Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars16
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 August 2001
Candace Robb's newest series is a work in progress. Her heroine, Margaret Kerr, is a woman in search of her husband and the truth behind the death of his best friend. Set in Edinburgh, Margaret encounters resistance from those she least suspects - her family. Caught up in the politics of the time, she soon comes to realize the danger she places herself and her family in. This book has much in the way of the history of Scotland and the British incursions into the region. Familiar names such as Edward Longshanks of England and William Wallace of Scotland are weaved into this story of political upheaval. Margaret Kerr is a developing character and as the story unfolds, she becomes more of a sleuth, which causes her to fall into more trouble than she ever anticipated. As it is a work in progress, I look eagerly look forward to the forthcoming sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2005
After great success with her mediaeval thrillers featuring Owen Archer Candace Robb has introduced a new investigator and a new series of which this is the first novel. Margaret Kerr is a young Scottish woman seeking her missing husband during the time when Edward I of England is trying to annexe Scotland to his kingdom. Margaret is staying with her husband's mother when her brother Andrew brings home the body of Jack, her husband's cousin. Margaret has a soft spot for this brutally murdered young man who has been looking for Roger in Edinburgh. Margaret sets off to follow his trail and finds herself amidst a nest of intrigue where two factions are trying to support different leaders to become King of Scotland.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2001
Any fan of Candace Robb will find this new series of tales enjoyable. Her character of Margaret Kerr is set in Scotland during the reign of Edward Longshanks of England. This book not only entertains, but educates those who know little about this period in world history. Since this is a series in progress, the character of Margaret Kerr is evolving as she attempts to find her husband in Edinburgh and becomes aware of how dangerous her position is and more about the political climate of the time. The mystery and history that Robb pens is an excellent blend and definitely worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2001
With a feisty, proto-feminist heroine and a large cast of colourful characters, Candace Robb's novel seethes with historical tensions, betrayals and dark secrets - both the personal and political. The author transports the reader into 13th century Edinburgh with flair and accuracy and the plot never ceases to thicken.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2003
I thoughly enjoyed this book. The difference between this and other medieval murder mystery books is that this book features a woman as its "super sleuth". The author incorporates many people in to the plot which was hard at some points to keep up with, but which certainly made the book interesting. I found it was one of those books you simply couldn't put down. My only negative point would be that the ending left you feeling a little cheated. Many questions are left unanswered (issues to cross over to the next instalement) and unfortunatly the book gives no indication when the follow up book will be published. Other than that, a jolly good "who done it", obviously written by someone who has done a lot of medieval research. Reading the book teaches you a lot about the realities of living during this period of Scottish history.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2001
"A Trust Betrayed" is precisely how this book left me feeling. Opening with Margaret looking for her missing husband, it closes with the same dilemma unsatisfactorily unresolved. Doubtless a second book will follow and if this book had worked I should care about what happens next, but I don`t.
The author has obviously researched her historical facts but her storyline, characterisation and feel for the time and place, fail abysmally.
As if this were not bad enough, the final FOURTEEN pages of my edition comprised advertising for the author`s other books. Because this included a 12 page extract from another book readers are badly misled about where the book itself ends.
A poor read, poorly presented.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2010
I bought this book as I adore medieval history and am an avid reader of anything set in the medieval period be it fiction or non-fiction, but what a disappointment this book was. The plot was thin, characters were dull, uninteresting and I couldn't feel any empathy with any of them. I had to literally force myself to pick up the book and finish it in the vain hope it was going to get better. It didn't. I wish I hadn't bothered finishing it as the reader is left hanging, the storyline isnt resolved - presumably because there are going to be more books in the series.

In terms of plot, I would only actually give this book 1 star. Its only saving grace and the reason I gave it 2 was because the author obviously knows her stuff when it comes to medieval life and this was the only thing I found interesting about this book. This author would be far better writing non fiction books on the medieval period because she lacks the imagination to come up with a decent storyline.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
Intersesting take on Edward 1's approach to Scotland. Worth reading just for that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2001
Our heroine, Margaret Kerr, finds her life caught up in the intrigue around the Scottish throne. Her merchant husband fails to return from a trip, her young kinsman dies mysteriously in the search. Margaret and her maid make the difficult journey to Edinburgh through a country with too few roads and too many bogs. Who and what she finds in the malodorous High Street and Cowgate of the capital reflect a very accurate picture of that time in Scottish history. A good read but the tale is not finished - is this part one of a new series?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
A bit slow. May be the other two will convince me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse