Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best fish books I have seen in a long time
We used to have a fish tank many years ago, then stopped when we moved, and recently got back into fish keeping, so we wanted a book that was neither too technical to be unintelligible, nor too simple to be plain silly, as most of the books we looked at seem to be.

This book is superb, the writer has a clear knowledge of tanks and fish, appeals to the beginner...
Published on 13 May 2009 by FussyMissus

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Def not recommanded
First of all I would like to say that I am not an incredibly expert aquarist. I've had an aquarium for one and a half year but in this period of time I have done quite some reading a various level. In my opinion this book provide very little and too generic information even for me. Also, the variety of fishes reported in the book could be much much wider, even for a...
Published on 21 Mar 2010 by FG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best fish books I have seen in a long time, 13 May 2009
By 
FussyMissus (Uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Fish?: A Buyer's Guide to Tropical Fish (Paperback)
We used to have a fish tank many years ago, then stopped when we moved, and recently got back into fish keeping, so we wanted a book that was neither too technical to be unintelligible, nor too simple to be plain silly, as most of the books we looked at seem to be.

This book is superb, the writer has a clear knowledge of tanks and fish, appeals to the beginner and the expert alike, and his humorous descriptions of some of the fish attributes really take the seriousness out of fishkeeping, making the specific fish more memorable when you go get them from the shop - one fish has the word BADLY listed under 'how does this fish behave', giving you an idea of the humour and truth of the writer! It's practical and down to earth, and gives you pretty much all the info you need for your new tank, and some of the pictures are amazing.

This book kept us busy for many an hour and is small enough to be portable and take with you to annoy shopkeepers with! Highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Guide To Tropical Fish, 4 May 2009
By 
D. Cozens (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Fish?: A Buyer's Guide to Tropical Fish (Paperback)
Excellent guide to what fish will live together happily and what type of tank they prefer , Each fish in the guide is covered by a one page simple profile eg What size they grow to, What do they eat, What size tank should be kept in, What kind of water & how warm, How does it behave. Book doesn't cover every fish you may see down your local aquatics store but this is still and excellent book to have with a nice simple layout and very good photos of each fish covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect tropical fish selection book, 16 Nov 2009
By 
D. Mann "D. Mann" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Fish?: A Buyer's Guide to Tropical Fish (Paperback)
This is a really first class little book and I highly recommend it.
Each page has a different species with an excellent photograph and outlines exactly what you need to know about that species in order to keep it in your aquarium.
You learn where it is from, how it behaves, what it eats, ideal temperature, cost, the size it will grow to and crucially, what other tankmates it should or shouldn't be kept with. This all comes across in a very user friendly fashion.
It is spot on for any beginner or the more expierienced fishkeeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good - but not excellent, 31 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Fish?: A Buyer's Guide to Tropical Fish (Paperback)
THe only fault with this book is its not big enough - it has 85% of the fish that our local store stocks, but could be improved it it had just a few more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying!, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Fish?: A Buyer's Guide to Tropical Fish (Paperback)
One of the best fish books out there if you are new to the hobby or knowledgeable on the subject. It tells you all about the fish; from how much they cost to how you breed them. It has many species from basic to advanced and unusual, and the book will tell you all you will need to do to setup a perfect environment for your fish to live in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 11 May 2014
By 
K. Potten - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Fish?: A Buyer's Guide to Tropical Fish (Paperback)
Has been a great book to refer to whilst out stocking up on fish. Would recommend for any fish keeper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Main Referance, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Fish?: A Buyer's Guide to Tropical Fish (Paperback)
I like this book, it has become my main reference when I am looking at fish, with some really good information, where they are from how to breed them, ideal conditions and general information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Fish?: A Buyer's Guide to Tropical Fish (Paperback)
Great book - beautiful photos, great, clear information and advice. An interesting read. Seems like a fairly extensive list of fish species too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Fish?: A Buyer's Guide to Tropical Fish (Paperback)
It is a very good book. It tells you the name, the size, the price and the type of fish it is. I would recommend this book to anyone who is going to buy a fish and wants to know exactly the temperature of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Christmas gift., 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Fish?: A Buyer's Guide to Tropical Fish (Paperback)
Useful, handy book to have. Full of lovely pictures and descriptions of the fish, and useful tips for stocking the tank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Fish?: A Buyer's Guide to Tropical Fish
£11.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews