Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Magic Book!
As an amateur magician for many years I'm always intrested in new books on magic for the public. This one is excellent. Pete has brought the beginners magic book up to date with modern tricks that appeal to todays audiences. Its not all card tricks, i rounded up stuff from around the house and at the pub and impressed my pals.

My teenage kids love this book too...
Published on 11 Nov 2006 by Sean Taylor

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for kids
Thought this would be suitable for 12 year old based on other reviews, but it includes a lot of tricks using cigarettes, alcohol glasses, fork and knives, & imititating cutting body parts. Some amusing tricks for adults but just not suitable for children (thought the title was also misleading towards children)
Published on 6 Dec 2011 by DMcH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for kids, 6 Dec 2011
This review is from: Tricks to Freak Out Your Friends (Paperback)
Thought this would be suitable for 12 year old based on other reviews, but it includes a lot of tricks using cigarettes, alcohol glasses, fork and knives, & imititating cutting body parts. Some amusing tricks for adults but just not suitable for children (thought the title was also misleading towards children)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good classics but some preperation needed, 26 Jun 2008
By 
Garry R. Walls "joepublic123" (yorkshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book its self is well written with fairly good diagrams. It makes easy reading and each trick is easy to follow and pick up BUT....most of the tricks need a certain amount of preperation. Not a lot, but such items as a frozen fly, a sculpted carrot or a pre bended spoon are required. The tricks in this book are classics and may entertain your friends , however, i was looking for simple coin tricks, mind tricks and things that didnt need any preperation before hand so that they could be done at a moments notice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Magic Book!, 11 Nov 2006
This review is from: Tricks to Freak Out Your Friends (Paperback)
As an amateur magician for many years I'm always intrested in new books on magic for the public. This one is excellent. Pete has brought the beginners magic book up to date with modern tricks that appeal to todays audiences. Its not all card tricks, i rounded up stuff from around the house and at the pub and impressed my pals.

My teenage kids love this book too and have already fooled their mother with a couple of the tricks.

I would recommend this book to anyone interested in magic or people who like shocking their mates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, just awesome., 18 Sep 2006
This review is from: Tricks to Freak Out Your Friends (Paperback)
This is a great book for anybody who is interested in learning some great tricks. I've got a few beginners magic books and this one is the best as it contains tricks that will make you look like a pro. It is written in a style that is both clear and humourous.

If you like magic and practical jokes then this book is definately worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some great routines, 23 Oct 2006
By 
M. C. Atkins (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tricks to Freak Out Your Friends (Paperback)
At first glance this book seemed like a waste of money - routines like Kung-Fu Nana, On Me Head and Soft Glass are fairly well known (if by different names). A more thorough reading will yield some great routines. Many of the tricks with cigarettes have great commercial potential. If you perform a lot of magic in pubs, I recommend getting this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tricks to Freak Out Your Friends (Paperback)
The book arrived in a good time and clean with out any folded pages and good packaging as well as without scrambelong, the book was full of interesting tips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars An interesting flip through, but nothing particularly spectacular, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for 0.99p, and while it was an interesting flip through, with photos to show you how to actually DO the tricks, and little to no props needed, the tricks are fairly mundane, with nothing too spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 22 Feb 2013
This review is from: Tricks to Freak Out Your Friends (Paperback)
Bought this after seeing Pete live with his show 'Hoodwinker' as an amateur magician myself im always interested in learning a few new tricks, at first i assumed this would be a standard silly book of gags and little tricks, whilst having those within the book it also has some great effects that i still use now, and contains some great ideas to work with to create your own effects! written with charm and wit! 5 OUT OF 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for children's magic., 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tricks to Freak Out Your Friends (Paperback)
Recommended - it's a good book for magic-obsessed children but maybe a bit basic for adults. Wish there weren't so many cigarette centred trick though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great magic book, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tricks to Freak Out Your Friends (Paperback)
This book is great. Bought it as a present for my boyfriend and he loves it. This would be great for any friends who are into magic and is written in the humorous style that you would expect from Pete Firman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tricks to Freak Out Your Friends
Tricks to Freak Out Your Friends by Pete Firman (Paperback - 7 Sep 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews