Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect guide for budding film-makers, 16 July 2012
This review is from: Short Films: Writing the Screenplay (Creative Essentials) (Paperback)
The perfect guide for any budding film-maker - as someone who usually writes prose this book was invaluable in terms of showing me how to adapt my writing style and teaching me what works and what doesn't when writing for film. The author's credentials - he is an award-winning writer, short filmmaker and on the selection panel of an Oscar-accredited film festival - mean his practical advice is also spot on. And it's also an excellent read! An ideal first stop for anyone who wants to write and direct a short film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 2 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Short Films: Writing the Screenplay (Creative Essentials) (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this - exactly what I was looking for. A comprehensive guide to writing for short film. Buy this book and you'll never need another. Easy to read, easy to understand and hits the marks every time with everything you need to know to write, develop, understand and evaluate your short script... Essential advice for me at the minute!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential read for anyone wanting to make a short film, 15 July 2012
This review is from: Short Films: Writing the Screenplay (Creative Essentials) (Paperback)
If you're thinking about making a short film then I'd definitely recommend you add this one to your library: Short Films: Writing the Screenplay (Creative Essentials). It's full of invaluable and common sense advice communicated in a simple easy to read style. Excellent. I wish they were all like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable writers' companion, 15 July 2012
This review is from: Short Films: Writing the Screenplay (Creative Essentials) (Paperback)
A must have guide for the aspiring screenplay writer, full of insight, wit and wisdom and presented in the most accessible language. The author, Patrick Nash,writes with the acquired knowledge and empathy of a gifted, hard working professional who has personally made the transition from enthusiastic film buff and festival insider to award winning screenplay writer. A wealth of insider knowledge and shared experience. As a creative writing facilitator and award winning screenplay writer myself, I can't recommend it too highly. Invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A short script 'must'. Plus an excellent primer on all screenwriting., 22 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short Films: Writing the Screenplay (Creative Essentials) (Paperback)
A 'short' subject, but not a book that leaves you short in any area.
Nash knows his subject intimately, being an award-winning short screenplay writer himself, and also an adjudicator at an Oscar-qualifying short film festival. So he has the experience of having studied an enormous number of short films at first hand.
Starting with the history of the form, he outlines the significance of the short screenplay, particularly today -- as a career stepping-stone in a ferociously competitive industry.
In fact, this is the great power of the book. It takes the acolyte through every step of the writing process -- story, structure, format, character, conflict, emotional content and dialogue -- not only in sufficient detail to qualify it as a comprehensive pocket introduction to feature writing as well (no mean feat!) but does it with an easy, down-to-earth style that makes the book a pleasure to read. And follow. And, most importantly, absorb.
More than that, the author explores in detail the entire raison d'etre for short script writing, explaining the ways it facilitates new writers' entry into the business, and guiding them through the competition entry process, and also in how to prepare themselves and their work for promotion to the market.
He also includes three award-winning short scripts (two Oscar-nominated) with interviews analysing the techniques and development of the projects.
Throughout, the book is lucid and concise -- only to be expected from a writer expert in the short form -- but it is also warm, affirmative and thoroughly encouraging.
You feel you're in safe and very capable hands. And you come away not only confident that 'you can do it' -- but eager to get at it right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must have guide on writing short film screenplays, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short Films: Writing the Screenplay (Creative Essentials) (Paperback)
This book is awesome. It guides you through the key essentials required when writing a short film screen play. It aids you as you hone your ideas and teaches you how to present them professionally. I wrote my first screenplay (only a short film of 22 mins) in a month after reading this book. It has been reviewed by professional script readers who gave it the highest grade for structure. Everything I learnt I learnt from this book. It is the must have book for anyone starting out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 28 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Short Films: Writing the Screenplay (Creative Essentials) (Paperback)
This little book from Kamera Books is an example of the type. It tackles the subject of writing a short screenplay from a number of angles with verve and vigour. It's clear from reading it, that the author knows his medium, and the masterstroke is the inclusion of oscar-nominated short scripts and interviews with their writers. Top class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice, 15 Feb. 2015
By 
Michael (London , UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short Films: Writing the Screenplay (Creative Essentials) (Paperback)
I was looking a book like this till I find it . this is all you need to know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short Films: Writing the Screenplay (Creative Essentials) (Paperback)
Fast service, would use again .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent on essentials!, 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Offers what it says on the tin. As a newbie, found it very informative, educational and useful. I can strongly recommend this book if you are in my beginner state.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Short Films: Writing the Screenplay (Creative Essentials)
Short Films: Writing the Screenplay (Creative Essentials) by Patrick Nash (Paperback - 12 Jan. 2012)
£14.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews