Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book.., 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory McEwen: The Colours of Reality (Paperback)
The first 50 pages contain an overivew of Rory McEwen's life with photos, and three or four examples of his collages, but the rest of the book is dedicated to his botanical work. It is a beautiful book for anyone interested in botanical art, whether you like to simply look at it, or like me, like to draw and paint botanical subjects yourself. Well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a botanical artist under Rory McEwen's influence, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an exquisite book!
I was enchanted when I found out that a book about Rory McEwen was going to be published and I am delighted with the result.
When I first saw Rory McEwen's work- a small painting of a Ginkgo leaf- he instantly became an influence on my work and an everlasting inspiration. I always imagined this little leaf had held together long enough for Rory McEwen to finish the painting and then it had fallen to the floor and shattered like glass at his feet. Rory McEwen was not copying nature and he wasn't enhancing it either. He was just translating it for us, showing its beauty in a simple, pure form.
This book has captured the spirit of Rory McEwen's work beautifully and put together this collection with the same passion that animated the artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating person, beautiful illustrations!, 10 Oct 2013
By 
M. M. Johnson (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory McEwen: The Colours of Reality (Paperback)
This book gives a good overview of Rory McEwen's life and work, but the real treats are the many reproductions of his hyper-realistic paintings of botanical subjects. I like the inclusion of enlarged details alongside the prints. There is also a section of illustrations of works by other botanical artists who have been inspired by McEwen's work. This will be a source of inspiration for botanical artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning and Inspirational art., 26 July 2013
By 
Mrs. C. Oliver (Brittany, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory McEwen: The Colours of Reality (Paperback)
Bought this after visiting exhibition of his work at Kew. The art work is amazing and wonderfully reproduced. The story of his life was so interesting. I had known of his musical talent but had no idea he was associated with so many musical legends. A book I will treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure heaven, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is lovely. It has informed me about the man and the artist. His daughters who are responsible for its publication should be very proud not just of their talented and amazing father, but of themselves for this book. It is such an honour to be able to share such information about Rory McEwen, as well as see so many examples of his work, how I wish I could have met him. His work is all consuming as you study it, and feels like a direct link to the man himself, almost like he is looking back at you. I am learning so much as well as enjoying so much. I will be going to see the exhibition of his work currently on show at Kew. Thank you so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rory McEwen The Colours of Reality, 9 Jun 2013
By 
G. Hanson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory McEwen: The Colours of Reality (Paperback)
Would have given a 10 star rating first class in every way. Don't think about buying this book just buy it you will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The multi-talented Rory McEwen., 11 Jun 2013
By 
J. M. Williamson "RAD" (Dundee, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory McEwen: The Colours of Reality (Paperback)
A book full of beautiful images and well reproduced. The biography is a delight to read and discover the other talents of Rory McEwen. Incredible value .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiration for all botanical artists, 5 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory McEwen: The Colours of Reality (Paperback)
This is a beautiful book with wonderful colour plates. It is truly inspirational if you are an aspiring botanical artist. His composition and use of space creates stunning studies. I love the dying leaves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He had amazing musical talent, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This man's life story is enthralling. Every time I go to pick it up in order to look through his paintings I get get caught up in his story. This book is about an incredibly talented, likeable human being. He had amazing musical talent, an interesting assortment of friends, many of whom are on the whose who of musical and literary lists, plus, he had an outstanding gift with the paintbrush and eye for detail that would be the envy of many artists. The testimonials presented at the end of the book endorse my sentiments and if anyone is interested in viewing fine artwork this book is an excellent example of artwork at its very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory McEwen: The Colours of Reality (Paperback)
I bought the book mainly for the colour reproductions of McEwens botanical paintings - I was not disappointed. Also an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rory McEwen: The Colours of Reality
Rory McEwen: The Colours of Reality by Martyn Rix (Paperback - 7 May 2013)
£25.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews