the Great War (Hardcover)
This is a dull book. Monotonous in the extreme.
Incredibly tedious, especially considering the subject matter.
Bill Lamin's letters should never have been considered as the basis of a book as they are so dull. So repetitive. So un-questioning, so lacking of any emotion- devoid of fear or anxiety, lacking any fun or feeling. This isn't a case of stoicism under pressure and danger- this is a collection of the inane comments we make whilst standing at the bus stop.
"It's wet. Ooh it was a bad show last night. I hope your Betty is doing well..." time and time again.

At the end of the war the letters don't reveal a livelier side, an explosion of pent up emotion, an interest in where he is, what's happening in the world- they continue, as they had previously, to reveal nothing. To drone on. I stayed to the very end... and never have I been so pleased to hear that anyone was demobbed.

It's not Bill Lamin's fault- he just wrote home to his family- but the truth is, these letters are just not interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Dec 2009
This review is from: Letters From The Trenches: A Soldier of the Great War (Hardcover)
Received this article promptly. Cannot comment on content as it is a present for someone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Letters From The Trenches: A Soldier of the Great War
Letters From The Trenches: A Soldier of the Great War by Bill Lamin (Hardcover - 23 April 2009)
£11.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews