Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for anyone who loves makeup
as a makeup artist i am always looking at books, in particular the makeup tips they offer

i was most impressed with this book

the fact that it also covers makeup from 1920 to the modern day is just outstanding

well done to the author
Published on 2 May 2007 by csg makeup & beauty

versus
40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I've found it very hard to buy a make up book as the reviews on all of them give little information about what's in the book. What I was looking for was a big glossy book full of pictures of different looks that I could copy, preferably sorted into hair & skin colour so you know what will suit you. As no reviews on any books said the book provided this I took a shot and...
Published on 13 May 2008 by Mrs. F. L. Marney


Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 13 May 2008
By 
Mrs. F. L. Marney (Watford, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Vogue" Make-up (Hardcover)
I've found it very hard to buy a make up book as the reviews on all of them give little information about what's in the book. What I was looking for was a big glossy book full of pictures of different looks that I could copy, preferably sorted into hair & skin colour so you know what will suit you. As no reviews on any books said the book provided this I took a shot and bought this one, loads of 5 star reviews so must be good? I was very disappointed, there is nothing about what colours will suit different hair and skin tones, very few pictures, mostly just tiny pictures of the odd product or an eye on it's own. The only full pictures are on chapter headings and are too wacky to use. I learnt nothing form the book, the tips are all obvious stuff that any experienced user of make will already know. If you're looking for a book full of different looks with helpful hair & skin tone guides this isn't it. I've marked it so low as I cannot see what use it is to anyone really, it's tiny with very few pictures and there is nothing in it that you couldn't find out for free by watching any day time women's show, from a beauty counter or free on the web.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for anyone who loves makeup, 2 May 2007
By 
csg makeup & beauty (south-west london, uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "Vogue" Make-up (Paperback)
as a makeup artist i am always looking at books, in particular the makeup tips they offer

i was most impressed with this book

the fact that it also covers makeup from 1920 to the modern day is just outstanding

well done to the author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent guide, 11 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: "Vogue" Make-up (Hardcover)
This is an excellent guide to everything you always wanted to know. It contains lots of little tips that no one had ever shared with me, but really work. It is an easy read, and i would recemmend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beauty Must Have, 22 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: "Vogue" Make-up (Hardcover)
This book is both informative and beautiful. It offers advice from top people in the industry and is fully illustrated with exquisite colour photos. It starts with the history of cosmetics (Egyptian/Roman era) working it's way into the future, and covers a wide diversity of area's from cleansing the face to caring for your toenails.
It really is a must have book and will complement the smallest of make-up collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Absolute Must Have for Women of All Ages, 19 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Vogue Make-Up (Paperback)
Changed my looks, made me feel like a new person. For the first time I feel like I've got an up-to-the-minute look and have received lots of compliments. I can't recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, 9 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Vogue Make-Up (Paperback)
This book is great and I really recomend it! I have always been interested in makeup and have considered my self beeing quite good, but there is so much in here I didnt know and my makeup skills have improved a lot after reading this book. I wish I had read this book sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but needs more guidance pictures with the tips, 13 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Vogue" Make-up (Paperback)
Lots of nice pictures and a gentle read.

Later on in the book are plenty of tips for make up, however, it would be nice to have step by step pictures to go with the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If I'd not paid 7p on Amazon's marketplace I'd return this..., 13 Aug. 2010
By 
AyJay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Vogue" Make-up (Hardcover)
VOGUE MAKE-UP aims to be a one stop shop for all thinks beauty related. Everything from basic skincare, to pedicures are covered, along with helpful quotes from respected make-up artists and tutorials to help inspire you.

Juliet is a former magazine editor and contributes to the beauty section for various publications, including Vogue. And in all honestly this book reads like she has just stapled a bunch of her articles together, added a bunch of photos in with them and called it a day. As you can see below, she does cover a lot of subjects, but she just skims over everything and it's all basic information that most people will already know. There are quotes from various celebrated make-up artists throughout the book, but these have just been taken from their own books and interviews - Juliet hasn't actually been actively researching or anything like that.

But by far the worst aspect to this book is the make-up tutorials. Most of the time she crams two looks on the the same page and adds one photo on the opposite page, I suspect she's picked a picture at random - none of the tutorials ever seem to match the photo. The tutorials are nothing but vague step by steps and all steps are unillustrated, which is very unhelpful. And maybe I'm not taking in the information, but there only seems to be three different looks that are repeated over and over.

Good points? The photos are stunning and a large portion of them are unairbrushed [ though I think ALL of the photos in this type of book should remain unaltered] . And the layout of the book makes it easy to put it down partway through and get back into it easily at a later date.

- - - - - - - - - - - -
What's inside?
- - - - - - - - - - - -

Twenty first century beauty
From the ancient Egyptians using 'genital extracts' as wrinkle cream to how the holistic lifestyle will shape near-future beauty trends...
There are some tidbits there are new to me; People were having face lifts in England and France in the 1920's, before plastic surgery became popular in America for example.

I found this segment very interesting and would have liked it to be longer as it's the only part of the book that really interested me.

SKIN

Skin types; Basic information on dry skin, oily skin, combination skin and sensitive skin. There are are a few sentences under each skin type telling what kind of make-up is best for each type - Fairly basic information that most people will already know.
Fun fact: With my dry skin I'm informed that "I'm a walking advertisement for old mother time", which caused me to instantly grab a mirror and inspect my face in growing horror.
Skincare; General cleaning, toning and moisturizing advice.
Miracles in a jar; Which at ingredients to look out for and what do those buzz-words mean?
Sun skin; Caring for your skin in the sun and fake tanning..
Ski skin; Says it all really.
Jet lag skin; Tips to avoid scaring airport staff :p
Problem skin; Tips on improving skin's appearance.
We're still in the skin section for the following...
Diet; Inner health = outer beauty
Face shapes; Basic information and sketches on the 5 different face shapes. Juliet tells us that the long face shape is also known as 'horse'. That cheered Mum up.
Tricks of the trade: How to..
* Slim a wide nose
* Create a full mouth
* Minimize the forehead
* Open hooded eyes
* Hide a receding chin
Skin tone; Waste of space is all I can say - I bought this for make-up inspiration, nothing else. It's a 1 page essay on how we're all beautiful. No useful information on foundation choices etc.

TOOLS OF THE TRADE

The full monty; The staples in a make-up artists kit.
Secret weapon; How to find a professional make-up artist [I assume for weddings etc rather than for popping to Tesco looking your best].
Editing your make-up shelf; De-junking your stash.

FOUNDATION

Choosing a foundation; Never choose a foundation dark enough to look like a suntan... Gee, thank for that.
Foundation textures; Explains what matt, gel, light-reflecting etc formulas are.
Application; What is the best tool to use.
Concealer & Powder; Guess she didn't know where else she could have put these limited entries.
Bases
* Holiday base
* Everyday base
* Evening base
* Dewy base

EYES

We begin with another pointless essay and 'do you know', along with some helpful tips on looking fresh eyed when you're far from fresh. My favourite? "When all else fails, pretend you work in fashion or film, and wear your sunglasses inside"...
Eyebrows; All about how brows define our face shape and the how to and different options for shaping yours.
Eye Lashes; More waffle about nothing, a small non-entry on false lashes and a few basic mascara care tips [don't pump the wand up and down].
Shadow; Don't be afraid of colour is the gist of the opening to this segment. The different textures shadow is available in [cream, powder etc] is explained.
Make-up looks
* Natural eyes
* Neutral eyes
* Smoky eyes
* Glossy eyes
* Shimmery eyes
Optical illusions; How to...
* Lift droopy eyes
* Look bright eyed
* Instant eye job
* Come to bed eyes
* Change your face shape

LIPS

Technology; About non-transfer lipsticks, products containing water molecules, dry liposomes, antioxidants, SPFs and the advantages to each.
Natural born fillers: Discuss the different options of lip plumper's available.
Lipstick; Explains the different kinds of lip colour out there [Glosses, stains, matt lipstick etc].
Application techniques; General hints and tips, plus a few no-nos; Avoid matching lip colour to your outfit, for example.
Lipliners; All about liner [d'oh], lip shapes and cheating a fuller/thinner mouth [or as I call it, the 'Porn Star' look].
Make-up looks:
* The rosebud mouth
* Classic red
* Matt lips
* Stained lips
* The Paris pout

CHEEKS

Textures; Exploring powders, creams, stains etc
Colour matching; The best colours for your skintone
Application tips
Bronzers, shimmers, multipurpose and dewy tints; A brief outline on each different product.
Make-up looks
* The Audrey
* The Marilyn
* Naturally beautiful
* Shimmer
* Too hot to handle
* The bright spark
* Smoky and smoldering
* Dewy-faced

BODY AND HAIR

Body skincare - Basic info
Body make-up; Piercings, tattoos, henna and body jewels.
Hair make-up; hair dyes and glitter spray, accessories and extensions

MANICURES AND PEDICURES

Basic handcare tips
Tools of the trade
Polish textures; Traditional lacquer, fast drying, polish pens and peel off polishes [Do they even make those anymore? I remember I had a silver L'Oreal one, but that was over 10 years ago].
How to...
* The perfect manicure
* The perfect polish
* The natural manicure
Most girls fake it; A outline of the different fake nails available
Glorious feet; Hints and tips on basic footcare.
How to...
* Classic red
* Beach feet
* Mehndi feet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 13 Feb. 2006
This review is from: "Vogue" Make-up (Paperback)
I have read this book and it is great its has lots of great tips and good illustrations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vogue Make-Up
Vogue Make-Up by Juliet Cohen (Paperback - Oct. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews