Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three classics in one volume
Nicholas Monsarrat wrote with a style that makes the reader smell the sea air, while eagerly flipping the pages late at night to find out the ending of the story. Three of his classic works are here collected in a single volume. The title story is one of the most gripping sea tales of the second world war. A small, obsolete Royal Navy escort vessel is torpedoed while...
Published on 15 Jan 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Response
The first book, HMS Marlborough was good and entertaining.
The second book was quite boring and could not get me excited to read it.
The third book was OK.
Published 14 months ago by Paul Doherty


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three classics in one volume, 15 Jan 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Asheville, North Carolina, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: HMS Marlborough Will Enter Harbour (Paperback)
Nicholas Monsarrat wrote with a style that makes the reader smell the sea air, while eagerly flipping the pages late at night to find out the ending of the story. Three of his classic works are here collected in a single volume. The title story is one of the most gripping sea tales of the second world war. A small, obsolete Royal Navy escort vessel is torpedoed while sailing alone far off the normal sea lanes. Despite overwhelming odds and a series of events that greatly decreases the ships' chances, the captain makes a determined decision that the ship will not sink.
Of the other two stories, Leave Cancelled is a great love story, quite unlike most of the authors' works, and deserves to be better known. Heavy Rescue takes the reader back to 1940 London during the Blitz. They will be enjoyed by anyone with an interest in WW II fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance!, 11 Jan 2005
By 
B. Jonsson "Literate Warlock" (falun, dalarna sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HMS Marlborough Will Enter Harbour (Paperback)
This book, a present of Christmas Past, stood silently among the unread books in my shelf for some years before I read it, something I both regretted and praised. Regretted because i hadn't discovered montsarrat sooner, praised because I now had the chance to do so.
The title story captured me and spell bound me. It is a marvel of short story, a simple narrative in plain language, but such a good work that it left me wanting for more. I finished the other two stories and found that not only was Montsarrat a great naval novelist, he simply was a great author all in all!
Unobtrusively, without my being able to pin point exactly why, or by which qualities, Nicholas Montsarrat has risen to the very top of my favourite authors. His books simply must be read for you to see his brilliance as I have.

An immensely readable book for all who like good literature and stories that do not die with your closing of the book covers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HMS Marlborough will enter harbour, 31 Mar 2012
Another fantastic book by Nicholas Monsarrat thoroughly enjoyed each of the stories in this volume are almost as good as The Cruel Sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Monsarrat, 4 May 2013
Two great tales and one so so but a good read when you don't want to delve into war and peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monsarrat....Need one say more ?, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. N. A. Viles (NORTH YORKSHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always believed that Monsarrat's " The Cruel Sea" is the best novel I have ever read, bar none. HMS Marlborough is also a good read, with a bonus of a couple of novellas to read and enjoy too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For my husband, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoying reading his favourite subject -nautical stories
Kindle was a very good buy and this story is excellent
Will be looking for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good Read if you love the sea.., 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nicholas Monsarrat is one of the best writers at describing the moods of the oceans, of the RN Ships and thier crews. This is a wonderful tale, and should be enjoyed by all with an interest in the sea..Thank you Amazon for making it available on Kindle..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HMS Marlboro will enter harbour, 26 Jun 2011
By 
K. Marvill "twee molen" (West Yorkshire GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HMS Marlborough Will Enter Harbour (Paperback)
Two of the three stories were very good but I do not like love stories which is what one of them was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Master storyteller, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Monsarrat describes a range of scenarios and types of people in this compilation. I wish I could write so descriptively!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great service, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HMS Marlborough Will Enter Harbour (Paperback)
Bought as a gift and delivered within a day. Very reasonably priced and overall I was very happy with the service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HMS Marlborough Will Enter Harbour
HMS Marlborough Will Enter Harbour by Nicholas Monsarrat (Paperback - 23 Sep 2008)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews