Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I would heartily recommend this to any parent
This was bought for my 7-year old son a few months ago with a view to encouraging him to start reading for himself. This definitely did the trick. He's now read all of the Horrid Henry books, all of Dav Pilkey's Captain Underpants books and started reading 'Goosebumps' books. This has taken just a few months from him showing little interest in reading fiction to himself...
Published on 15 Aug. 2006 by Mike J. Wheeler

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Children
This is a good read for the children, some who like this character anyway. I have seen the cartoon & the film & he's very funny. popular
Published 22 months ago by May B


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 22 Sept. 2014
Bought as very good condition , the book is in very poor condition , only fit for the bin. !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read for little kids, 16 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Horrid Henry's Big Bad Book: Ten Favourite Stories - and more! (Hardcover)
Bought this for my grandson who is into his second year at school - just to show him that being good all the time isn't always the best fun. There are always bits in life that you can throw your hands in the air, jump around and make a noise about. He agreed with me - it was great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love henry, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My 6 yr old grandson loves this book, definitely a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My daughter loves it, 20 Jan. 2015
By 
Mrs. Z Macdonald "Zoe Mac" (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horrid Henry's Big Bad Book: Ten Favourite Stories - and more! (Hardcover)
A nice book in hardback which will last for years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My granddaughter is very happy with her present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Horrible Indeed, 10 Sept. 2009
By 
ladywebslinger (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Horrid Henry's Big Bad Book: Ten Favourite Stories - and more! (Hardcover)
I can understand why children would love these books - its a slugs and snails kind of take on childhood which children love, but, as a parent, I find the stories vile.

In case you aren't familiar with the stories the author names all the characters using alliteration and caricature to depict the worst aspects of childhood traits, so we have Moody Margaret, Horrid Henry and Sour Susan, among others. I'm afraid reducing children to caricatures in this way simply doesn't work for me. I'm not saying all portrayals of childhood should be all sweetness and light, like Milly, Molly, Mandy, but there is no humanity or joy here - and nothing approaching the understanding of childhood feelings so wonderfully put across by writers like Roald Dahl.

I'd also add that I've noticed my daughter plays up much more after listening to her Horrid Henry CDs; I'm tempted, in fact, to wang them in the bin. I hate to be so disparaging of a set of books, but really, the negativity depicted in these makes me feel like being, well, horrid, to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
grandson loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars horrid henry's big bad book, 12 Jan. 2012
i bought this book for my grandson aged 7 based on comments / reviews i had seen. it certainly has done the trick. for a boy normally consumed by dvd's and childrens tv this has got him reading. its not a quick fix but with input from me and parents he wants to read and this looks as though it will capture his imagination sufficiently to carry on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Horrid Henry's Big Bad Book: Ten Favourite Stories - and more!
Horrid Henry's Big Bad Book: Ten Favourite Stories - and more! by Francesca Simon (Hardcover - 21 Oct. 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews