Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from Bekki aged 8
After reading The Thieves of Ostia, I thought The Secrets of Vesuvius was amazing. It was AD79. Flavia and her friends Jonathan, Nubia and Lupus go to stay with Uncle Giaus near Pompeii in August. BIG MISTAKE! Vesuvius is about to erupt and everyone is in MORTAL DANGER!*!*! Join them on a breathtaking adventure. I would recommend the Secrets of Vesuvius for readers aged...
Published on 24 Feb 2005

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Roman mysteries
I found this book very boring an I never finished it. I would not read any more of these ever.
Published 13 months ago by Barry howsego


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from Bekki aged 8, 24 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Secrets of Vesuvius: Roman Mysteries 2 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES) (Paperback)
After reading The Thieves of Ostia, I thought The Secrets of Vesuvius was amazing. It was AD79. Flavia and her friends Jonathan, Nubia and Lupus go to stay with Uncle Giaus near Pompeii in August. BIG MISTAKE! Vesuvius is about to erupt and everyone is in MORTAL DANGER!*!*! Join them on a breathtaking adventure. I would recommend the Secrets of Vesuvius for readers aged 8 or older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful way to get kids interested in reading and Romans - and I thoroughly enjoyed it too, 25 Mar 2012
By 
Kate (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secrets of Vesuvius: Roman Mysteries 2 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES) (Paperback)
I tend to approach Young Adult or Children's literature in the same way that I do any other book, with an open mind and an excited sense of anticipation. Just as a good animation film should deliver treats for all its viewers, regardless of their ages, so a well-written book, ostensibly aimed at younger readers, is more than likely to contain some goodies for the less young reader. I would never like to think of myself as an Old Adult...

And so when a writer I hugely respect, Ben Kane, recommended Caroline Lawrence's Roman Mysteries to me, I snapped one up. Specifically, the second one, The Secrets of Vesuvius. It has Pompeii under volcanic attack in it - big selling point for me. Throw in some Pliny and there was no way I was about to start this series anywhere else.

The Secrets of Vesuvius continues the adventures of a group of children who are drawn from all reaches of the empire, led by the constantly curious, mystery-seeking Flavia, who lives in Ostia with a well-heeled Roman father. Her constant companions are Jonathan (a Jewish Christian), Nubia (a rescued slave and orphan from the Nubian desert) and Lupus (a mysterious, brave Greek boy whose tongue has been cut from him). With them they have an assortment of dogs, led by Flavia's Scuto, who seems to get into even more mischief than his young mistress. And then there is Miriam, Jonathan's beautiful and very marriageable older sister (she's reached the ripe old age of 14).

As the book opens, Lupus saves a floundering tubby drowning man who turns out to be the Admiral of the Roman Fleet, Pliny the Elder. Fortunately, along with his life, the youngsters also save his precious writings and, for both, the kids are rewarded with special, personalised gifts. Flavia's is a riddle from Pompeii. If she can identify the riddle and seek out the blacksmith Vulcan, there will be treasure. Just as well, then, that the whole group (as well as Pliny) is off to Pompeii to stay with Uncle Gaius. A shame, though, that they picked August AD79.

I'll say no more about the plot, which has some very pleasing twists and turns as the children (and their dogs) get tangled up in a mix of red herrings, hounds and love. Yes, love is in the air for one of the party. However, one can hardly ignore the fact that the great mountain that dominates these towns is about to blow its top and, as reality hits, there is a very strong menace of danger.

The narrative is mixed with all kinds of details that appealed to me. Jonathan's father is a doctor and we learn about 1st century AD medicine just as we also learn, in an admirably unobtrusive fashion, something of early Christianity - both its practice and its standing in the pagan world. Pliny is a delight. I have read a fair amount about Pliny and his attempted rescue of victims of Vesuvius and the details here ring very true. Caroline Lawrence clearly knows her history but, possibly even more importantly, she conveys this knowledge with an accessible and fascinating slight of hand.

Children are in good hands with the Roman Mysteries series. Such books are so important in a child's progression towards a love and appreciation of the history around them and further afield. As we get a little older, one recognises that there is still so much to learn and a book such as this is not only a lot of fun it lights sparks.

I should also point out that I read Secrets of Vesuvius in a day. I could not put it down. I've already snapped up the next, Pirates of Pompeii.

There are quite a bunch of books in this series, not to mention a couple of television series you can buy on DVD. All of the details and more about the characters and their world can be found at the fun Roman Mysteries website. I also recommend Caroline's blog ([...]), which contains some revealing insights into her research for the novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lavaly sequel to Thieves of Ostia!, 7 July 2002
By 
simon scarrow (Norwich, Norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Caroline Lawrence's second mystery is even better than the first, and provides a fast paced adventure through the Bay of Naples on the eve of the eruption of Vesuvius. Flavia and pals have their characters fleshed out and we get to meet Pliny the elder in the pursuit of another small scale mystery. And once the earth begins to tremble the remainder of the book is a frightening, beautifully described account of the massive eruption that wiped out several towns and communities at the foot of the volcano.
My only regret at finishing this book is that it was not longer, since I it is so easy to get immersed in Flavia Gemina's world. She is a wonderful heroine, who responds feelingly to the condition of those about her, and grown up as I am (sort of), I was moved by this book. About to dive into the next one - report back to you soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was a exciting historical fiction book, 20 Mar 2002
By A Customer
While at the beach in 79B.C. Flavia Gemina sees a sinking boat and rescues the sailor. The sailor turns out to be the famous Admiral Pliny. For saving him he thanks Flavia and her friends by telling them a riddle that the blacksmith Vulcan told him. It leads her on a great adventure. She sails to the bay of Naples to visit her Uncle Gaius still trying to figure out what this riddle is. But while staying there something horrible happens in Pompeii. Will Flavia discover the real meaning of the riddle? What will happen at Pompeii? Will she get back to her home in Ostia? I would recommend this book to people who like mysteries with a bit of historical facts. This book would also be right for you if you think suspenseful books are exciting. I enjoyed how you never knew what would happen next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overwhelmed and Obsessed Flavia Fan, 2 Dec 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One Brave, Beautiful, and Sassy Heroine, a model for any teenage wannabe detective, with friends we all want to have in real life, Flavia sets out again to solve another exciting and terrifying adventure, here Flavia and her friend's loyalties will be put to the most incredible extremes. Can they solve the Riddle to find Pliny's treasure? And when confronted with the Truth, can their friendship withstand the earth shattering consequences.... This sequel to the Thieves of Ostia is a true Masterpiece. Delicious description, rip roaring adventure, spine tingling scary bits, puppies, jokes, a volcano and some romance, this truly is the best way to spend those cosy moments in literature land and learn your Classics and Latin homework at the same time! You just won't be able to put this down. Miss it, and you've definitely missed out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book ROXs for young teens, 21 Jun 2002
Lightning-fast plot, heart-pounding adventure, and thrilling secrets are magic in The Secrets of Vesuvius by Caroline Lawrence!
The four main characters - Flavia, Nubia, Jonathan, and Lupus - are stranded on an Island at the farm of Flavia`s uncle Gaius with Mt. Vesuvius threatening to erupt with molten lava pouring down on the city.
Problem? No one knows it! It`s a world where animals start behaving strangly and even die, and earthquakes jar the land! Will they survive? Read this Thrilling adventure to find out!
Adventure lovers will love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On behalf of my daughter...., 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secrets of Vesuvius: Roman Mysteries 2 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES) (Paperback)
She was really happy when it appeared through the letter box (well packaged of course and it arrived a couple of days later) and she is over the moon with the book/story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captivated, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secrets of Vesuvius: Roman Mysteries 2 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES) (Paperback)
Book 2 in the Roman Mysteries series and very well written. You are through the book in no time and wanting to read the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this book to 9+. I liked this book a lot especially the bit about the volcano erupting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good story, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secrets of Vesuvius: Roman Mysteries 2 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES) (Paperback)
A good story and the children enjoy hearing about Roman life and the volcano. A little out dated in some places with some slight editing needed to read to younger children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Secrets of Vesuvius: Roman Mysteries 2 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES)
The Secrets of Vesuvius: Roman Mysteries 2 (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES) by Caroline Lawrence (Paperback - 1 July 2002)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews