Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 4 Nov 2009
By 
N. O'Connell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jumping in Puddles (Paperback)
This is another fantastic book from Ms Allan. I loved her first two novels (Rainy Days & Tuesdays and Feels Like Maybe) and Jumping in Puddles is just as good. This book contains a good deal of humour as well as dealing with the darker issues in life. It is not your typical "chick lit". Each character is well thought out and by the end of the book you feel as though you've always known them. All in all a great read and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have chick lit read, 19 Oct 2009
This review is from: Jumping in Puddles (Paperback)
This is a great story. Claire Allan just gets better and better. It's funny, touching, and the characters are easy to relate to. It's a bit of escapism which doesn't seem out of reach. Allan creates real characters and doesn't condescend to her reader. She's a brilliant find. I can't wait for her next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab third novel from Ms Allan, 16 Oct 2009
This review is from: Jumping in Puddles (Paperback)
A well put together novel, Jumping in Puddles doesn't pretend to be anything other than chick-lit but the genre has taken a makeover of late.
Gone are the single women crying into their bottles of Chardonnay and in come fantastic characters we can all identify with.
The novel's four main protagonists are expertly cast, each battling with their own personal dilemma.
Niamh's husband has just passed away, Ruth's husband has left her for another woman, the other woman is Liam's wife and Ciara is a teen mum who's not telling a soul who the father of her baby is.
They are brought together through a group for single parents, and think they have nothing else in common with each other - I'll let you read it yourself to find out what happens but it's fair to say that Claire has produced another cracking novel.
Perfect for curling up in front of the fire with - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jumping in Puddles, 15 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. G. Ahmet (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jumping in Puddles (Paperback)
The moment I read the first page of this book I was hooked. It is witty, yet heart warming and touches on sensitive subjects in a realistic way. Many people will relate to certain characters. All in all a fantastic read - 10/10

I highly recommend Claire's 2 previous books - Rainy Days and Tuesday and Feels Like Maybe - again both books are a magnificent read and once you start reading, you'll not want to stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great chick lit, 21 Nov 2009
By 
Tina "Tina" (Montreal, Quebec) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jumping in Puddles (Paperback)
I have just discovered this author as this is only my second book, however, I really like the fact that while Claire Allan obviously writes chick lit, its not your usual chick lit (although there is nothing wrong with that either). However, Jumping in Puddles is chick lit with a twist - we find 4 different characters - dealing with the darker side of what life has to offer and for the most part, its, of course, related to the men in their lives or at the very least its about relationships between men and women.

I loved reading about the strength and the humour of these women! very inspirational and was an absolute enchanting and fun read.

Allan does not shy away from writing about the hard subject matters and does it with frankness and compassion. I really enjoyed this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable!, 4 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Jumping in Puddles (Paperback)
Looking at the other reviewers of Jumping In Puddles, i totally agree with them in that it is a very enjoyable read. If you are in any doubt about whether or not to buy this novel, please don't be. Just buy it as it is very enjoyable & totally up to date regarding a lot of references made to the year in which it is written ie this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 July 2010
This review is from: Jumping in Puddles (Paperback)
I loved this book and all the characters. This was my fist Claire Allan book to read and I've read every one of her books since. And it never gets boring because it's based on 4 characters and not just the one. Well done Claire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, great holiday read, 22 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Jumping in Puddles (Paperback)
Having read Claire Allan's fist two books, I was incredibly excited to get a copy of her third book - I was not disappointed. With darker elements than her first two books, Jumping In Puddles is full of revelations and surprises, not all of them easy reading at times, but always beautifully written with sympathy and when appropriate, humour.

I loved the weaving storylines of this novel and the diversity of characters. I'm only annoyed that I read it before my holiday, I would love another Claire Allan book to pack in my case this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!, 5 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Jumping in Puddles (Paperback)
Jumping in puddles is a fantastic read that gets you hooked early on. It's refreshingly unpredictable at times keeping you gripped. You get to know the characters well without getting bogged down in detail, they are endearing but real. This is a great book that covers sensitive issues, but gets you laughing too. Waiting eagerly now for Claire Allan's next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars light reading, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jumping in Puddles (Paperback)
This is a nice feel-good book from Claire Allan. Not too heavy and perfect for a bit of light reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jumping in Puddles
Jumping in Puddles by Claire Allan (Paperback - 26 May 2010)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews