Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A-MA-ZING!
All Balls and Glitter was a sensational read - I could'nt put it down.

What ever you thought of Craig from Strictly (acid tongued and critical) certainly portrays himself in a very different light and openly exposes his secret past. He takes us back to his childhood of rural Australia and his desperate actions to get him out of a miserable childhood. Taking the...
Published on 14 Sep 2008 by Buddy Lancaster

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Crabby Craig
Actually it was quite good. It makes you realise how qualified Graig is for the judging job in Strictly. However I found it rather boring
Published 2 months ago by Allybags


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A-MA-ZING!, 14 Sep 2008
All Balls and Glitter was a sensational read - I could'nt put it down.

What ever you thought of Craig from Strictly (acid tongued and critical) certainly portrays himself in a very different light and openly exposes his secret past. He takes us back to his childhood of rural Australia and his desperate actions to get him out of a miserable childhood. Taking the reader on a wonderful and colorful journey to how Craig became the judge we all love to hate.

It has gossip, truth, scandal, sex and love everything you want in a good Barbara Cartland !! But this is Craigs real life and is no fictional story ! A wonderful addictive read.

It appeals to everybody, and highly recommend this book its certainly not DULL DULL DULL !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hats Off to Hard Work, 22 Sep 2009
By 
M. J. Saxton (Dewsbury, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I would recommend this book to anyone who is thinking of going into Musical Theatre as it spells out in no uncertain terms just what it takes to be successful. There is a wealth of detail about the day to day, or month to month, experience of working hard to get to the level required.

He doesn't shy away from the pressures, both personal and professional. Fortunately, this is tempered with anecdotes about the fun that is to be had as well. It was very interesting and unusual to hear that the men have issues about weight and appearance as much as the girls. Those of us who have been involved in the business know the huge pressure on the women, but it's important to know this affects men as well. Craig Revel Horwood is very frank about his own experience and how he deals with it.

He has been lucky in some ways in the opportunities he has been presented with, but it takes a determined professional to make the most of them. He also highlights the fact that though you may be in a West End show one week, you can just as easily be waiting tables the next.

He has also had the foresight to invest in other lines of business and property, and it is interesting to see how that has affected his life as well.

Then, of course, there are the names! Not casually and boastfully dropped in here, but given in a direct and clear-sighted way; he talks about stars as people, not icons which is wonderfully refreshing.

The book also whips you along from page to page. The personal details are as fascinating as anything else, but reported without undue drama. It's a good view of a life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Darling................, 5 Sep 2008
By 
Got this yesterday and have just finished - really good read!
Not all about Strictly as there is so much more to Craig than that - but enough Strictly for the fan.
What a life this man has had - I'm not going to include spoilers in this review you will have to read it for yourself - but its a page turner that is for sure!
Nice glittery bits on the cover :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly good - Craig really does reveal some surprises., 17 May 2013
By 
A. I. McCulloch "Andrea" (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I got 'All Balls and Glitter' having managed to avoid most of the media spoilers as I don't follow celebrity lifestyles. I do however, absolutely lurrrve Strictly, and who better to fill the gap between seasons than Craig?

First surprise - As the second oldest in a family of five with some much younger siblings, Craig is a dab hand at mixing baby formula, changing nappies and generally caring for small children.

Second surprise. Although his alcoholic father was somewhat of a tyrant when he was growing up, Craig flatly refuses to slur his name beyond the facts. His ex-Navy father is surprisingly proud of his very talented son's background as a drag artiste, and Craig clearly respects his Dad. Respect back to Craig.

Third surprise. Craig had a heterosexual marriage to an attractive Welsh woman called Jane - he genuinely loved and respected her. The jaw hit the floor with that one.

What a cracking read all that was, and I wasn't even halfway through. I loved the insight into musical theatre and choreography and Craig's wonderfully self-deprecating tone throughout. He's not afraid to tell a story against himself and many of them are very, very funny. I wish him personal happiness to go with his glittering career, he deserves it very much. Big hugs to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and Fun, 18 Feb 2010
Very informative about Craig's life; highly amusing in places and sad in others; an easy read which gives an excellent insight into what makes Craig tick!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 2 Oct 2008
What a read! Craig is as honest and straightforward as you'd expect and so open about his life. His no holds barred style really takes you through the highs and lows, the laughter and the tears. It's a must-read for Strictly fans. I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... had a quick look through think it'l b a good read., 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have had a quick look through think it'l b a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars all balls and glitter my life, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
all balls and glitter i ordered this book for a friend of mine and she loved it said what a good book it wqas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Fab u lous, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought the book was great, Craig sounds like a really lovely man. I would recommend this book to most adults. My only dislike (which is why it only gets 4 stars) and why I say most adults is, I really didn't think Craig needed to be so graphic about his sexual exploits, it takes away some of his charm, which is a shame.

But that is just my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Crabby Craig, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Actually it was quite good. It makes you realise how qualified Graig is for the judging job in Strictly. However I found it rather boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Balls and Glitter: My Life
All Balls and Glitter: My Life by Craig Revel Horwood (Paperback - 4 Sep 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews