Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My bible
If you've started to take life to seriously, to the point that you might even think yourself mortal, this book is the antedote. Wrapped up in all the fizzing metaphors, sexy romps, historical beetroots and throwaway gags, you'll find Buddhism with a sense of humour, spirituality with human warmth and everything you need to inspire you once conventional religion proves...
Published on 19 April 2002 by Balkh

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An engaging romp through history with added anti-ageing tips
I found Tom Robbins' style engaging (he has a way of addressing the reader directly which seems to add to the flow of narrative rather than detract from it), but his attitude to women came across as slightly Seventies. The story follows Alobar, an ancient king who escapes his ritual execution at the first sign of ageing, on his 1000 year odyssey across Asia, Europe and...
Published on 14 Mar 2002


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My bible, 19 April 2002
By 
Balkh (Ambon, Indonesia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jitterbug Perfume (Paperback)
If you've started to take life to seriously, to the point that you might even think yourself mortal, this book is the antedote. Wrapped up in all the fizzing metaphors, sexy romps, historical beetroots and throwaway gags, you'll find Buddhism with a sense of humour, spirituality with human warmth and everything you need to inspire you once conventional religion proves insufficient. And it's a good story too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It will make your imagination and emotions fly, 21 Sep 2001
This review is from: Jitterbug Perfume (Paperback)
This book is like a fairy tale that takes you through 100s of years of history and takes you to many different worlds - from Europe to India to America. With a myriad of entertaining characters whose trials and tribulations you share, it is a good first Tom Robbins book. Its about love and honour and ambition and art .... it has something for everyone to think about. You won't be able to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boof!, 13 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: Jitterbug Perfume (Paperback)
At its most basic, this book is a celebration of the sense of smell, and all the heart memories attached to scent. It is also a joyous romp, encompassing the rampant eroticism of a greek god suffering the blues, the surprising secret ingredient of the most popular perfume in the world, and the quest for eternal youth through proper breathing techniques and long, hot baths.
A host of some of the most unforgettable entities ever assembled in fiction all find their seemingly different agendas coalescing around a mutual search for personal joy. The forward momentum of the story is as unflagging as a heartbeat and carries the reader along with it, effortlessly.
Robbin's technique of scattering surprising insights like so many sparkling jewels provide the only pause to the pace of the story as the reader is tempted to stop...and think...and learn a little bit more about themselves and what they most desire.
This book was an altogether life-enhancing experience. It is also an excellent guidebook for discovering, or, more to the point, re-discovering the capacity for passion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An engaging romp through history with added anti-ageing tips, 14 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Jitterbug Perfume (Paperback)
I found Tom Robbins' style engaging (he has a way of addressing the reader directly which seems to add to the flow of narrative rather than detract from it), but his attitude to women came across as slightly Seventies. The story follows Alobar, an ancient king who escapes his ritual execution at the first sign of ageing, on his 1000 year odyssey across Asia, Europe and the Americas practising the techniques of life-everlasting. In parallel it follows the stories of Priscilla, a genius waitress, and two rival perfumers who between them stumble upon Alobar's secret. In parts saucy, hilarious or just plain gob-smacking, I found it livened up my bedtime for a good couple of weeks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simile face, 12 Jan 2009
By 
M. Fitzgerald (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jitterbug Perfume (Paperback)
The simile count in Jitterbug Perfume represents an abundance of top-notes that will cause headaches for many. Regarding this, Robbins has enigmatically commented "my novels are not plot reliant." In fact, Jitterbug Perfume's plot can certainly be relied on, it's just that to fully enjoy this book it's necessary to let go. To submit to the bubbles that break free from every other sentence is to be lifted by etymology, history, koans, archetypes and jokes toward a mysterious surface membrane that hovers over the entire narrative. The notion that this extra dimension might be the point of Jitterbug Perfume is challenged as the story engages but then somehow affirmed as the extraordinarily exotic nature of the plot elects a parallel universe as its source.

Increasingly weakened by humans' withdrawal from nature, the once great god Pan is attracted to the joyful immortality of a man named Alobar. The tension in this reversal of fates plays out over a thousand years during which the mid-notes of death, beets and perfume are complexified by whale's bile, the hatred between flowers and dinosaurs, quantum physics, Mardi Gras, the evolution of consciousness, bees, neurophysiology and Einstein's death. Whilst Robbins's seamless cohering of these smithereens recalls watching an explosion in reverse, a growing suspicion that the olfactory philosophy of a twentieth century perfumer is actually attracting events guarantees the reel is rolling forward.

Jitterbug Perfume is a recipe book for the perfect scent, a secret ingredient of which is communicated from deep in the text via Einstein's dying word. Edified by a translation of 'erleichda', the contemplative reader will understand that Jitterbug Perfume's elusive base-note is non other than one's self. Without this anchor, expect to resonate with words of the critic who wrote "Robbins needs to make his mind up whether he wants funny or serious". With it you'll already know Robbins's response "I'll make my mind up when God makes his up."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A jovial bouncing journey of two immortals in love., 21 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Jitterbug Perfume (Paperback)
This wonderful light hearted yet heavy duty novel of an immortal journey from Africa through India and the Himalayas to Greece, from Paris to New Orleans and back again, is a quintessential example of Robbins zany and seat gripping style. The main character, a runaway king searching for an elusive perfume and the secret to immortality, holds company with a veritable menagerie of characters, from the Greek goat God Pan and his frolicking nymphs to Albert Einstein. Mr. Robbins has a gift of making the unbelievable almost believable...It is a ripping good yarn and, as always with Robbins, the pace is quickened with a spicy mixture of sex, drugs and philosophical thinking. This first novel incorporates intelligent text coupled with sublime wit and a healthy disregard for conformity, paving the way for his following works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read them ALL, 23 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Jitterbug Perfume (Paperback)
i'm a big fan of robbins - have been since the day I picked up Skinny Legs and All by chance at the bookstore. I gobbled up each of his books shortly thereafter. This one is fantastic! A must-read, and I think it's one of the best of his books to start with. I'm one of those anal retentive types who hates dog-ears, hates markings in books, etc. - but my Tom Robbins paperbacks are chock full of notes, underlines, dog-ears, and the like. And if you're the sort who collects quotes, you can find one on nearly every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book can change your life., 13 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Jitterbug Perfume (Paperback)
I came across this book by mistake, probably one of the best mistakes I've made. Jitterbug opened up doors I never knew existed. Tom Robbin's philosophy (handed out freely in many of his books) was like none I had ever encountered. All this aside, Jitterbug perfume is one of the best books I have read and I reccommmend it to many. After reading this book you will never think of perfume the same, ahh the scent of Jasmine..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book ever written!, 27 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Jitterbug Perfume (Paperback)
All of Tom Robbins' books are wonderful, but this is the best. It is a celebration of life that is superbly written. His ability to describe everyday life events is amazing. He has an outstanding command of the English language. His work is a joy to read. You will walk away from this book feeling the necessity to live life to the fullest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live life to its fullest... No, seriously..., 24 May 2010
This review is from: Jitterbug Perfume (Paperback)
I have very few words to describe this book. Or rather I have roughly a billion, but as I only finished it last night they are all buzzing so freely around my brain that I have no hope at all of pinning them down, let alone forming them into coherent sentence structures in order to describe this book.

If you have a fully formed idea of how the Universe should function, believe in a specific god or are of rational, certain sound mind, then this may not be the book for you, in fact it will probably annoy and frustrate you to the bitter end. But if you believe in the individual, in the power of your mind and are looking for an adventure, then you will most certainly find one here... As for me, well I bloody loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jitterbug Perfume
Jitterbug Perfume by Tom Robbins (Paperback - 9 April 2001)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews