Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book of strange contrasts but with many shocking truths
I got this from my local library. It is one of the better political exposes I have read. Intriguing, shocking, even frightening in places.

It has a slow start which other reviewers have highlighted as "turgid" but it gives a damning indictment of Tony Blair and his government (particularly Alistair Campbell and Geoff Hoon) and surgically dissects the way in...
Published on 8 Oct 2010 by Great Gatsby

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars THINLY ARGUED AND NOT WELL STATED
I really thought that at last we would have more insight into the death of Dr. Kelly, but, alas, I was VERY disappointed.
This book is OK as far as it goes but does not come up with any very different conclusions than those of anyone else.

Norman Baker, however, did come to the conclusion that the Hutton Enquiry was, for want of a better word, a 'sham'...
Published 6 months ago by Mrs. Judith Lugg


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book of strange contrasts but with many shocking truths, 8 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
I got this from my local library. It is one of the better political exposes I have read. Intriguing, shocking, even frightening in places.

It has a slow start which other reviewers have highlighted as "turgid" but it gives a damning indictment of Tony Blair and his government (particularly Alistair Campbell and Geoff Hoon) and surgically dissects the way in which they twisted the available intelligence on Iraq's WMD programmes to say exactly the opposite of the prevailing view of David Kelly and other UN weapons inspectors at the time; which was that although Iraq probably had some remaining WMD stockpiles (and some of their WMD may have been moved to Syria) it was not a current threat to Iraq's neighbours, the UK or its interests. It also clearly demonstrates how the investigation into Dr Kelly's death was badly botched and the known facts couldn't possibly support a verdict of suicide. This part of the book is meticulously researched and argued with many authoritative sources.

The second portion reads almost like a spy thriller as it gets under the skin of the murky world of intelligence agencies, weapons inspectors, dissident Iraqi groups and WMD proliferation. I found some of the revelations startling and even genuinely scary. Anyone questioning the "official" version of events seemed to run into a lot of heavy pressure to back off. Although many sources have to be kept anonymous we have to take the author at his word that he has checked their credentials as credible sources.

The final part of the book does the rest a bit of a disservice and feels rushed. It recounts some of the more crackpot theories that came in anonymously as he did his research and a whistle-stop tour of which countries (or its agents) might bear a grudge against Dr Kelly and therefore have a motive for assassinating him. Insufficient time is given to each and there is insufficient hard evidence to back the analysis up, which is why his final conclusion on who killed Dr Kelly and why the attempt to make it appear a suicide was so bungled are hard to accept.

What does come out of the book is that there are far to many inconsistencies in the official verdict of suicide for it to be credible. Important evidence was never put before the Hutton inquiry or simply ignored. It wasn't natural causes, it wasn't an accident and it wasn't suicide, which only leaves murder by person or persons unknown. I think Baker's case on this is rock solid. Who actually killed the UK's foremost expert on biological weapons and why are not proven, but "the truth is out there" as they say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory reading for all U.K/U.S citizens., 11 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
This is a fantastically brave and well researched book. Norman Baker lays out the evidence in a captivating and honest manner,leaving the reader flabbergasted by the inner workings of our government and how they manipulated the country into going into an ilegal war in Irag and poor David Kelly lost his life somewhere in the mix.
Its a `who dunnit`,only very real on a grand and horrifying scale.For all the people who were on the anti war march which was so ignored by our democratically elected government ,this is confirmation of the betrayal we all feel. This should be compulsory reading for all U.K citizens....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


114 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A prime facie case., 23 Jan 2008
By 
A. S. G. Blackmore (Devon, England, UK..) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
This book by Norman Baker is absolutely first-class. From the outset I had the gravest suspicions about the whole matter, and perhaps naively, I believed that the Hutton Enquiry would reveal all. Never was I more mistaken. For an eminent Judge to have produced such a conclusion as contained in his Report- absolutely beggars belief. If I had not heard it - I would never have believed it possible for such an incredibly narrow-minded view, with so many questions left unanswered - nor even examined.
There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that this whole matter should be properly investigated, and an Inquest held, where witnesses would give evidence on oath and open to cross-examination. As it has been left, the whole scandalous affair is a complete travesty, - and I speak with thirty years experience on the Bench.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book which peters out badly..., 15 April 2008
By 
Mike Reed (Bromley, Kent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
Let me say at the beginning that I admire Norman Baker greatly for taking on this research and writing the book. It is a good read but...

I had no doubt from the moment that David Kelly was found dead that he had been murdered. The suicide story was an utter sham. However almost the entire book from Mr Baker leads him to this conclusion. So who was responsible for the murder then? I hate to say it, as I admire Mr Baker and think he's an excellent MP, but he bottles it and concludes it is an Iraqi circle who did it. After 20 chapters, where the evidence comes from to reach this conclusion is impossible to fathom.

Mr Baker presents so much evidence to implicate the UK government and its devil incarnates MI5 and MI6 but then seems to dismiss their involvement with a few sentences along the lines of "the British wouldn't do that!". A cursory examination of what the UK has done in this world in the past 100 years would suggest utter naievety on Mr Baker's part, which he actually admits to in the Epilogue.

David Kelly was murdered on the order of the UK government.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well researched and essential reading, but with an illogical conclusion, 29 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. Duncan Macfarlane (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
Norman Baker has thoroughly investigated Kelly's death and lays out all the evidence from ambulance crew members and other witnesses, friends and colleagues of David Kelly that suggests his death may well not have been suicide.

He also highlights the fact that Kelly, a world class expert on biological weapons, despite being a supporter of war on Iraq, had severely embarrased the Bush administration and Blair government by dismissing their '45 minute' claim and the supposed Iraqi 'bio-weapons trailers' which Kelly and all other weapons experts concluded were nothing of the kind.

Whats more Kelly had briefed journalists from the BBC and the Observer on both these issues.

Despite all this Baker chooses to conclude that Iraqi agents murdered Kelly and that the British government conducted a cover-up in case this would make the public angry at them. This is more than a bit ludicrous since if Saddam's people had killed Kelly it would have supported rather than undermined Blair and Bush's position - and since it was Blair and Bush, not Saddam, who had lost face due to Kelly's revelations.

The obvious conclusion is that Kelly was murdered by British and/or American intelligence on behalf of their governments - the people who actually had a motive to end Kelly's annoyingly honest and accurate assessments of Iraq's lack of any major WMD capabilities. This also helped to scare other experts in the field into silence such as one of Kelly's German colleagues quoted by Baker as saying she would be in trouble if she commented on his death and didnt want to end up like Kelly.

If Baker is too scared to come to this conclusion i wouldnt blame him - and all the evidence of the reality is there in his book in full. If he really believes it then his theory is unlikely to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, 23 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
I am very surprised at ZOKKO's review. I've just finished this book and it's one of the best I've read in recent years. While Norman Baker has his personal opinion about the Kelly affair he presents all the facts in a way that allows readers to make up their own minds. I cannnot recommend this title strongly enough and am now eagerly looking forward to Mr Baker's next foray into the world of factual literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for anyone interested in the war and its shady environs, 30 Mar 2008
By 
M. Summerfield "mrk156" (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
When the death of David Kelly was announced in Canada (this was a worldwide story), it was reported that he had been found murdered in the woods near his home. Interesting huh? (Here, obviously, it was 'suicide')

Norman Baker has added to the growing list of excellent work that picks away at the weak and shabby foundations to the appaling misadventure that is the Iraq war.

So who did kill David Kelly? Norman Baker doesn't know, but he does make it abundantly clear that the Hutton Inquiry certainly wasn't going to find out, either through incompetence or deliberate evasion of the truth.

Well done, Mr Baker, for having the guts to enter this very murky world and for putting the sorry affair down in black and white where we can all see it. It's this kind of clinical investigation into what we're not supposed to investigate, rather than war, that helps to keep us free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More twists than Oliver, 5 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
Far too many suspects to choose from. The ethical Dr, trod on far too many toes and true to his prediction was discovered in the woods. The Dark Actors, it would appear, silenced a lone voice but in such a ham fashion that it needed swift intervention to dismiss the whole saga as a tragedy of his own doing.

On the surface he had a family history, seemed subdued and, as no form of a struggle was apparent it therefore concluded that the unlikely verdict of suicide was adjudged.

It beggars belief that we are told that the proceedings or evidence shall remain unavailable for scrutiny for another seventy years. However, unless some other new revelation can be offered then this one is put to bed and the guilty shall sleep safe in the knowledge that this episode has escaped true justice. How a knife and bottle by Kelly's side were found to not have fingerprints is something that only guilty can answer.

A brilliant piece of investigation by Mr. Baker that sadly had no happy ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, despite a few tangents., 7 Aug 2008
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
I had a personal, if tenuous link with the Kelly affair, as I worked with one of the governors of the BBC at the time.

This should be a school textbook, to rid our society of the belief that governments always act in favour of and to protect their people. History shows us this is not true, and such events will continue into the future.

A brilliant piece of work, even if Mr. Baker sometimes ventures into topics he knows little about (see the section about a tall police mast!)

My indignation and disgust at what happened has been rekindled, and I will now join in the effort to discover the truth. I would encourage everyone else to do the same. Government represents the people, not the establishment. They would do well to remember that from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating account of the death of David Kelly, 15 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange Death of David Kelly (Paperback)
This book gives hitherto unknown details of the facts leading up to the death of Dr.Kelly, and of the shambolic and very unsatisfactory way his death was investigated. Geoff Hoon and Blair seem complicit in attempting - and succeeding - in a cover up. There are many questions which were not asked and it seems to me that is high time for a thorough investigation into the circumstances of this man's death. I became convinced that his death was not suicide, Dr. Kelly deserves better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Strange Death of David Kelly
The Strange Death of David Kelly by Norman Baker (Paperback - 8 Oct 2007)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews