Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids who hate endless exercises, 9 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smelly Spelling Age 7-8 (Letts Magical Skills): Ages 7-8 (Paperback)
Tried all sorts of books to encourage my children to learn. My eldest (8yrs) really enjoyed these books he will go and start using them without asking to do them now. He finds them colourful almost like a story and as we only do one exercise a night they are not too long or monotonous for him to do only taking approx 5 - 10 minutes to complete. In fact he enjoys them so much he has already asked if when he finishes this bundle can we get some more in the series to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spelling book, 10 Nov 2010
Well designed and thought out book.
Makes spelling as fun as it can be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Making Spelling Fun, 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smelly Spelling Age 7-8 (Letts Magical Skills): Ages 7-8 (Paperback)
Bought this for a 7yo who was falling out of favour with my "top-up pocket money" spelling tests on a Saturday. The theme to the book helps keep her attention, as it's not quite so education and regimented, in her view.

The book covers a variation of topics and makes children think about the content and sound of the words as well as the actual spellings. I'm not a fan of phonics at all, and wanted something to help spelling without the confusion over similar sounding words and pairings. This seems to be doing the trick.
It obviously takes some parental involvement to work with the child, and some explanation of exercises is needed, but because the format is fun, it doesn't feel like she's learning. The 'rewards' of stickers seem to work well too.

Next investment will be the Maths book of the same series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attractive format with accessible rewards to encourage learning, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smelly Spelling Age 7-8 (Letts Magical Skills): Ages 7-8 (Paperback)
My 8 year old daughter loved this book and having finished it has already hassled me to buy more from the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars magical skills spelling, 9 Sep 2010
i think this helped my son with spelling and reading. He never minded doing the workbook, if he found it boring it would have been a chore, it never felt that way. I will get the next age group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a lovely surprise!, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smelly Spelling Age 7-8 (Letts Magical Skills): Ages 7-8 (Paperback)
My son has never been that interested in spelling or writing, and his best subject has always been maths. I was dreading trying to get him to learn more in this subject, but needn't have worried. It's now his favourite book. Everything is explained well, so the child knows exactly what they're doing and why. It's fun too, and really makes them think about words and how they are put together. There are reward stars for good work, which go on a "Certificate of Excellence" at the back of the book, which gives them even more encouragement and incentive. A great price for getting my son to finally like spelling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars educational and fun, 8 Feb 2011
By 
Sarah Warren - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smelly Spelling Age 7-8 (Letts Magical Skills): Ages 7-8 (Paperback)
Lovely book, seen a big improvment already in my 7 year olds spelling, with stickers and easy to follow instructions, would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good help to my 8 yr who struggles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smelly Spelling Age 7-8 (Letts Magical Skills): Ages 7-8
Smelly Spelling Age 7-8 (Letts Magical Skills): Ages 7-8 by Louis Fidge (Paperback - 1 July 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews