Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Beggar of Volubilis, 18 Oct 2007
By 
Boudicca (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
The Beggar of Volubilis is so far, the best Roman Mysteries book. All the new charachters are so exciting and enjoyable to read about. At every end of every chapter there is a very exciting cliff-hanger that leaves you wanting to read the next page even more. The book includes wonderful descriptions of the cities, the Mediterranean and the hot, dry desert, where the book is mainly set. Every page is breath-taking and leaves you guessing till the end. Overall, the Beggar of Volubilis is a very descriptive, moving and humourous book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendiferous, 21 Oct 2007
This brilliant book is the latest in the fabulous Roman Mysteries series, and I would say the most exciting yet.

In this book the four friends - Flavia , Jonathan, Nubia, and Lupus - travel to Africa and discover the country that Nubia tries to forget. On their way they meet with pantomime actors, siblings of the Emperor and many other wonderfully interesting characters.

Read The Beggar of Volubilis to find out who asks for Flavia's hand in marriage and who gets lost in a desert of mirages. Read it most of all to be swept along in an exciting adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 22 Mar 2008
By 
Yusra "Yusra" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beggar of Volubilis: Roman Mystery 14 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES) (Paperback)
The Beggar from Volubilis is yet another mystery thriller from Caroline Lawrence. This novel, just like the other books in this series, turned out to be amazing. The four friends, Flavia, Nubia, Lupus and Jonathan sail to the exotic land of Africa, on a search for Nero's Eye at the request of Emperor Titus. Their quest takes them from city to city, and town to town in Africa. They face pantomime dancers, slave dealers and wild animals in order to find Nero's Eye. In this book, many historical figures are introduced to the readers and we learn a lot about them. This is a great read for readers of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and Exotic, 20 Oct 2007
Does what it says in the title. Exciting from beginning to end, matching physical tension with emotional suspense. And Exotic in its setting in the deserts and cities of North Africa in Roman times.
The four friends are yet again on a voyage of discovery to different place, as they search for a jewel Emperor Titus desperately wants.
My favourite inclusion in this Roman Mystery was the pantomime characters, giving a sense of ancient life not explored in the books before. But also the lack of communication in the empire, where some people still didn't know the last emporer had died!
All in all, this mystery, partly due to Flavia's dramatic decision at the end of the book, is one of my favourites yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Floppy!!!, 15 Nov 2007
This, it must be said, is an amazing book.

I love the way that, floppy, falls in love with a girl loads younger than himself!!!

In this 14th book, Flavia and friends travel to Africa, Nubia's home land. Well... They have the task of stealing a valuable jewel for Titus; but not everything goes to plan!!! Mean Lupus the Actor!!! The only thing that I could possible critisise, is J's part, and Flavia's father!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Beggar, 20 Oct 2007
The most exotic mystery so far, living up to to every expectation and also going further. Set in North Africa, with the four children travelling with a caravan of actors. The stage is set for a great mystery every page makes you want to read more (i could n't put the book down). Will the children solve it......? Will anything happen to them...? Read it and find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
This review is from: The Beggar of Volubilis: Roman Mystery 14 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES) (Paperback)
Fantastic series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jun 2014
By 
lynda scott (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beggar of Volubilis: Roman Mystery 14 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES) (Paperback)
We love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beggar of Volubilis: Roman Mystery 14 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES) (Paperback)
My daughter adored this series and knows more than me about the Romans and all other ancient civilizations now. A real good read for a child. Amusing her, she read it many times over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star's, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this star rating because I met caroline Lawrence and I thought she was an amazing author . She is inspiring me to learn more about the Romans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beggar of Volubilis: Roman Mystery 14 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES)
The Beggar of Volubilis: Roman Mystery 14 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES) by Caroline Lawrence (Paperback - 7 Feb 2008)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews