Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a last hatch from the golden goose.
This isn't as pointless and trashy as one review I read elsewhere had made out, it isn't simply a prurient gawp at Diana's last lovers, in fact it is a well-written, highly respectful and sympathetic overview of the last 5 years of Diana's life. Mr Morton dedicates a substantial part of the book to Diana's charity work, particularly her landmines crusade. I know it's...
Published on 9 July 2004 by S. Hapgood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so much as a pursuit of love but a generalisation of her last couple of years.
Very generalised account of her final few years some of it not really believable. A lot made of relationships that happened and must surely be speculation of what happened inside those liaisons as other than they existed not a great deal is really known, if anything, of what the Princess did or did not say.
Published 12 days ago by dee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a last hatch from the golden goose., 9 July 2004
By 
S. Hapgood "www.sjhstrangetales.com" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: In Pursuit of Love (Hardcover)
This isn't as pointless and trashy as one review I read elsewhere had made out, it isn't simply a prurient gawp at Diana's last lovers, in fact it is a well-written, highly respectful and sympathetic overview of the last 5 years of Diana's life. Mr Morton dedicates a substantial part of the book to Diana's charity work, particularly her landmines crusade. I know it's not fashionable these days to give royal biographers the benefit of the doubt, but I will in this case, as he genuinely seems to be concerned at the way some have tried to rubbish Diana's image in the past few years. Towards the beginning of the book he says that the Diana he is reading about in some books and articles is certainly not the Diana he knew.
Although the book is heavily biased towards Diana, Morton does also record some of her more irrational behaviour, but he puts this down to her being a young woman whose early adult life had been spent in a highly cloistered and unreal world, and this had stymied her emotional development. In her thirties she often acted towards her lovers like a silly teenage schoolgirl. He admits that Diana could be quite a handful to take on, she frequently bombarded her boyfriends (and platonic friends too) with endless phone calls, dozens in one day, regardless of what they were doing at the time. For instance she would expect Dr Hasnat Kahn, a respected and hardworking surgeon, to actually walk out of the operating theatre in order to take a phone call from her! Highly exasperating though this must have been, Diana's faults still aren't that significant on the human scale of naughtiness, and are far outweighed by her good points. She genuinely seemed to want to love and care for people.
This is a worthy tribute to the Princess from a man who had helped her to bring her problems into the world gaze. It doesn't tell us much new, apart for me anyway, the truth about the notorious "Panorama" interview, and how she was duped into the interview with false documents. But until we get the final truth about how and why she died, (if we ever do) I really don't think there is anything much more to tell, and Morton's book should be the last for a while. Somehow I doubt it will be though!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well worth reading.., 5 July 2005
This review is from: Diana: In Pursuit of Love (Hardcover)
having purchased a number of books from this category i must say that mr morton is well focused on diana and what she has either said to him or what she wanted and not in this to make money with out any regard for other peoples feelings..unlike some of the authors that have submitted their books for sale on this site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not so much as a pursuit of love but a generalisation of her last couple of years., 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very generalised account of her final few years some of it not really believable. A lot made of relationships that happened and must surely be speculation of what happened inside those liaisons as other than they existed not a great deal is really known, if anything, of what the Princess did or did not say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Princess Diana, 5 May 2014
By 
Nanavee (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was a really good book, telling me some things that
I did not already know. Worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fair account, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good writing and use of words, seems that Diana really was insecure and was never going to hack the system, sad state of affairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Diana book by Andrew Morton, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Predictable reading based on previous book. Much reading similar to other books by same author.

Some new material which was interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A worthwhile read although Dodi did not get much of a mention which was a shame as he was her last boyfriend. Eye opening insight into the role of the key players and their lives .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nothing new here but a great book for all that!, 18 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Diana: In Pursuit of Love (Hardcover)
this is a welcome addition to my library of books on all matters royal. nothing new here unless you have lived in a cave these past twenty years and i thought most of this book had already appeared in mr morton's other books about the late and mourned princess diana of wales. what marks out mr morton from the other and more intellectual writers on royal affairs is his knack of finding a new fact.that is not so here. but for readers not weighed down as i am with knowledge this will prove a light and diverting introduction to the enduring mystery of the late twentieth century: why did this wonderful woman die? it is not for me or mr morton to say. one day someone will attempt to answer this question, happily mr morton has the good manners not to try. as a lifelong royalist he knows as i do that to ask such a question is to invite ridicule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diana: In Pursuit of Love
Diana: In Pursuit of Love by Andrew Morton (Hardcover - 25 Jun 2004)
18.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews