Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son enjoys these workbooks, 11 Sep 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
He likes the characters (Mugly and Bugly, Pointy, Miss Snufflebeam etc) and will quite happily work through a page a day in the holidays.
Each page covers a slightly different skill, and there are different types of exercises (some will be "straight" adding or subtracting, others will be drawing the total number of things, others will be connecting the sum and the answer with a line and so on) so he doesn't get bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 16 Feb 2011
My 6 year old daughter needed some extra practice on her maths. The emphasis at her school is much more on reading which she is already good at. I originally assumed that she would quite quickly get the clever way of doing things but it's not that easy, it takes a lot of practice and seemingly more than her school has time to give.

This workbook has really caught her imagination with all the wizardy introductions and she is now happy to work through a page at a time with little if any prompting. The gold star stickers go down well too. The bonus is that because it's not actual school homework she is much more inclined to get on with it.

We have started with the Age 5-6 book to make it easy and so encourage her to continue and will have to wait for feedback from the school to tell how useful it has been. My initial impression though is that it is beginning to help. I have already bought the next book up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun for kids, 8 Feb 2011
By 
Sarah Warren - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adorable Addition and Stinky Subtraction Age 6-7 (Letts Magical Skills): Addition and Subtraction: Ages 6-7 (Paperback)
I brought the magical skills book, for my seven year old boy as he is very behind at school in maths, I have brought him educational books before but he gets bored, however this book seemed to catch his imagination and he has enjoyed working through all the pages, I have brought a few books in this series and they are all really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Success!, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was surprised how this has captivated my son. Upon showing him it, he seemed somewhat 'meh' about it, but once I read him the intro and shown him the characters in this workbook he soon got into the swing of things. I had anticipated him wanting to do two double spreads only, but he went like a champion and did four. On completion of each double page spread, the child can award himself a golden star (provided) to stick on a certificate at the back of the book.

It has to be said also that this also requires a little adult supervision too. My child is 5 and cannot read all the words on the page, so I have to do that and also explain what he needs to do. With guidance, the child gets out a lot more than just doing the sums, his attention can be drawn to the illustrations and gentle suggestions can help him bolster his confidence when getting stuff right. Excellent stuff. I've bought the next book - multiplication and division for 5-6, as well as addition and subraction for 6-7 in anticipation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great workbook, 21 Dec 2010
This review is from: Adorable Addition and Stinky Subtraction Age 6-7 (Letts Magical Skills): Addition and Subtraction: Ages 6-7 (Paperback)
Great series of workbooks. Simple, straightforward format. Lots of reward stickers. Excellent way to help children along at home with what they are learning at school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good learning book, 9 Dec 2013
By 
miss hazel k malyon (farnborough, hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adorable Addition and Stinky Subtraction Age 6-7 (Letts Magical Skills): Addition and Subtraction: Ages 6-7 (Paperback)
My girls enjoyed this series of learning books. We are just getting to this book and it appears to as engaging as the others. The pictures/graphic engages the children and the variety in tasks engaged them. Pleased and would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good books, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my daughter loved the books as they were different from other learning materials,e used the books daily to help with school work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes maths fun, 1 July 2013
This review is from: Adorable Addition and Stinky Subtraction Age 6-7 (Letts Magical Skills): Addition and Subtraction: Ages 6-7 (Paperback)
This looks like a great fun maths book, unfortunately I ordered age 6-7 meant to order 5-6 so won't be using it until completed the younger age book. Excellent delivery & very pleased with service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really amazing, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Problems have been explained in a fun way and its like getting done some maths as a part of story. Really good book and I will definitely go to buy the next level of the same set. Very useful and they learn very quick with these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was great for my 5 year old., 28 Jan 2011
A Kid's Review
This book was great for getting my 5 year old to actually do some much needed homework.
Easy to use, with stars for rewards included. Good quality book, and value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews