Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

  • Elmer
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars159
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2002
Elmer by David McKee is an extremely amusing, colourful book with a lovely moral to it. It tells the story of a multi-coloured elephant who, for once in his life, wants to mingle with the rest of his herd and be like all the others. When he does this he finds out what his true purpose is in life and that is to make the other elephants happy. A lovely story to read to a child and enjoyable for adults too.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2001
All the Elmer books are brilliant. This is the first in the series. Elmer is a lovable elephant, who likes to play jokes on the other elephants. Once read you will fall in love with Elmer, and just have to read the other books.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
You can't go wrong in getting a book by David McKee, Elmer is a quarter of a century old, plus the author created Mr Ben a well loved character that loved going to a fancy dress shop. You could do your kids a favour buy this book and start them on a wonderful journey of discovery with Elmer the best colourful patchwork elephant you could ever get to know.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2007
I read this book when i was 7, i'm 21 now and still love it!!
It lets kids know that it's ok to be different.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
If I'd known this was the American version I wouldn't have bought it. Having words spelt incorrectly on most pages is not what I wanted for my son. Feel cheated by Amazon and have brought it to their attention so nobody else is disappointed!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
The book is really colourful and has a funny story. It offers the chance to play with voices while reading it to your child. Also a great opportunity to learn about colours and about humour. A great starting point for drawing projects. it can teach a child about the fact that there's no point in being sad, humour can make everyone relax.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
Love this book, I used it for my college interview for child care a few years ago. It's full of bright colours and illustrations with a really thoughtful meaning, great for helping children learn to just be themselves and that they're perfect the way they are! Will definitely buy the Elmer books when I have children :)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2008
Elmer the colourful elephant is made to feel ashamed for his differences, and covers his `true colours', as he is dazzling a patchwork of colours instead of being grey. In order to blend in, Elmer paints himself grey, but sooner after the other elephants literally see through his disguise as it washes off in front of them. Elmer is ridiculed, but it isn't long before they all see the errors of their ways and decide to celebrate his rainbow colours by decorating themselves in a similar fashion to Elmer.

For Reception, and Years ! and 2, the book raises points on key subjects such as cultural differences and acceptance of others values. It was used at [Primary School] as part of KS1 themed week, with art activities and hall displays. Through personally assisting with this themed week, I realised how many avenues books such as these can open up for a class.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2000
This book has got to be one of the best children's books ever; if you never read your child another book this has to be the exception. We all have our 'faults' and no one knows them quite as well as we do or percieves them in the same way. This is true of Elmer, his fault is that he is patchwork, only Elmer really cares, the other elephants only know Elmer as the funny elephant and that's just how it should be. All children love this book because we all have our strengths and our weaknesses and want others to draw on our strengths. The most memorable book ever, as child and now as teacher, I'll share this book with everyone!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
Lovely book, great story - and not just for the kids! We are having it read at a celebration of our civil partnership/wedding.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.