Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book of strange contrasts but with many shocking truths
I got this from my local library. It is one of the better political exposes I have read. Intriguing, shocking, even frightening in places.

It has a slow start which other reviewers have highlighted as "turgid" but it gives a damning indictment of Tony Blair and his government (particularly Alistair Campbell and Geoff Hoon) and surgically dissects the way in...
Published on 8 Oct 2010 by Great Gatsby

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars THINLY ARGUED AND NOT WELL STATED
I really thought that at last we would have more insight into the death of Dr. Kelly, but, alas, I was VERY disappointed.
This book is OK as far as it goes but does not come up with any very different conclusions than those of anyone else.

Norman Baker, however, did come to the conclusion that the Hutton Enquiry was, for want of a better word, a 'sham'...
Published 9 months ago by Mrs. Judith Lugg


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asking All The Right Questions., 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
Norman Baker has asked all the right questions in this excellent book. There can be little doubt that the British government was at least partially responsible for David Kelly's murder and wholly responsible for the subsequent cover-up. It is to the shame of the British people, particularly the Press, that it has been allowed to get away with it. Well done, Norman Baker, you have done the British public a great service in not letting this appalling crime go unquestioned. History will be the judge as to the reason behind the lies Tony Blair fed to the British people about Iraq's supposed WMD and why David Kelly - "the man who knew too much" had to be silenced. This book is a shocking indictment of British justice and the appalling Establishment cover-up which followed the death of a very honourable man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating account of the death of David Kelly, 15 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
This book gives hitherto unknown details of the facts leading up to the death of Dr.Kelly, and of the shambolic and very unsatisfactory way his death was investigated. Geoff Hoon and Blair seem complicit in attempting - and succeeding - in a cover up. There are many questions which were not asked and it seems to me that is high time for a thorough investigation into the circumstances of this man's death. I became convinced that his death was not suicide, Dr. Kelly deserves better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I've only now become aware of this book. But ..., 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
I've only now become aware of this book. But I've been unhappy about the circumstances for a long time.

Disclaimer: in a past life I was a medic, a surgeon. I know what the ulnar artery is, and I've been to lots of court proceedings and coroner's courts.

This book, sadly, doesn't have much detail about the post-mortem on Dr Kellty: Lord Hutton wanted this embargoed for 70 years, though it's now available. Forgive me if I go into anatomical detail here.

The PM describes a laceration to the left ulnar artery. the ulnar artery is one of two that supplies the hand. Classically, the raidal artery ( on the thumb side of the hand) and the ulnar artery (on the little finger side) join or anastomose in the hand. But, the ulnar artery is a feeble thing. It's not always patent, and sometimes the flow is retrograde. If the radial artery is to be cannulated, then physicians use Allen's test, a compression of both arteries, and then release of one to see if the other is patent.

We're told that his (left) ulnar artery was divided. After division of an artery, it should go into spasm, that is, there should not be much bleeding. In this case, there wasn't. Were you to exsanguinate from division of the ulnar artery, it would take hours, and there would be evidence of at least 2 litres of blood loss. (There wasn't)

Dr Kelly also had evidence of coronary artery atherosclerosis; this is normal enough in a man of his age (59).

So how did he die? The available evidence is, to mind, inconclusive. He didn't bleed to death, but he might well have had an infarct.

What caused his death? Ah, there's the nub. It's possible that he suffered a sudden, major depressive attack, causing him to take his own life. (No fingerprints on the knife?) Or was he murdered? And if so, by whom, on whose instructions?

This is where the book gets really muddled. I can't really accept the verdict of suicide, but nor can I accept that it was the Iraqis.

Were I the coroner, I'd have had to have said that the cause of death was "open".

Lord Hutton's inquiry? A rather strange substitute for an inquest. Lord Hutton could only go on the "evidence" produced to him, yet it seems that much of the backstory was omitted. And while Lord Hutton is expert at weighing the "evidence", he seems not to have been inquisitive. Further, he was produced almost instantaneously. Strange? And he was known to be a "conservative". In the US Supreme courts, the judges are either liberal or conservative, but in the UK there is the belief that they are "independent". So it's not surprising that his report was deemed a "whitewash" in many quarters.

Here it's, in part. the judicial and investigative process that is being questioned. If you think that the judiciary are beyond political manipulation, then I suggest you look up the trial of Stephen Ward in the 1960s. He was found guilty of crimes he didn't commit—an establishment cover up, if you will. Or at the trial of Marguerite Alibert in the 1920s. She was found not guilty of a murder she committed: but she had been the mistress of the Prince of Wales, and this was covered up.

And the cops? This isn't so certain, but there have been lots, so many, cases of them fitting people up for crimes in the last few decades, that some political involvement is quite possible.

A very strange death: Oh, it was. There are too many half-answered questions, too much fitting the facts to fit the agendas, too many frankly squalid undertones.

I don't know what the truth is; this book clarifies as much as it confuses. What we have been told is a very partial view of what happened. We'll have to wait until all the classified papers are released. Alas, I won't be alive then to say "I told you so".

Four*? Too much purple prose for my taste;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it in the interest of truth and justice, 19 April 2010
By 
Mr. T. Pooley (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
If you, like countless other people in the UK - and indeed across the world - were unconvinced by the outcome of the inquiry into the death of Dr. David Kelly, then you simply must read this book.

I was one of the many members of the public that was duped into believing the British government's claims that Iraq was in possession of weapons of mass destruction, and was suitably outraged when the truth came to light. I was however, utterly disgusted when the report into the suspicious death of a man who had proof that the motivations for the Iraq war were greatly exaggerated deemed the cause "suicide", when all of the evidence suggested otherwise.

Norman Baker presents the facts of this case honestly and accurately. He does not write as if he has an axe to grind, nor does his account of events contain any kind of journalistic bias towards one side of the argument or the other. Instead, he analyses all of the available evidence and arrives at sound, logical conclusions, all the while maintaining dignity and respect towards those most affected by this tragic event - something that the government failed to do.

Blair, Hutton and anyone else involved in the crass cover-up of this ghastly episode deserve to be punished for obstructing the course of justice.

Read this in the interest of truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and fascinating perspectives on this tragic death, 19 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
The Strange Death of David Kelly provides the reader with fascinating and thought provoking perspectives on the death of this internally acclaimed scientist who was thrust under the microscopic analysis of the international media and rabidly revengeful politicians because of his concerns regarding the so-called Sexed Up Dossiers.

Whilst I was hoping the book would be an interesting read and put different frames of reference on this sudden death, I had some doubt as to its political neutrality given its author being an MP; however, despite there being what I considered to be some efforts to score political points, the book was actually well written and on the whole was not used for political gain.

The author has clearly spent a great deal of time researching this subject despite, according to his writings, some efforts by 'unknown forces' to thwart its development. All credit to Norman Baker for his persistence.

The book introduced material which stimulated thought and individual consideration as to what exactly happened in relation to David Kelly's death. It took the reader on an international journey to various possibilities and potential links to his premature demise; whilst I did not always agree with the author's views and interpretations, it made very interesting reading which, I shall admit, became somewhat addictive.

It may very well be that David Kelly did indeed commit suicide; but on the basis of information published, the book did raise a number of eye brow raising questions that, to me, remain unanswered. New information may come to light as time progresses - if so, I think Normal Baker would be well placed to build upon this book to either raise new questions, or come to a more specific conclusion as to what actually happened.

Overall, a good read and highly provoking; recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Strange Death of David Kelly, 14 July 2011
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
This book is well researched and provides a disturbing insight into the workings of the "Blair" government. For those who have questions over the suspicious death of this weapons inspector and the lack of evidence available for the official explanation of his death, this book is a "must-read".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why are we surprised?, 19 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
I had already read around the subject before ordering the book but the sheer obfuscation of the UK government during the Hutton enquiry just beggars belief. A shocking failure of the system to answer the questions upon the nations lips.

There has been no proper inquest or investigation into the death of David Kelly, just a sham that failed to answer the questions that were there.

The galling image of the truly guilty parties at the Chilcott inquiry just makes me feel that British justice has not been seen, let alone seen to be done, since this whole sordid story began.

Whether the reader agrees with the conclusions of the book or not there are more than enough chinks in the official story to arouse even the most sceptical observer.

If you value democracy and open government then this book is required reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There is more to tell, 9 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
I thought this was an excellent book and one that definitely needed to be written. Of course David Kelly was murdered, I think most people probably know that. But by whom----?

Norman Baker has done a lot of research into the murky and unpleasant shadow areas that we ordinary citizens know little about and he has written his book well. But I felt there was a lot he wasn't saying. Perhaps he didn't dare. Perhaps he feared reprisals. I would like to know what he really thinks.

I am very glad I bought and read this book. I learnt much that I didn't know and my vague doubts about Dr Kelly's death have turned into certainty that he was murdered. And it is an well-written book and an interesting read. But I hope the truth will be known in my life time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Strange Death of David Kelly, 15 Jun 2013
By 
Pauline Westwood "mrdwesty" (mrdwesty) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
The Strange Death of David Kelly

Great reviews by several national newspapers most of whom swallowed the bait on WMD hook, line and sinker. How many of them have picked up where Norman Baker left off? Sadly, the vast majority of political journalism in this country is based on the spoon-feeding of spin, with lapdog journalists in fear of being 'shut out' if upsetting the valuable contacts they meet in pubs and restaurants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You need to know the truth!!, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
I have no hesitation in recommending anything that will expose the lies, deception and cover ups of our dear governments and how the media plays up to them and how deliberate they are in giving false information. Nothing surprised me in the investigation regarding Dave Kelly's death. It is disturbing to say the least that it took a member of public to search out the truth and reveal it, a responsibility we pay the police etc to do. The findings are thorough, informative and sadly true. If you ever wondered about the strange, strange and untimely death of Dave Kelly and the circumstances surrounding it I exhort you read this book and pass it on to a friend.
Highly recommended and exposing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Strange Death of David Kelly
The Strange Death of David Kelly by Norman Baker (Paperback - 8 Oct 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews