Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure for Logophiliacs!, 14 July 2008
This review is from: The Scribes from Alexandria: Roman Mystery 15 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES) (Hardcover)
Puzzling riddles, clever anagrams, and hidden meanings in names make this one of Caroline Lawrence's most fun-filled additions to her popular Roman Mysteries series!

As with all her books in the series, The Scribes from Alexandria offers us a glimpse into the ancient world -- this time finding our dauntless detectrix, Flavia Gemina, traveling through Egypt, hot on the trail of a runaway scribe from the famous Library of Alexandria.

Caroline Lawrence even provides an accompanying, illustrated "Latin Alphabet in Hieroglyphs" so that you can try your hand at being a scribe by writing your own name in ancient Egyptian style.

This book is another triumph for Caroline Lawrence -- and another joy for her readers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Scribes From Alexandria, 21 Dec 2008
By 
Boudicca (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
The Scribes from Alexandria is another beautifully written book by Caroline Lawrence - the fifteenth in the Roman Mysteries. Set in Egypt, Flavia Gemina is once again solving a mystery : on the trail of a runaway scribe. The book also includes a heiroglyphic chart.The plot is full of wonderful cliff-hangers, twists and turns. It is also very imformative about Ancient Egypt. Buy this book if you love the Roman Mysteries or want to learn about ancient history. A joy to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why isn't this a modern classic!!!!!!!!!!!???, 24 Jun 2008
This review is from: The Scribes from Alexandria: Roman Mystery 15 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES) (Hardcover)
Another excellent book from caroline lawrence.It captures a sense of a differnt egypt without the Pharoes whilst still going back to ancient history. The plot is full of its fantastic twists and turns. IF you are intrested in ancient egypt or just love fantastic novels read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 27 Jun 2014
By 
lynda scott (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
These stories are so exciting,and fill a big gap for this age-group.
Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roman Mysteries, 4 Mar 2014
This was such a good book! Croline Lawrence came intoy school to give lecture on how to write books, it was imspirtional!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scribes of Alexandria, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Justin Mullins (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This book is so far the best of the Roman mysteries series yet,
and Caroline has been very clever with the whole scribe theme.
Amazing, about to go and read the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'These Egyptians are crazy!' (and cool), 10 Feb 2014
One of my favourites, this is one for all who love Egypt. Despite not having an actual mystery in my books, Scribes makes up for it by the riddles, which, I am very proud to say, could actually solve. (Just one, but I'm bad at riddles.) The scenes with Nubia and Chryses were cute, the new characters were fun and likable, and the ending was hilarious. As Jonathan would say 'these Egyptians are crazy'. I loved Lawrence's continued attention to detail and how Egypt came to life, and her tour around Alexandria. Those who like Rome, kid detectives and Egypt under Roman rule will like it, but perhaps read the previous books to get some background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter adored this series and knows more than me about the Romans and all other ancient civilizations now. A real good read for a child. Amusing her, she read it many times over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Scribes from Alexandria, 5 Jun 2011
By 
Susan Purkiss "Sue Purkiss" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first Caroline Lawrence book I've read, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The characters are engaging - I particularly liked the scribes - and the story moves along at a good lick: but what I most enjoyed was the way it takes you right into a far-distant world. CL seems to be completely at ease here; every detail rings true. Am full of admiration for the amount of research she must have done, and the ease with which the book wears it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 15 and still being the best, 2 July 2008
By 
M. Osullivan-day "M booky" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Scribes from Alexandria: Roman Mystery 15 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES) (Hardcover)
This book is the 15th in the roman mystery series and yet it's still better than ever. I love this book and I've read all of them in the series. I even want to change time and get the next book. I love the books sooooooo much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Scribes from Alexandria: Roman Mystery 15 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES)
The Scribes from Alexandria: Roman Mystery 15 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES) by Caroline Lawrence (Hardcover - 26 Jun 2008)
8.20
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews