Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
This is a great workbook to use at home to encourage early writing skills. Follows the same phonics that are used at school so won't confuse children. Recommended.
Published on 16 Aug. 2009 by SlayerKat

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good as a revision aid
This is the first of two Funny Phonics and Silly Spelling books by Letts (distributed under the Lecki label in Scotland) and is a good supplement to the work done in primary school. The thing to remember with these titles is that they are a supplement to, and not a replacement for school work, and could be considered as 'addition homework'.

Each 2-page spread...
Published on 10 July 2011 by L. S. Avery


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good as a revision aid, 10 July 2011
By 
L. S. Avery (Wellingborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Funny Phonics and Silly Spelling: Ages 5-6 (Magic Skills) (Paperback)
This is the first of two Funny Phonics and Silly Spelling books by Letts (distributed under the Lecki label in Scotland) and is a good supplement to the work done in primary school. The thing to remember with these titles is that they are a supplement to, and not a replacement for school work, and could be considered as 'addition homework'.

Each 2-page spread covers one are of Phonics, and rather than focus on rote learning of phonics patterns, they put the subject into context by building the phonetic patterns into everyday usage, for example a section focuses on vowels, and how they appear in words.

The major downside of this book and in fact a great number of books in this series (see my other reviews) is the limited amount of exercises for the child. Each subject has 4-5 exercises of various types and this is enough to give an overview rather than in depth practice, if a child doesn't pick up the topic in a single hit then you will need to find additional information elsewhere.

I have used these with a 7-year old as revision in the basics and they found them fun and useful. I think though, that is the key to these books, they are a revision aid rather than a teaching aid and sometimes other books/resources will be needed to support this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Aug. 2009
By 
SlayerKat "Desperate Housewife" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny Phonics and Silly Spelling: Ages 5-6 (Magic Skills) (Paperback)
This is a great workbook to use at home to encourage early writing skills. Follows the same phonics that are used at school so won't confuse children. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow Result, 24 Jan. 2014
By 
M. Watkins "mommy and playmate" (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny Phonics and Silly Spelling: Ages 5-6 (Magic Skills) (Paperback)
I have trouble engaging my son in these kind of exercises, but give him witches, dragon and frog ...he sat straight down and did a third of the book with out my assistance..wow...and he asked me to check and together we put stars on the pages and certificate.
Fantastic. Year 1 teacher will be happy when she sees this. I recommend as it does engage them, and the colours and little stories the characters tell is wonderful. Thank-you :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 17 Mar. 2013
By 
E. A. Bell (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny Phonics and Silly Spelling: Ages 5-6 (Magic Skills) (Paperback)
A very good product which is well set out and interesting for children. It would be great if there were more pages to reinforce what your child is learning but at the end of the day, it's only a tool to help you and it would also be great if Letts did more of these. However, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish product; rubbish service, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny Phonics and Silly Spelling: Ages 5-6 (Magic Skills) (Paperback)
Shockingly poor quality....indicative of of a cavalier disregard on the supplier's part, I fear. Don't order second hand books from A, if they're for young kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Funny Phonics and Silly Spelling: Ages 5-6 (Magic Skills)
Funny Phonics and Silly Spelling: Ages 5-6 (Magic Skills) by Louis Fidge (Paperback - 1 July 2002)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews