Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable for GCSE students
Accessible and comprehensive GCSE study guide for John Steinbeck's seminal Depression era novel. If you are in Y10 or Y11 and studying this text then I urge you to make buying this an absolute priority. What I would say too is that it's NOT a substitute for reading the novel - read the novel at least once then dip into this. Superb.
Published on 26 May 2009 by Captain Pugwash

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
need this for my sons exams.
Published 5 months ago by Malvia Powell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable for GCSE students, 26 May 2009
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Letts Explore GCSE Text Guides) (Paperback)
Accessible and comprehensive GCSE study guide for John Steinbeck's seminal Depression era novel. If you are in Y10 or Y11 and studying this text then I urge you to make buying this an absolute priority. What I would say too is that it's NOT a substitute for reading the novel - read the novel at least once then dip into this. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really useful study guide, 6 April 2007
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Letts Explore GCSE Text Guides) (Paperback)
As a teacher I have shared this excellent novel with probably thousands of teenagers over the years. I buy all the study guides to check them out for my students. This guide is on the recommended list!

Chapter summaries, character reviews and pointers towards examination questions are all present and thoughtful. This is certainly a useful read for people studying the novel for GCSE.

My only quibble is that perhaps it does not explore themes in sufficient detail for students aiming for the very top grades - but then, to be fair, they probably don't need a guide.

This is certainly very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars useful for revision, 10 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Letts Explore GCSE Text Guides) (Paperback)
This guide is a useful addition to the novel when revising for GCSE. After reading the book, my son was able to dip into this book at the appropriate chapter, (the sections in this book follow the same chapters as in the book). Each chapter focuses on quotes and what they reveal about the characters in the book. Ideal for character analysis for GCSE. The layout is appealing and simple. with a picture of each character's face next to the text. Only a small book, but then again 'Of Mice and Men' is only a short novel. I thought it was worth the price, (very cheap too!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woah, 27 Oct. 2007
By 
Ms. N. F. Jones "Jajakapitan:)" (Chester,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Letts Explore GCSE Text Guides) (Paperback)
I was given this study guide to use when revising for my English Litrature GCSE exam.
I found the tips and the generalisation very very useful and the excercises given to complete were of use, unlike some guides that give difficult offputting questions.
The language within the guide is not too simple and not to complex, which makes it an ideal guide as it does not intimidate or put one off revising.
I like the guide's size aswell, as it was easy to store in a small bag meaning that it was always availible for referance if I had a few minutes spare.
I achieved an A grade using this guide in the 2007 GCSE exam, so I would highly reccommend purchasing this guide for the English Lit exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Of Mice and Men (Letts Explore), 30 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Letts Explore GCSE Text Guides) (Paperback)
Pleasantly surprised by the format of this book. The characters and plot are explored with appropriate references to the text. The format is easily read with illustrations to break up the pages.
I consider this a useful study guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for English GCSE, 24 Dec. 2010
By 
Mrs. U. Mustafa "ullie" (Enfield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Letts Explore GCSE Text Guides) (Paperback)
Ordered this book for my daughter, it arrived today and we are very very pleased. This will help her with her English GSCE. Furthermore, the details in the book are much more than what her school has provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review 'Of Mice and Men' GCSE, 12 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Letts Explore GCSE Text Guides) (Paperback)
A good aid for any child taking their GCSE English Lit. The product was in good order and is an essential addition to the book list for the subject. It arrived extremely quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Revision Guide, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Letts Explore GCSE Text Guides) (Paperback)
The book arrived very promptly. As it was the recommended guide by the school, I'm sure it has everything in it that will aid revision. We were limited with choice for this book as there are only a few companies that make these guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very useful resource, 2 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. Finnian Fitzpatrick (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Letts Explore GCSE Text Guides) (Paperback)
This was a great resource for my CGCSE students, I received the books quickly and it lived up to my high expectations. I would recommend buying through this vendor and buying this helpful and informative book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a school aid for GCSE, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Letts Explore GCSE Text Guides) (Paperback)
This product was recommended through the school to assist with this years exam. My daughter's counsellor also recommended it as an aid to her learning and it is ideal. Great purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Of Mice and Men (Letts Explore GCSE Text Guides)
Of Mice and Men (Letts Explore GCSE Text Guides) by John Steinbeck (Paperback - 1 April 2004)
£4.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews