Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic introduction to weather systems..
Very good quick read, just under 200 pages. Introduces the weather systems and all its components i.e. ways of forecasting, measuring and relating to weather in our every day lives. Does what its supposed to, informs well on how the weather works but not too an unbelievably difficult extent- simple language used. Definately recommended!
Published on 5 May 2010 by Mr. Jack Mcgovern

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars weather book
Quite interesting but a little bit too basic. It told you about different weather patterns but didnt really explain why. If you are looking for a book to explain the whys and hows of different weather conditions I wouldnt really recommend this book. Good price and ok as a quick read though.
Published on 7 July 2011 by P. Kinsella


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic introduction to weather systems.., 5 May 2010
By 
Mr. Jack Mcgovern "jack3824" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Weather Book: Why It Happens and Where It Comes From (Hardcover)
Very good quick read, just under 200 pages. Introduces the weather systems and all its components i.e. ways of forecasting, measuring and relating to weather in our every day lives. Does what its supposed to, informs well on how the weather works but not too an unbelievably difficult extent- simple language used. Definately recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars weather book, 7 July 2011
By 
P. Kinsella - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weather Book: Why It Happens and Where It Comes From (Hardcover)
Quite interesting but a little bit too basic. It told you about different weather patterns but didnt really explain why. If you are looking for a book to explain the whys and hows of different weather conditions I wouldnt really recommend this book. Good price and ok as a quick read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weather books, 12 Feb 2011
By 
J. Williamson "Cookie maker" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weather Book: Why It Happens and Where It Comes From (Hardcover)
Bought this book along with another weather book as our children were doing a project about it. This is very interesting and can be picked up and put down whenever without missing the point.Lots of little nuggets of information to keep you interested. Not so suitable for younger readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars decent read, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Goob basic coverage of the subject but seems to rush towards the end. Worth busying as a general overview of the subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enjoyable and informative book. However, I believe a hard copy would be more useful as a reference than the Kindle edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good and interesting introduction, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a complicated book but interesting, written by someone who clearly loves the subject. A good introduction to the weather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to the weather, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weather Book: Why It Happens and Where It Comes From (Hardcover)
Was a litlle bit disapppointed with this book, it seems to be written for kids. I was hoping for something a little more in-depth. I purchased it because I have just taken up Kitesurfing and wanted to learn about wind in particular. Like I said, a good introduction but I will have to look for a more scientific in-depth book for my needs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic info., 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a well-written little book which presents pretty basic meteorological facts concisely and in a friendly manner. A scientific book it ain't, but I have enjoyed reading it and admit to having learned quite a few useful facts. It is also good value at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 Feb 2010
By 
N. J. Parton (Republic of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Weather Book: Why It Happens and Where It Comes From (Hardcover)
Great book, great service. I would recomend to anyone who is looking to learn a bit about the weather. This was purchased as I got a weather station for Christmas so it gave me the background to that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OKAY FOR BASIC UNDERSTANDING, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weather Book: Why It Happens and Where It Comes From (Hardcover)
I could not say that this book gives me the information I am looking for. Everything is very short and to the point so great for an overview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Weather Book: Why It Happens and Where It Comes From
The Weather Book: Why It Happens and Where It Comes From by Diana Craig (Hardcover - 24 Sep 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews