Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Football fever at its best
This book was a riveting read from start to finish, and if anyone's stuck for a present to buy for husbands, dads, brothers, uncles, grandads or sons this Christmas, indeed anyone interested in the national sport, then "Manchester United: The Untold Story" comes highly recommended. Told from the point of view of someone who used to work closely with the players and...
Published on 25 Nov 2003 by fiona_bell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and Faithful Servant
Ned Kelly, a former SAS man, was the Head of Security at United for a dozen or so years during the period when the club started to find success again after a quarter of a century of unfulfilled promise. His position clearly gave him access to the inner workings of the club and he illustrates this with some key photos of the type: "This is me standing next to David...
Published on 15 Dec 2007 by Random Reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Football fever at its best, 25 Nov 2003
This review is from: Manchester United: The Untold Story (Hardcover)
This book was a riveting read from start to finish, and if anyone's stuck for a present to buy for husbands, dads, brothers, uncles, grandads or sons this Christmas, indeed anyone interested in the national sport, then "Manchester United: The Untold Story" comes highly recommended. Told from the point of view of someone who used to work closely with the players and management, it seems to me to be a truthful and honest account of life on and off the pitch at United, and reveals a lot of previously unknown information about the club and its players. Well-written and quite funny in parts, it's well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast read, 17 Feb 2007
By 
R. S. Bennett "Fooball book addict" (Bishopville, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manchester United: The Untold Story (Hardcover)
If you buy books to get the great "inside scoop" gossip, this is one of the few to actually produce the goods. Even if it's not all true ( I don't dispute an earlier review that this is a guy with a grudge), it's still enertaining, and believeable. A lot of Cantona insight, a fair bit of glory grabbing by the author, but after you make use of your pinch of salt, you'll get some good stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good and Faithful Servant, 15 Dec 2007
This review is from: Manchester United: The Untold Story (Hardcover)
Ned Kelly, a former SAS man, was the Head of Security at United for a dozen or so years during the period when the club started to find success again after a quarter of a century of unfulfilled promise. His position clearly gave him access to the inner workings of the club and he illustrates this with some key photos of the type: "This is me standing next to David Beckham; this is me photographed next to Alex Ferguson etc." Despite his desperate desire, at times bordering on pathos, to be recognised as a core part of the club he loves, this does not detract from the fact that he provides genuine glimpses of the stars and administrators behind the scenes. Possibly his acrimonious split from the club, after indiscreet stories to a Sunday tabloid, resulted in the book being more revealing than other relatively bland "Untold stories" of this ilk.

Certainly his stories about Cantona and Martin Edwards provide a candid and plausible view. His half-veiled claims to have guided some of Ferguson's major transfer decisions are less credible. However, book about footballers that truly reaches behind the scenes tends to reveal the participants as rather ordinary men, subject to all the same human failings as the rest of us. By that measure this book succeeds. It is a quick read, but would certainly keep the interest of United fans of the era. In the end though my lasting impressions are of Ned Kelly himself - over-grateful and almost unbelieving after being invited for a drink with the "lads" and faithfully retrieving, as requested, the lucky towel of Peter Schmeichel from in front of a baying Feyenoord crowd. Good and faithful servant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Why did I bother?, 26 Feb 2014
This review is from: Manchester United: The Untold Story (Hardcover)
This book smacks of someone over inflating his own importance. Check out Fergies book & look at how often Ned is mentioned and you will find it is only once - yet if you read this book Ned was pretty much always at Fergies side. That contrast says it all to be honest and is very telling. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable romp, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester United: The Untold Story (Hardcover)
Before buying this I read one positive and one negative review and found something to support both viewpoints. Certainly the 'me me me' parlance of the first chapter was off-putting but reminiscent of the military mentality that I remember from my own army time (nothing quite so exotic as the SAS though).

Otherwise I think this a well told book and interesting story, as a none-footballer to be living the dream as United clocked up trophy after trophy and to be paid to be part of the scene - not many of us could match that. There were many insights but the one that stayed with me was his accounts of the conduct of the Chairman (Martin Edwards and various Directors. Am pretty sure the publishers would have checked this out otherwise it could have been very expensive. It explained how fans might engage with the trials and tribulations of the players but for a football club manager, the skills of 'managing upwards' are every bit as much part of the job.

Enjoyed this, well worth reading if you are besotted with all things United past and present as I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting and definately worth a read specially if your a man u fan., 11 Oct 2009
This review is from: Manchester United: The Untold Story (Hardcover)
Ex SAS Man Ned Kelly takes over security of man utd after coming out of the SAS and has some great stories about the inner workings of man utd fc as he became well known around old trafford by sir alex ferguson, the players and the board.Well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ned Kelly, 23 May 2009
By 
E. M. Kendall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manchester United: The Untold Story (Hardcover)
Ned Kelly was a bad soldier within the Army and the SAS, it has also continued into his civilian life.

He was a fake then and still is !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter Rubbish, 27 Mar 2004
By 
WildWood (Singapore Singapore) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Manchester United: The Untold Story (Hardcover)
This is a poorly written tell tale book that smells of exagerated tales by someone who has a grudge against his former employees for sacking him for innapropriate behavior while working for them. And it is also clear he is writing the book for the money and not love or respect of the club!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manchester United: The Untold Story
Manchester United: The Untold Story by Ned Kelly (Hardcover - 3 Nov 2003)
£17.28
Usually dispatched within 3 to 6 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews