Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book is Beautiful.
I am fifteen, and I picked up this book and was instantly drawn to it. The blurb presented me with a book that seemed both interesting and mature. I read the first pages and was encaptured in the majestic world of the boy, a world which is both magical and incredibly poignant.

I would recommend this book to anyone who's looking for something that is easy to...
Published on 11 Dec 2007 by Hattie Peachey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
Only disappointing because I had not considered that it would be a children's book - so probably great for them
Published 13 months ago by Joanna Buxton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book is Beautiful., 11 Dec 2007
This review is from: A Bridge to the Stars (Joel Gustafson Stories) (Paperback)
I am fifteen, and I picked up this book and was instantly drawn to it. The blurb presented me with a book that seemed both interesting and mature. I read the first pages and was encaptured in the majestic world of the boy, a world which is both magical and incredibly poignant.

I would recommend this book to anyone who's looking for something that is easy to read but still gives you a brilliant story with characters that give you insight into the complexities in mid 21st Century Europe and the horror that comes attached to losing your mother.

This is not a book that is by any means uninteresting but I would not recommend it to the under 12s.

I hope you enjoy this magical story and I know that it will stay ecased in your heart forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Henning Mankell - A Bridge to the Stars, 12 Dec 2005
By 
RachelWalker "RachelW" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Bridge to the Stars (Joel Gustafson Stories) (Paperback)
I was very interested to read this, one of several stories for children that Henning Mankell has written. Better known in England as a crime writer, these stories actually make up a significant part of his output.
And, from the evidence of A Bridge to the Stars, his stories for kids are just as good stories for kids as his crime novels are crime. Definitely, I would have enjoyed this as child/young teen. (Ideal age for this book? 9/11ish, I would say, but don't hold me to it.) Joel is an attractive character, his adventures in his town at night will, I imagine, be highly interesting and slightly magical for children to read. As are Joel's discovereies about himself and his family.
It's written in a style ideal for its audience, has an excellent, slightly offbeat story, and Joel exhibits a kind of
imagination that many children will find familiar. Not only that, but it says some rather touching and important things about growing up. Nothing that hasn't been said before, particularly, but said here in a way easily grasped. I recommend this. It is a potentially enchanting little read. (And not just for kids, either: any fans of Mankell will find this interesting and probably very enjoyable as well.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Henning Mankell - A Bridge to the Stars, 9 Dec 2005
By 
RachelWalker "RachelW" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Bridge to the Stars (Joel Gustafson Stories) (Paperback)
I was very interested to read this, one of several stories for children that Henning Mankell has written. Better known in England as a crime writer, these stories actually make up a significant part of his output.
And, from the evidence of A Bridge to the Stars, his stories for kids are just as good stories for kids as his crime novels are crime. Definitely, I would have enjoyed this as child/young teen. (Ideal age for this book? 9/11ish, I would say, but don't hold me to it.) Joel is an attractive character, his adventures in his town at night will, I imagine, be highly interesting and slightly magical for children to read. As are Joel's discovereies about himself and his family.
It's written in a style ideal for its audience, has an excellent, slightly offbeat story, and Joel exhibits a kind of
imagination that many children will find familiar. Not only that, but it says some rather touching and important things about growing up. Nothing that hasn't been said before, particularly, but said here in a way easily grasped. I recommend this. It is a potentially enchanting little read. (And not just for kids, either: any fans of Mankell will find this interesting and probably very enjoyable as well.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book for all ages, 11 Feb 2008
By 
Scully Bloke (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bridge to the Stars (Hardcover)
This is the first of 3 books on the life of Joel Gustafsson. Joel is 11 and lives with his father Samual after Jenny his mum left them as a child.

The story is of Joel coming to terms with his life, his family, his schooling and his friends.

Joel decides that he needs to see his village in a different light so he starts investigating it during the night time.

Here he meets new people, some friends and some not so friendly....

A book for all ages. Im 48 and I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swedish novel, 25 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Henning Mankell is one of today' greatest story tellers. In this novel he narrates from a young boy's life and you really feel you are seeing life through Joel's eyes. Mankell remains one of the best for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Special Story, 18 July 2011
By 
Sir Furboy (Aberystwyth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Joel is 11. Living is a small Swedish community, we are given priveleged access into his life and thoughts as he explores his world by night as well as by day. The characters he meets are intriguing - and sometimes not so nice.

The story quickly draws you in as Joel does some learning and growing up. I think the genre of this book is something like a coming of age story, but it can't be pigeon holed so easily. A good read for young adults and adults alike, that will keep you reading and then set you thinking.

The story is Swedish in orgin. The translation is just fine though, and the Swedish background adds considerably to the interest.

This will be on my recommended list for young adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joel's night-time mysteries, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Sabina (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was drawn to the setting of a small wintery town in Northern Sweden in the fifties, before I realised that this was a book for children. No matter, as it is such an enticing book. Eleven year old Joel lives with his father Samuel who is a lumberjack, and tells him evocative stories of his days as a sailor. Joel does not remember his mother who left when he was very young, but why she left is one of the unsolved mysteries. Joel thinks things through a lot, and like most children has a vivid imagination. He wakes one night, looks out of the window and sees the stars in the sky and a solitary dog in the street, which runs off suddenly and Joel decides it is on his way to a distant star. On subsequent nights, he gets out of bed secretly and goes out looking for the dog. Joel writes things down in his notebook, in code.
The nightly ruminations lead him to meet some of the town's unusual characters, and his adventures surprise him. Some are pleasant and some are not. As he learns about life, himself and others, he also tries to quiz his father as to why his mother left.

There is second story about Joel,- 'Shadows in the Twilight' . Both are an atmospheric read for children - and the adults who like to read a good children's story now and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Only disappointing because I had not considered that it would be a children's book - so probably great for them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating insight, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautifully written book, full of emotional highs & lows that can take you to the verge of tears & at the same time leave a wry smile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bridge to the Stars (Joel Gustafson Stories) (Paperback)
This is the first book of the four Joel Gustafson Stories written by Henning Mankell. It is a wonderful story for young pupils. We loved reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Bridge to the Stars (Joel Gustafson Stories)
A Bridge to the Stars (Joel Gustafson Stories) by Henning Mankell (Paperback - 1 Sep 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews