Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Have fun with your mates (while they still talk to you)
Excellent book for winding your mates up. In fairness your not gonna win a tenner everytime you do one of these "tricks" BUT you will find it easy to con a few quid out of people with these cleverley worded bets and stunts etc. This book is layed out in different catagories (for example stunts you can pull in a pub/club enviroment) I must admit if you DID try and con a...
Published on 13 Dec 2003 by Jason Gaston

versus
22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The book itself is the biggest scam
It should be entitled '101 Ways to Win a Tenner', as the book itself costs 9.99. You may think it is worth a gamble to pay the 10 quid, as you will potentially learn another 100 ways to get it back, but you would be wrong. You would be the sucker (like I was) for having spent the money.

Out of the '100 ways', there is only one genuine scam (number 20) in the...
Published on 14 May 2008 by J. Sterling


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Have fun with your mates (while they still talk to you), 13 Dec 2003
By 
Jason Gaston "Uncle Jay" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Ways to Win a Tenner (Paperback)
Excellent book for winding your mates up. In fairness your not gonna win a tenner everytime you do one of these "tricks" BUT you will find it easy to con a few quid out of people with these cleverley worded bets and stunts etc. This book is layed out in different catagories (for example stunts you can pull in a pub/club enviroment) I must admit if you DID try and con a tenner out of someone some of these stunts may just earn you a thick lip for your pure cheek but between friends (or if your with a bunch of friends) then you SHOULD get away with a lot of these.
Well worth the money, but you must be careful who you try to "Win" your tenner from.
I hope his review was informative for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars proven beyond doubt, 14 Jun 2008
By 
S. Fox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Ways to Win a Tenner (Paperback)
This is a good little book filled with loads of top tips on bar/party scams, you wont be earning a wage off of what is offered but you can get a reputation as man who can raise a laugh.

I use many of these in pubs/bars before i go into my card routines, it helps people relax when you can gently ease them into a humourous situation before producing a pack of cards encouraging them to ask see another trick.

Proof that the better scams work is evident by the free drinks i have received through working one of the card trick's that i knew originally as the 'circus card trick', i cant remember its no. now, but the book even teaches a further addition to the scam to be pulled after relieving the mark of his drink/money. i once had someone so convinced that i would'nt produce his card that he refused the original bet of one drink,then two drinks then twenty pounds before he raised the bet to two hundred pounds shaking me by the hand in front of a whole room of people. another time we used the gamblers swindle of changing the ten pound note for change in the course of a magic trick, producing the supposedly burnt ten pound note from the till.
unfortunatly for me because of my morals, both got their money back, but both tricks/scams proved their worth. these two tricks alone are worth the asking price because of the reputation it build afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The book itself is the biggest scam, 14 May 2008
By 
J. Sterling - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Ways to Win a Tenner (Paperback)
It should be entitled '101 Ways to Win a Tenner', as the book itself costs 9.99. You may think it is worth a gamble to pay the 10 quid, as you will potentially learn another 100 ways to get it back, but you would be wrong. You would be the sucker (like I was) for having spent the money.

Out of the '100 ways', there is only one genuine scam (number 20) in the book.

The rest of the book is comprised of the following:-
a) puzzles - such as well-known matchstick ones. (One of which - number 70 - gives a wrong answer. Arrange six matches to give as many triangles as possible. The solution given is to make a 3D tetrahedron, giving four triangles. Whereas a more obvious 'Star of David' would produce six.)
b) Some 'stunts', a couple of which are interesting (but these can be found easily by doing a quick search on the Internet), but many are well known (such as not being able to touch your toes (or pick up a tenner, as changed to in the book) whilst standing with your back to a wall.)
c) Annoying word-play. For example, 'I bet you a tenner you can't pick this matchbox off the top of this glass in twenty seconds with two matches' - the catch being the glass is turned upside down, so you claim that they picked the matchbox off the 'bottom', not the 'top'. Ha! Ha! Unfortunately a high proportion of the '100 ways' are of this nature.

The 'amusing' characters within in this book, are nothing of the sort, and are merely there for padding.

With the exception of the previously mentioned #20, none of these '100 ways' are good enough to actually win a tenner, without making yourself look like an annoying pedantic (for the word-play) or a skin-flint.

The few interesting stunts are just that, interesting stunts. You should not be effectively charging a tenner to show a cheap stunt.

If you follow these methods (and insist on receiving 'tenners' for your efforts), you will soon lose your friends, and get an 'annoying' label.

The quotes on the book cover refer to the magician himself, and not to his book. That alone should be a warning.

I feel so conned about this book, that I felt compelled to write this review - my first time on Amazon - to warn others.

I would have given this book 'zero stars' if that option were available.

Please don't be the next to 'lose' a tenner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a Con!, 29 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 100 Ways to Win a Tenner (Paperback)
OK, this is a book. But not your normal list of ‘smartypants things you can do’ kind of book, oh dear me no! Through the pages of this work of art, you will meet and greet various unnamed punters who are always going to lose a tenner a time for their further education in the Art of Scams etc. You will also meet Sid ‘The Kid’, cautious Jim, Mike, Smartarse Stan, great Uncle Harold, Bob the Belly, Gazza & Dave, Typhoon Ted the Pool expert, Keith and Einstein the Quiz Champions, Marilyn, cute but not too bright, Mickey, Fred the Football Freak, Dave & Baz, Gemma, and The Hulk – muscle bound and not quite as bright as Marilyn.
Split into five sections, the book takes you on a tour of the finest scams, rigged bets and general cheating available. At the same time it’s like a succession of good nights out at the pub and almost reads like a novel.
Out of the 100 scams, I’d already heard of no more than a couple which means I either live an honest and sober life or I was ready to be scammed! If nothing else, this book will show you how easy it is to lose a tenner (or more!) to subtle psychology and clever wordings. Buy it, read it, memorise it.
Excellent value for money: worth far more than the cover price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you are new to this sort of thing, 31 Dec 2006
This review is from: 100 Ways to Win a Tenner (Paperback)
I have seen Paul Zenon perform and consider him to be one of Britains foremost 'street' magicians. 100 ways to win a tenner is a useful reference for those of you (like me) who have forgotten more of these types of bets than they care to remember. A word of warning to those of you who want to use these bets within your circle of friends, they will soon become wise to your trickery and their willingness to part with tenners will soon wain. The best way to put the information contained in this book to good use is to wait until someone offers you a bet from it and take them up on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100 Ways to Win a Tenner, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Ways to Win a Tenner (Paperback)
It should read 100 fun Ways to Win a Tenner. Some were new to me others I have used before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gem of a book, 19 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Ways to Win a Tenner (Paperback)
I can honestly say this is one of the best books I have ever read. I found some of the tricks absolutely brilliant, and you don't need to be a magician to do them. I don't actually intend conning anyone out of £10 or even 10p, I think these tricks are more fun as sportsman's bets with friends.

One reviewer said the writing style was irritating and immature. I found that rather odd, because I found that not only was the material fascinating, but the writing style was genuinely funny too.

Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 10 Oct 2007
This review is from: 100 Ways to Win a Tenner (Paperback)
The absoloute bible for the would-be conman. You can make a fortune while being the life-and-soul at the same time. All the tricks/stunts/scams are easy to do and your 'victims' won't even mind parting with their cash as they'll have been entertained in the process. They can then go on to fleece their friends with the same bets - in effect they're paying for an education!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dog's, 19 Oct 2006
This review is from: 100 Ways to Win a Tenner (Paperback)
This is a phenomenally useful book - I've made a fortune! Easy and fun to read yet the most comprehensive guide I've seen to bar bets. Definitely recommended - the perfect bog-dipper!

Pete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100 Ways To Win a Tenner - Paul Zenon, 17 July 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 100 Ways to Win a Tenner (Paperback)
OK, this is a book. But not your normal list of 'smartypants things you can do' or magic tricks kind of book, oh dear me no!
Here we draw on an earlier part of Paul's 'career' and, through the pages of this work of art, you will meet and greet various unnamed punters who are always going to lose a tenner a time for their further education in the Art of Scams etc. You will also meet Sid 'The Kid', cautious Jim, Mike, Smartarse Stan, great Uncle Harold, Bob the Belly, Gazza & Dave, Typhoon Ted the Pool expert, Keith and Einstein the Quiz Champions, Marilyn, cute but not too bright, Mickey, Fred the Football Freak, Dave & Baz, Gemma, and The Hulk - muscle bound and not quite as bright as Marilyn.
Split into five sections, Paul's book takes you on a tour of the finest scams, rigged bets and general 'good natured' cheating available. At the same time it's like a succession of good nights out at the pub and almost reads like a novel.
Out of the 100 scams, I'd already heard of no more than eight which means I either live an honest and sober life or I was ready to be scammed! If nothing else, this book will show you how easy it is to lose a tenner (or more!) to subtle psychology and clever wordings. Buy it, read it, memorise it. It could save you up to £1,000!
Value for Money: Worth far more than the price above!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Ways to Win a Tenner
100 Ways to Win a Tenner by Paul Zenon (Paperback - 7 July 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews