Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable quick dip reference
A detailed one page synopsis for each invertabrate, standardised headings for quick reference and comparison, which also points out the negatives/disadvantages and care requirements. This book has been invaluable (especially notes pertaining to similar species) which helps avoid buying the wrong animal.
Published on 27 May 2010 by D. Haslam

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I was very disappointed! I was expecting a lot better than this. Ronald L. Shimek's Marine Invertebrates is far superior.
Published 13 months ago by P. A. Page


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable quick dip reference, 27 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Invertebrate? (Paperback)
A detailed one page synopsis for each invertabrate, standardised headings for quick reference and comparison, which also points out the negatives/disadvantages and care requirements. This book has been invaluable (especially notes pertaining to similar species) which helps avoid buying the wrong animal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for this newbie, 23 April 2011
By 
Mr. N. P. H. Smith "Nick Smith" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Invertebrate? (Paperback)
Basic one page description of each creature, with very useful sub-headings : What it eats, what eats it, what it is or isn't compatible with. The best quick reference book I've found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what invertebrate, 14 May 2009
By 
F. Kasey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Invertebrate? (Paperback)
As with all the "What" series of books it is very imformative and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Invertebrate? (Paperback)
An excellent guide to marine invertebrates. It covers the most commonly seen animals in shops while still mentioning the rarer ones. The text is concise and the photos are quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 10 Jun 2013
By 
P. A. Page - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Invertebrate? (Paperback)
I was very disappointed! I was expecting a lot better than this. Ronald L. Shimek's Marine Invertebrates is far superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I-Spy combined with Top Trumps - Excellent book for a newbie!, 24 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. P. A. King (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Invertebrate? (Paperback)
Just enough info on (almost) every common species you are likely to find in the aquarium shops - bit like a shopping catalogue combined with a child's I-Spy book. Clear concise simple information that allows you to at least start to sound like you know what you want when you go to buy your own critters! (I've only been a marine aquarist for about a month now so still finding my sea legs on what goes together but this book has helped me to understand the bare basics and avoid feeding one creature with another). Great colour pictures, no fancy words to get bogged down in and yes it does give you advice on whether the creatures will live happily together or eat each other for the heck of it. Also gives guide to price tags (in GBP) so you have some idea how deep you will need to dig into pockets for that special luminous coral or "cute" hermit crab (although stores will differ from area to area and quality of the animals on sale).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars basic information for a new marine reef aquarium owner, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Invertebrate? (Paperback)
This is a handy book from which to gain basic information, with enough to help decide how to choose, what it will share with and necessary conditions in which to keep a wide range of marine creatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great buyers guide for Marine Aquarium owners, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Invertebrate? (Paperback)
Fantastic book, great format of writing with information on the species needs like water flow, lighting required, will it threaten fish, what does it eat, cost and like .species covered by this book are the corals & inverts commonly found in reef aquariums and aquatic stores in the UK. If your a marine aquarium owner or prospective owner go meet the author at Cheshire Aquatics at Blakemere craft centre for great advice and great prices on livestock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For the price the best book on the market!!, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Invertebrate? (Paperback)
A first class book for anybody starting to set up a marine aquarium . Highly recommend . Buy this book before you buy any invertebrates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Invertebrate? (Paperback)
Great dealer no hassle 2 day delivery in great shape when it arrived...A+ now I can read up on my salt water tank, thanks c u I future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Invertebrate?
What Invertebrate? by Tristan Lougher (Paperback - 28 Feb 2007)
12.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews