Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 8 Jan 2009
By 
G. Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults and the Law (Paperback)
The length and breadth of the author's knowledge, as represented in the range of issues covered in this book, is unbelievable: it's almost as if this is an edited volume featuring specialist chapters by named experts.

Inevitably, depth of coverage of specific topics suffers but this is a price well worth paying for a gem such as this.

It's a must have guide to safeguarding/vulnerable adults policy and practice with a clear emphasis upon national policy and legal duties. A brilliant book that should put others to shame. If you can only buy one book on the subject then this is, unarguably, the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Safeguarding Vulnerable adults and the law, 12 Oct 2009
By 
J. Thompson (UK, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults and the Law (Paperback)
The book makes for easy reading, it looks at a range of situations where abuse, neglect and harm can take place; community and hospital settings. The author provides various scenarios with associated ethical and legal considerations, then leaves the reader to critically analyse the informtion and draw their own conclusions. I was disappointed that the book focused mainly on English law rather then Scottish law however, the author does make some distinction between the two. I have enjoyed reading the book and will use it for future reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must, 14 May 2012
By 
Mark Maloney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults and the Law (Paperback)
This is an excellent well written, easy to read book for all practitioners within the field of Adult Social Care.It covers aspects of the law, and also gives you case studies, it is well worth the money and if you work in this field I would recommend that you or your organisation buy a copy or copies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults and the Law (Paperback)
Until the laws inevitably get changed, this book is great for referencing work and studies. Arrived in great condition, was a reasonable price and arrived in good time. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Book, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults and the Law (Paperback)
Useful as a reference text for social workers. students and lecturers alike. The only problem is that, like most legal texts, it is out of date so quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for safeguarding practitioners, 26 Jan 2013
By 
GSH (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults and the Law (Paperback)
I am currently in my first year of masters degree in adult safeguarding and Mandelstam's book on Safeguarding adults and the law is a fantastic book! A great reference to have for any practitioner working within safeguarding and very well written for all levels. An excellent buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars this is a book i needed as i work in care, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults and the Law (Paperback)
this has a lot of answers to what I need to know in my line of work as I am now going to go self employed this should help me in my day to day dealing with vulnerable adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hold on to your bile, 2 Oct 2012
By 
B. Zabavnik (down town shepherds bush beneath the BBC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults and the Law (Paperback)
Read it and weep because everything you experience when trying to sort out a beloved relative in the teeth of social services indifference is laid before you. I had to stop reading this book otherwise the rage I felt towards our "masters" would have boiled over into violent rebellion. This book dispells the mirage of professionalism that local government adorns itself with. Sorry but the professions are: teaching, medicine, the law, the church and the prostitute. Caring for old people is like caring for a baby - you wipe their arse, you feed them, you wash them and you put them to bed. Bloody simple. Then watch them balls it up. This book shows that you are not alone in thinking you are sane and they are mad, bad or just plain stupid. Currently the great political debate are the Dilmot proposals versus 0.7% GDP overseas aid bill with Justine Green taking the trousers off the budget and seeing what dicks are swinging. Some one soon is going to take George Osborne and David Cameron to task about care and its costs and these two politicians will be blushing beetroot red with shame. As for Nick Clegg I am surprised he is an MP for Sheffield since I would have thought Luton was more his mettle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults and the Law
Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults and the Law by Michael Mandelstam (Paperback - 15 Nov 2008)
£18.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews