Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Sally Gardner does history the way it should be done -- as a thrilling story opening out while you read. It's not worthy or cute, and the magic helps the story race along. You feel like you're right in the middle of the French Revolution with the action spinning around you. Great read.
Published on 23 Feb 2009 by bigdaddy

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Careful if you want the Tom Hiddleston audio book
If you order the audio book please be very careful as there seems to be more than one version of the audio book available. I wanted the version with Tom Hiddleston for my sister as she is a major fan and was disappointed when the version that arrived was narrated by Zoe-Anne Phillips. I'm sure she is an excellent narrator but I only ordered this book as I thought Mr...
Published 3 months ago by Karen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, 23 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Red Necklace (Paperback)
Sally Gardner does history the way it should be done -- as a thrilling story opening out while you read. It's not worthy or cute, and the magic helps the story race along. You feel like you're right in the middle of the French Revolution with the action spinning around you. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!!, 7 Oct 2007
By 
Nigel Carrington (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Red Necklace (Hardcover)
The Red Necklace is a fantastic book set during the French Revolution. It tells a story of magic, love and intriguing twists. The writing style is incredibly clear and descriptive, and the ideas and plot-line are absolutely fascinating! The historical facts are accurate and spectacularly written.
A truly magical book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Careful if you want the Tom Hiddleston audio book, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Necklace (Audio CD)
If you order the audio book please be very careful as there seems to be more than one version of the audio book available. I wanted the version with Tom Hiddleston for my sister as she is a major fan and was disappointed when the version that arrived was narrated by Zoe-Anne Phillips. I'm sure she is an excellent narrator but I only ordered this book as I thought Mr Hiddleston would be the narrator and it would have been a brilliant surprise for my sisters birthday............so if like me you are trying to buy this for a Hiddleston fan please be very careful to check who the narrator is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 3 April 2010
By 
TheLittleRedPostBox (England, Under A Blue Moon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Red Necklace (Paperback)
I was first put onto this author after a friend let me borrow I, Coriander, and liking that one, sought out more by Sally Gardner. I am now sooooo grateful to that friend! ;) The Red Necklace tells a tale of the bloody French Revolution, and follows two heroic characters: Yann, a mysterious gypsy boy in a travelling companny, and Sido, the unloved daughter of her cruel, aristocratic father, a French nobleman.

Beautifully written, the plot gathers pace until you can't turn the pages quick enough. The dark Count will do anything to stop Yann in his quest...

A wonderful story of the French Revolution in all its glory and darkness, and with a sweet love interest, too, this is definitely well worth the read! The sequel is called The Silver Blade - equally amazing :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Corker, 20 Sep 2009
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Red Necklace (Paperback)
Set in the French Revolution, Sally's offering really will capture the imagination of the reader as they seek to unravel the mystery within, wonderfully picturesque in the descriptiveness it really will enthuse the reader as the author works her magic. If your YA loves historical adventure, loves a good mystery and above all really wants an author that will present everything tied up in one epic adventure then this is the book for you. An absolute corker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and enthralling, 13 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Necklace (Paperback)
I stumbled across this book after watching the avengers and realising Tom Hiddleston talents for characters and voices. I listened to a small snippet of the audiobook and I ell in love. The book is cleverly simple. Count Kalliovsky is evil. Yann is a fantastic character full of heart and soul it captures the innocence of young love and flourishing adult hood. The magic is the key that ties it all together. It is in turns passionate, funny, sad and hearrt wrenchingly lovely.

A fantastic book to be enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Red necklace, 18 May 2009
By 
Loretta Stowell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Red Necklace (Hardcover)
The red neclace is an excellent work of childrens literature. My 12 year old daughter loved it as did I. This is what I've been looking for to coax her away from trashy 'teenage' novels. Beautifully written. Suspence, mystery, romance and a well rounded historical portrait of the french revolution. Reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 11 Dec 2008
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Red Necklace (Hardcover)
THE RED NECKLACE is a fascinating tale of the French Revolution, the story of Yann, a gypsy boy, and Sido, the daughter of a Marquis. As fate would have it, their histories are intertwined in a way that both need the other if they are to have any hope of surviving the bloodbath of the Revolution.

Gardner's thorough research and grasp of the zeitgeist is apparent. The power of gypsy magic was a well-accepted fact of the time period and the inclusion of the paranormal does not distract from the historical context of the novel, but actually adds to the dangerous and unpredictable atmosphere of the times. Dialogue between the aristocracy could have been more sophisticated to better illustrate the principles of the Revolution, but Gardner does an overall excellent job of depicting the Reign of Terror.

The night that Yann and Sido first meet, Yann is working as a magician's apprentice, putting on a show for the Marquis and other members of the French aristocracy, including the sinister Count Kalliovski. When the magician is murdered by Kalliovski, Sido shows unexpected courage in helping Yann escape a similar fate.

Years pass before Yann has a chance to repay the favor. Sido, like all French aristocracy, is in danger of the raging passions from the hoi polloi, and also from an impending marriage to Count Kalliovski, a fate that is perhaps worse than death. Can Yann rescue Sido from both the guillotine and one of the most merciless men on the planet?

Gardner is successful in crafting a strong hero in Yann, though Sido is at times a frustratingly passive damsel in distress. However, she does have rare moments where she manages to redeem herself and display heroine potential.

The Marquis de Villeduval, Sido's father, is an utterly despicable - if somewhat flat - character with nary a redeeming quality. Count Kalliovski is a wonderfully constructed villain, with danger and power augmenting his every action, and an open-end that allows him to return with a vengeance in THE SILVER BLADE, Gardner's follow-up, detailing the height of the Reign of Terror.

Reviewed by: Amber Gibson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great writing, 29 April 2008
By 
ML Jensen (Bath, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Necklace (Hardcover)
The Red Necklace is a darker subject than I, Coriander, and not the same kind of dreamy read, but in my opinion few of today's children's authors write as well as Sally Gardner. There is a gallery of unforgettable characters and you really care what happens to the two main characters, Sido and Jan. As in I, Coriander, a historical tale is woven in with fantasy elements which makes this book a most unusual read. I really recommend it to the over 12s - and adults!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the narrator I was looking for, 2 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Necklace (Audio CD)
That's not the book's fault, but I did not realize that the edition I thought I was purchasing was not available to me in the US. This is a different narrator, who does a competent job... just not what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Red Necklace
The Red Necklace by Sally Gardner (Paperback - 7 Jan 2010)
6.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews