Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant.
The main charcters in this book are fifteen - year old Danny and his mother Cathy. Cathy is white, while Danny is mixed race. (His mother became pregnant a sixteen with him by a black man named Des who is introduced later on). In the beginning they both run away from Cathy's violent and abusive boyfriend Chris Kane to Cathy's Northern hometown, Edgecliff. When they...
Published on 3 Aug 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Book in poor condition
Having bought many books from amazon over the years, this is the one in worst condition. Seller did not state it had been a Library book. The book was tatty and my pupils barely want to hold it, never mind read it. Should have returned it, had a pupil not needed it immediately.
Published 6 months ago by Vovvarna


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant., 3 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Edge (Paperback)
The main charcters in this book are fifteen - year old Danny and his mother Cathy. Cathy is white, while Danny is mixed race. (His mother became pregnant a sixteen with him by a black man named Des who is introduced later on). In the beginning they both run away from Cathy's violent and abusive boyfriend Chris Kane to Cathy's Northern hometown, Edgecliff. When they arrive, they are made to feel unwelcome by Cathy's father who disapproves of mixed - race relationships and regards Danny as a 'mistake'. Elsewhere in the town, racism is a major issue and Danny starts to find himself in complicated webs; especially when he starts the local high school. And then Chris starts to track them down...
This book is FANTASTIC. Its characters are well-formed and fully believable, its plot is meaty yet easy to follow and it is consistently fast paced and exciting, which is rare. It investigates the capacities of humans for love, emotion, violence, prejudice and stereotypical behaviour amazingly well, and allows further expression for the different characters's views as the book is told in mini - sections, each titled with the name of the character concerned. Congratulations to Alan Gibbons for writing such an excellent book that in my opinion should win every award going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping Novel and a Great Read, 28 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Edge (Paperback)
`The Edge' is an enticing novel covering some of the main modern day issues and concerns such as domestic violence, single parenting, drugs, psychotic disorders and racism. The author uses short, sharp sentences to give a sense of a hurried and rushed opening to the book. The story is written by Alan Gibbons and is in a multi-narrative form which means that different characters can convey their different emotions about the same parts of the story. This is an unusual technique and it is very difficult to write in this way because you have to understand the characters yourself and also understand their emotions in order to express their feelings through yourself as the author. Alan Gibbons has done this very successfully because his technique gives you an insight into their previous lives, however, meeting Chris Kane, Cathy is not `allowed' a past because Chris thinks he is her past, present and future but she still refers back to her youth when he's not around. Cathy is not the main character in this story but she does give us some information about the way Chris behaved before the beginning of the book. You might be thinking that Chris Kane is the main character in the book, he does have a large part in the book but Cathy's son, Danny, is the main character. He is living with his mother and her ex-boyfriend who still loves her and will not let her go. In this novel Cathy is escaping from her deluded, `abusive' and extremely `possessive' ex-partner with Danny and they are venturing out of London to stay with Cathy's parents.

The characters in this novel have very different personalities because Danny is a traumatised, `insecure' and an `abused' teenager; Cathy is low in self-esteem, damaged but independent and Chris is a `psychotic', antisocial `animal'.

The tension builds and builds until it is finally released as a massive shock to all the readers so you will just have to find out what happens for yourselves!

For ages 12+

Rating 8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My review of The Edge by Alan Gibbons., 29 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Edge (Paperback)
I found this book to be one of the best I have ever read.
It kept me interested, intrigued and constantly wanting to find out what happened next. The book is set out as if it were a diary, each chapter being split up into each characters entry for that particular day.
The characters are well portrayed and each of the them show very different personalities but all coming together in the end, giving a dramatic scene and climax to the novel, sorting out the bad from the good.
I found the book carefully and perfectly written the whole way throughout; and I feel that other readers will think the same.
As this is the first book I have read by this particular author it definitely made me want to read other books and set a very good example.
An excellent book by an excellent author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Edge (Cascades) (Hardcover)
Only bought this book because my 13 year old daughter was reading it at school and the author was coming in for a talk and book signing. So glad I did, so far she's read it twice, it's also been read by her Dad and myself soon to be passed on to her Nan. This book can be read by all ages from (12 +)
So easy to read, story kept you wondering what was going to happen next. Was the first book that my daughter really felt for the characters and questioned the racist language - Alan Gibbons is a good writer. We are looking into his other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars really liked this book, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Edge (Kindle Edition)
I bought this for my children's literature module at uni. Although some of the themes in the book are difficult the author handles them very well. I like the way that the book is laid out from each characters perspective and the way that their ideas are formed and changed throughout. Really good book with a real insight into some harder issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Book in poor condition, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Vovvarna (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Edge (Paperback)
Having bought many books from amazon over the years, this is the one in worst condition. Seller did not state it had been a Library book. The book was tatty and my pupils barely want to hold it, never mind read it. Should have returned it, had a pupil not needed it immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of a kind, 8 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Edge (Kindle Edition)
great book which honestly i coulnt keep down. Outstanding bookk which built up tension perfectly. His best work yet as tension was cr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 29 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Edge (Paperback)
From the first page you are gripped, straight away you are hooked into this fast moving story - couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Edge (Kindle Edition)
This book had made me want to just keep reading, it was really interesting and I had not thought even once about not finishing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 5 Jun 2006
This review is from: The Edge (Paperback)
`We've got to go!'

These are the first words Danny hears in the morning from his mum. They are running away from her boyfriend, Chris, who is violent and cruel to them. They are very close to getting caught but manage to get away, but Chris isn't giving up without a fight. When he finds a simple page from an old newspaper about where they've gone he's got them cornered and there's no way out. But thanks to Cathy's dad who saves the day putting his life at risk for there's.

This book is a very tense book and makes you want to read on and on to see if Chris will ever find them or if they get away from him forever.

The book is not written in chapters but where each person writes there thoughts at a time which I really enjoy reading as it makes a difference from your everyday book.

I would not change one bit of this book as I just loved every one of the 192 pages in this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Edge
The Edge by Alan Gibbons (Paperback - 3 May 2007)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews