Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A proper vampire novel!
Now this is a proper novel about vampires - and they don't even make an appearance properly until later in the book. It's also a proper book about Venice, set during the end of the winter carnevale - approaching the start of Lent, when Venice becomes a masked city of revellers.

Marko, a doctor's son, comes to Venice after receiving a strange letter from his...
Published on 1 May 2009 by Annabel Gaskell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed, yet disappointed
I did seriously like this book, however it doesn't hold a torch to its predecessor, my Swordhand is singing, which i think is one of the best recent Gothic novels. the kiss of death doesn't quite bring all the strands together at the end, for example the final moments of the book where everything has been leading up to is a bit of an anticlimax also you are left slightly...
Published on 11 May 2010 by ADW Hall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A proper vampire novel!, 1 May 2009
By 
Annabel Gaskell "gaskella2" (Nr Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kiss of Death (Paperback)
Now this is a proper novel about vampires - and they don't even make an appearance properly until later in the book. It's also a proper book about Venice, set during the end of the winter carnevale - approaching the start of Lent, when Venice becomes a masked city of revellers.

Marko, a doctor's son, comes to Venice after receiving a strange letter from his father Alessandro, who had travelled there to attend an old friend Simono, a glassmaker, who was seriously ill. When he arrives, he finds his father has disappeared, Simono has gone mad and his daughter Sorrel is at the end of her tether, worried that her father will die and that their house is cursed.

Strange things are happening in and around Venice involving a band of celebrants with a strange tattoo.They will come to a head during the festival when the new Doge takes his seat, and it seems that Simono is somehow involved in these events. It becomes a race against time for Sorrel and Marko, (who as you may expect, begin to fall for each other) to solve the mystery and to find Alessandro.

This Gothic 18thC Venice in winter is wonderfully realised. You can smell the stench, hear the water constantly lapping on the piles, and feel the damp and gathering dread in the fog. It's also all the better for the vampires coming from Eastern Europe folklore, rather than any modern romantic interpretation. This is a sophisticated novel for teens and adults alike steeped in a sense of time and place, and a cracking good adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gothic novel for young and old, 18 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: The Kiss of Death (Hardcover)
This is the first Marcus Sedgwick book i have read and if all his books are as good as this one i can see me buying and reading everything else he writes.

The book opens with a mysterious letter written by the father of one of the main characters, Marko. This leads him to travel to Venice where he meets Sorrel and together they set out to try and save both their fathers. We meet many other characters in the book who each help or hinder the two main characters.

I must say that i really enjoyed all the descriptions and explanations which Marcus gives through the voices of Marko & Sorrel about Venice and its inhabitants. I also very much enjoyed all the action that goes on throughout the book.

I have to admit here that i actually sat down one morning just to see what this book was like fully intending to put it down and get ready for my day but i remained in my PJs all day just so i didn't have to put the book down!

I would say that this book is definately one for fans of Scott Lynch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric & Compelling, 15 July 2009
By 
Jenny, Wondrous Reads (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kiss of Death (Paperback)
The Kiss of Death is a vampire story with a difference. It's atmospheric and compelling, and combines an excellent writing style with an original plot.

Main characters Marko and Sorrel are well written, and are realistic and brave. The lengths they go to to find their missing fathers is admirable, and the dangers they face never slow them down. It's family loyalty at its best, and their unwavering love for their fathers is exactly how it should be.

The richly detailed Venice backdrop is unusual and brilliantly described, and I found it very easy to imagine the setting. From the buildings to the boats to the water, nothing is ignored. I especially liked the inclusion of a fairytale, and the extracts at the end of each part added an extra touch to the story. It was great to see a couple of familiar characters return, and for their journeys to be resolved.

The Kiss of Death is well worth a read, either as a standalone novel, or as a companion to My Swordhand is Singing. Marcus Sedgwick is one of the UK's best, and deserves more recognition than he gets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed, yet disappointed, 11 May 2010
By 
ADW Hall (North-East England (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kiss of Death (Paperback)
I did seriously like this book, however it doesn't hold a torch to its predecessor, my Swordhand is singing, which i think is one of the best recent Gothic novels. the kiss of death doesn't quite bring all the strands together at the end, for example the final moments of the book where everything has been leading up to is a bit of an anticlimax also you are left slightly dissatisfied with the completion of the story, for example it is never explained what happened to the shadow queens son. all in all, although an highly enjoyable read you will be disappointed at the end, it is a good book, yet it could have been so much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great sequel, 6 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kiss of Death (Hardcover)
A spooky and scary sequel to My Sword Hand is Singing - not quite as good perhaps but it'll keep you turning the pages, and satisfactorily ties up some loose ends from the previous book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LOUSY ENDING, 7 Sept. 2009
By 
S. ROVELLI - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kiss of Death (Paperback)
I bought the book 'cos I'd read others by the same author (Floodland, The dark flight down, The book of dead days, etc) and expected this one to live up to its name....sadly, it let me down towards the end.
The build up was great, the story had me going and I was reading as much as I possibly could to find out what would happen; but it just ended all of a sudden....I mean, this man has been waiting to kill this evil woman all his life and within 10 lines....she's dead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kiss of Death
The Kiss of Death by Marcus Sedgwick (Paperback - 2 April 2009)
£6.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews