Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy To Read, Inspiring, and Heart-warming!, 22 Sep 2008
This review is from: Of Mice and Aliens: An Asperger Adventure (Asperger Adventures) (Paperback)
I guess Kathy Hoopmann quite specifically tells you the following characteristics of Asperger syndrome(AS):
1. People with AS easily get confused when things change without notice.
2. They take everything literally, but don't understand the implications.
3. They are really into their own interests, especially net surfing and playing alone.
4. They aren't good enough to understand social cues, other people's feelings, unwritten rules, and non-verbal communication.
5. They may hurt others even unless they intend to.

This story is not only for Aspies(People with AS) but parents, teachers, friends, bosses,and colleagues who often deal with Aspies. As long as NT(=neuro-typical) people understand the 5 characteristics above, they will find it easier to interact with Aspies.
Particularly, No.5 is extremely important for educating and parenting AS kids. Ben gave Zeke what his family members needed because Ben thought Zeke wanted them. "How would you feel if we gave your computer away to a man we just met because he said he wanted one?" - I felt Sue hit the nail right on the head! This is exactly what you must keep in mind. Ben certainly didn't mean to upset their family and wanted to please Zeke, but he got into trouble after his family found it. So I bet the story tells us how to learn from mistakes and stop making the same mistakes again.
Prof. Tony Attwood said in the interview with Dr. Michelle Garnett , "When you deal with the people with Asperger's syndrome, it's a treasure." This book reminded me of the interview, which encouraged me to deepen my understanding on both the pros and cons of AS. Therefore, as an adult Aspie, please don't alienate Aspies just because they are different from other people! And I would like you to know that they have talents to improve their potentials especially like No.3.
Finally, don't label the story 'childish' just because it's for AS kids!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sequel as good as Blue Bottle Mystery, 30 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Mice and Aliens: An Asperger Adventure (Asperger Adventures) (Paperback)
Having read Blue bottle mystery a hundred times I had to try the sequel and was not disappointed. My Son has Aspergers and is now 10, and we have read both books over and over and he loves them and really identifies with Ben and his plight. The stories are wonderful, sad and funny and identify issues in a kind way that the reader understands. Some old classmates read the books too and were saying, "Ok, now we get it!" It is a reasurring read for any child trying to understand themselves, or their diagnosis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 27 April 2009
This review is from: Of Mice and Aliens: An Asperger Adventure (Asperger Adventures) (Paperback)
As the parent of a boy with Asperger's making other people aware of the condition is one of the biggest hurdles to cross.
This book helps us jump that hurdle by reaching not just adults but children too.
Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars of mice and aliens, 15 Sep 2011
This review is from: Of Mice and Aliens: An Asperger Adventure (Asperger Adventures) (Paperback)
We read @the blue bottle mystery@ this summer and then went on to read this lovely book which is the follow up story. Easy to read for my 8 year old son. A fab introduction to Aspergers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for starting conversations, 14 Sep 2010
This review is from: Of Mice and Aliens: An Asperger Adventure (Asperger Adventures) (Paperback)
Good as a springboard for sparking conversation with the Asperger's child about how they feel so they don't feel "in the spotlight". Enjoyed the fact that the story was positive about the condition and different symptoms and behaviors were highlighted, showing that not all children have the same experience with the condition. Sometimes a little earnest, but the plot moved quickly and was exciting enough for a 7 year old boy. We enjoyed the fact that it covered subjects that he was interested in (aliens, space, computers) Overall well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 10 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Mice and Aliens: An Asperger Adventure (Asperger Adventures) (Paperback)
A great story book for children who have ASD but don't know or accept their diagnosis, has scenarios that they can identify with but a great book for all to have I even lent it to the school so they can have in their library as a good story book and would help other children who may have classmates with quirks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, needs to be longer, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book,I hope she writes another one, it was a really good theme. Nice work Kathy Hoopman Max age 9
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Aspie Book, 30 Sep 2013
By 
T. K. Church - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Mice and Aliens: An Asperger Adventure (Asperger Adventures) (Paperback)
Good short story, though not as good as the first one. Good condition and quick arrival. Would recommend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Mice and Aliens: An Asperger Adventure (Asperger Adventures) (Paperback)
The book came very fast and it great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Of Mice and Aliens: An Asperger Adventure (Asperger Adventures)
Of Mice and Aliens: An Asperger Adventure (Asperger Adventures) by Kathy Hoopmann (Paperback - 15 Sep 2001)
£7.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews