Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Behind the Scenes
This is a very interesting volume, written by someone who, for most of WWII, was second only to Hitler in terms of importance in Nazi Germany. Speer must have been a man of great talent and industry in order to accomplish what he did, even in the last months of the conflict: as well as managing to increase output of munitions to unprecedented levels, as the end closed in,...
Published on 7 Dec 2008 by Marcus Manilius

versus
12 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inside the Third Reich
Albert Speer was one of the few repulsive cast of characters sitting in the dock at the Nuremberg Trial who was regarded with any degree of sympathy by those who were there. He was superficially more appealing than the others and his apparent disillusionment with Hitler and his denouncement of Nazi ideology went down well with the court and without doubt helped keep him...
Published on 13 Jun 2010 by David Rowland


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Behind the Scenes, 7 Dec 2008
This review is from: Inside The Third Reich (Paperback)
This is a very interesting volume, written by someone who, for most of WWII, was second only to Hitler in terms of importance in Nazi Germany. Speer must have been a man of great talent and industry in order to accomplish what he did, even in the last months of the conflict: as well as managing to increase output of munitions to unprecedented levels, as the end closed in, he was also determined to prevent the implementation of the scorched earth policy which would have left post-war Germany in a state of utter annihilation. The fact that the country was able to recover so well and quickly afterwards must, in large part, be down to his efforts.

I found the book engrossing and very easy to read. At the start, it's a bit heavy on architecture, but that's what animated Hitler and Speer in the early days. There is a load of information about many of the main characters in the regime, about the continual back-biting and intriguing. There's not a lot about the fighting, although what little there is is interesting.

After the end, Speer writes about being staggered on hearing the details of the concentration camps. Earlier he wrote that Hanke, a friend and Gauleiter of Upper Silesia, had warned Speer never to visit a camp there because he had "seen something that he was not allowed to describe and indeed could not describe". Rather chilling.

First class read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I met Albert Speer, 31 Oct 2011
By 
Roger Clark (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inside The Third Reich (Paperback)
I met Albert Speer...And this was book that made me want to meet him - this and "Spandau - The Secret Diaries".

Just after Christmas in 1979 I went to see Speer at his Heidelberg home in West Germany. I had gone to interview him for BBC radio. The trip was carried out in secret. Only a couple of BBC managers, who approved the enterprise, knew what I was doing. And I told no-one until the programmes were broadcast. I went alone - no companions, or production team - just me and Speer alone in his Heidelberg study with a tape recorder running. I met him four times, recording long interviews for six half-hour programmes called "The Hitler Years". You can hear extracts on the BBC website.

So why did "Inside the Third Reich" make such an impression and make me want to meet its author? Because the book changed the way I thought about Hitler. It was the first I'd read that made Hitler seem a plausible human being. Some people say this is wrong. They argue anything that humanises Hitler is improper. He was a monster. All that matters are his crimes.

The trouble with this argument is that it makes Hitler impossible to understand - just a raving lunatic who gormless Germans - not intelligent people like us! - mindlessly followed. But Hitler was more subtle and intelligent than people allow - an evil genius with a surprising amount of twisted knowledge, well read and an extensive interest in the arts. His only weapons to begin with were his voice - he was highly articulate and persuasive - and a superhuman will-power. Hitler claimed he was the greatest actor in Europe. One of his adjutants said even in private it was impossible to tell when he was acting, or sincere. The performance was flawless. He was very convincing.

Speer was aware of the problems after the war while languishing in Spandau jail. There he spent 20 years in prison for crimes against humanity. On 10 February 1947 he wrote in his diary, 'I get the impression that people are increasingly representing Hitler as a dictator given to raging uncontrollably and biting the rug even on the slightest pretexts. This seems to me a false and dangerous course. If the human features are going to be missing from the portrait of Hitler, if his persuasiveness, his engaging characteristics, and even the Austrian charm he could trot out are left out of the reckoning, no faithful picture of his will be achieved.'

He has a point. Decades later a British Member of Parliament, who was also a university lecturer, said to me, 'Hitler was mad.' And that's a common held view. Hitler was insane. But that's not the view of Albert Speer, or Hitler's doctors. Hitler was a hypochondriac. He had a number of doctors. None thought he was even mentally ill, let alone insane. Admittedly, Hitler had terrible rages and an increasing number of mental breakdowns towards the end of his life as his world collapsed around him. But none of his staff thought he was mad. His valet, Heize Linge, who knew him intimately in private, addressed the problem in his memoirs and said Hitler was sane. He, and everybody around him, saw Hitler as a 'genius', but a genius who had a different - we would say perverse and evil - view of the world. This is what makes Hitler so difficult to understand. Of all the villainous leaders down the centuries Hitler is one of the most difficult to fathom. He's a psychological conundrum. That's one reason so many books are written about him. People are trying to solve the puzzle - what was this man really like? Speer helps solve the problem and takes us inside the terrible mind of the dictator. Hitler, he told me, was a stange mixture of the normal and demoniacal.

Anti-Semitism may have been a driving force in Hitler's life, but initially he seemed to offer the German people much more - a glittering future. No more unemployment - stability, order. He would crackdown on Communists and introduce a Socialist-style state open to talent with no class divisions. Anyone, it seemed, could rise to the top (unless you were Jewish, gay, Slav, black, Asian etc). He was going to tear up the hated Treaty of Versailles and restore Germany's dignity and honour. There were wonderful ceremonies, designer uniforms, the Olympic games - a life of endless events and fun. A heady mix! Speer, like so many Germans, was carried away with the excitement and the architectural opportunities Hitler gave him.

Authors are sometimes different from the image they project in their books. So what was Speer like? The Albert Speer I met and spent hours talking to was exactly like the man in his books.

But how honest was Speer? Speer was honest where you'd expect him to be, and dishonest where you'd expect him to be. So don't expect the whole truth on slave labour, the persecution of the Jews, or the Holocaust. He would have ended up on the gallows if he'd revealed all. But Speer was good on the atmosphere round Hitler. He was good on the dictator and his Court, the feel of Nazi Germany, architecture, strategy and armaments. Here he provides real insights and makes a valuable contribution to history and our understanding of the Third Reich. Hugh Trevor-Roper used him as a major source for his book "The Last Days of Hitler".

'Did you like Albert Speer?' a Jewish friend once asked me. '"Like," is the wrong word,' I replied. 'Speer was amiable and easy to work with when I was interviewing him - more so than some of the people I've worked with in the BBC, Fleet Street and publishing, let alone my own father - a notably tricky character. There was none of the old arrogance people complained about when he was in power. He was modest, relaxed and had a good, if disconcerting, sense of humour.

But villains often appear quite normal. On the surface they're like us - not blood-drenched like characters in a Hammer horror film. Many of the senior Nazis had a good education. There was nothing in Himmler's background that suggested he would become one of the most horrifying and reviled men of all time. His daughter adored her kind, gentle, smiling, papa.

Yet you still hear people asking, 'Do you think there could ever be another Hitler?' as if the Nazi dictator were a one off. In truth he was a spectacular example of a type of leader who is always with us. Chairman Mao slaughtered even more people than Hitler - 70 million people. He was the greatest genocidal murderer in history, though for some reason people blame him less.

Speer's book should be read in conjunction with his "Spandau - The Secret Diaries" and Frederic Spotts's remarkable work "Hitler and the Power of Aesthetics" (which I've also reviewed here on Amazon). There the author argues Hitler's interest in the arts was as intense as his racism. It affected the way he behaved and ruled and explains why intelligent people such as Speer fell under his spell. Like Speer's books it will change the way you look at the Nazi dictator and make him more understandable.

At the end of my interviews with Speer a curious incident occurred. While we were waiting for my taxi to arrive and take me back to my hotel we sat back and relaxed. To fill in gap in the conversation I casually asked him a question. If he could live his life over again which would he prefer to be - a nonentity with and easy conscience, or somebody famous who was troubled by what he'd done? The reply seemed obvious and I never bothered to ask the question during our interviews. Speer's answer was startling. 'I would prefer to be famous,' he replied.

Strangely enough no-one, not even Gitta Sereny in her exhaustive 700-page book, picked this up even though it's been in the public domain since 1980. Anthony Howard, who then edited the BBC magazine called "The Listener", published it in the magazine along with extended extracts from the interviews.

I think it was a moment of revelation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inside the Third Reich, 7 Jun 2009
By 
Conor Brennan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inside The Third Reich (Paperback)
Very interesting account of Albert Speer's time at the heart of Hitler's regime. The book gives an interesting insight into how a non-politital and unfanatical person was drawn into the Nazi environment despite his ongoing reservations. Also it portays Hitler in a different light from the usual, ie as a somewhat inept bungler rather than the usual one-dimensional view of him as pureley a megalomaniac. The writing is a bit awkward in spots and at times it can be hard to accept Speer's compliance with what he obviously felt was a criminal government but overall a very good read and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the bias - read - judge for yourself, 24 Aug 2007
This review is from: Inside The Third Reich (Paperback)
Albert Speer's seminal work on life inside the highest echelons of the Third Reich is as historically controversial now as it was when it was released and indeed is still a fascinating read.
In fact largely `ghost written' by Joachim C. Fest who had a not insignificant impact on the style of the prose, Inside The Third Reich is a veritable Goldmine for anecdotal remarks for any student studying the history of Hitler's Germany.
Historical bias aside - there is plenty and the debate is seemingly endless - it is still worth the effort and the reader would probably benefit from having a copy of Sereny's biography to hand to see how Speer's `Mia Culpa's' developed in face of ten years of mixed reception to his work.
Every A' Level Modern History Student should have read at least the first half of this book.
One should also remember once this has been read that confidential personal correspondence written in Speer's own hand was recently sold in an auction for well over £10000, which admitted more explicit knowledge of the crimes. And in light of this, J C Fest had his private note on Speer edited and released, and consequentially greatly revised his conclusion regarding the character of Speer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inside the Third Rech, 11 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside The Third Reich (Paperback)
This book give an insight into the man Albert Speer who trained as an architect yet ended up as Hitler's close confident and Minister of Armanents. It was an eye opener, the chaotic organisation of wartime Germany with incompetent officials in charge because they were NAZIs. How these leaders looked after their own high life whilst denying raw materials to the war effort. It was amazing that Germany never fully mobilised its women for industrial work and still allowed production of consumer goods to continue until quite late in the war. Unfortunately for the allies Albert Speer was so efficient in organising the Armanent industry that he doubled and trebled production which obviously did not help us. He has some telling insights about our bombing campaign and how it tied up hundreds of thousands of men and guns defending Germany that could have been used against the allies especially Russia. He also could not understand our lack of follow up attacks against special targets like the Ball Bearing works at Scweinfurt.
It is well worth wading through this very long book to get an Inside view of the Third Reich
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight into a grip time, 22 Feb 2010
By 
G. Murray "AvidReader" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inside The Third Reich (Paperback)
There are a lot of good histories of the Third Reich around but this first-hand account of life at Hitler's 'court' by one of his most trusted and prominent ministers adds a unique dimension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable and informative, 14 Dec 1998
By A Customer
For those interested in learning about WWII, and of the attitudes of those who waged the war, this is a fascinating and very enjoyable read, as is Speer's Memoirs from Spandau.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating memoire by one of Hitler's sycophants turned adversary, 9 July 2011
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Inside The Third Reich (Paperback)
This is a truly great book, by a man who was one of Hitler's most intimate associates for the entire duration of one of the most evil regimes in the history of mankind. As a deeply personal memoire, it is also a testament to human dignity that is written in a wonderful and highly literary style. I was utterly rivetted by the story and learned invaluable lessons about Hitler himself, viewed as a human being and not merely the monster that he certainly was.

The book starts with Speer as a young man, deeply frustrated by his lack of career prospects as a fledgling architect. While not necessarily original or brilliant, he was highly disciplined and cultured, from the upper middle class. Thus, you see him drawn to Hitler's magnetism, an inexplicable attraction that proved irresistable to this ambitious youth. As such, I do not believe we should so facilely judge him. He came to believe that Hitler was a great leader, capable of leading the nation to great things from the chaos of the inter-war years. So, he began to associate himself with the party. As a frustrated architect himself, Hitler viewed Speer with unusual and personal favor. And so bgean a remarkable career that ended when Speer was only 40, thus his prime youth.

Slowly, Speer worked his way into Hitler's intimate entourage, spending many hours going over megalomaniacal plans for fascist buildings and even entire city plans. Everything they did had to be bigger than anything ever done, either in Rome or the US, to reflect the "glory" of the regime. This is the first third of the book and in many ways is the most revealing and fascinating. From the start, he was struck at the crudeness of the culture of Hitler's inner circle, as they gathered around him and formed a kind of court to flatter the dictator's vanity and curry favor and power. Speer held himself aloof from much of this, but also found the power and prestige irrestible. He was seduced and in psychological thrall, which essentially lasted until Hitler's death.

What was most surprising to me was how little Hitler and the others actually worked prior to the War: what they spent most of their time doing was projecting their fantasies into the minds of Germans via spectacular architecture, propanganda gestures, and aggressive though bloodless diplomacy. It was a unique combination of mass-media technology and parochial isolation that is impossible to imagine today. To a certain extent, you feel you get to know all of Hitler's entourage, from Goebbels, Goering, and Hess to lesser figures like Eva Brown, Borman and Himmler. The portraits are complex and invaluable.

During this time, Speer claims, he had many intimations of the doom and destruction that were to follow, often from solemn pronouncements by Hitler that his gamble might leave him as one of the great villains of history - if he failed. Speer even developed a theory of how to construct buildings that would decay "well" - to reflect the power of the regime for all ages, as does the Roman Colosseum or Hadrian's dome - in spite of their modern technological requirements for higher maintenance than earlier stone-based monuments.

Then, with the war and his appointment as Armaments Minister, we witness Speer's complete corruption. It is here that he becomes the ultimate technocrat, enabling the regime to carry out its violence and destruction by any means possible, from technological wizardry to slave labor. Most fascinatingly, Speer dissects his own psychology: he chose to ignore his conscience, walling off his mind to the attrocities around him and continuing to believe in Hitler's genius and will as providential and even perhaps divine. He also reveals himself as a naif, believing that the right technical arguments should win the day rather than politics. Speer nonetheless describes himself as a seasoned political in-fighter, often basing his strong position on his access to Hitler; there were times that this endangered him, as when Himmler's doctor may have been attepting to assasinate or at least allow him to grow mortally ill by "misdiagnosis."

Once the war begins to go badly, Speer gets even closer to Hitler with detailed explanations of the working of totalitarian governmental machinery. Starting out with near-dictatorial powers (as the 2nd most powerful man in the regime for a time), Speer witnesses how his dependence on Hitler's approval dooms him to the sidelines as the Nazi party apparatus gains power, in large part to protect Hitler from the seeing realities of the war losses. Moreover, he depicts the limits of Hitler's vision, stuck as it was in his WWI experience and the mediocrity of his technical imagination. Thus, Speer catalogues his increasingly catastrophic decisions, from fundaamental strategic blunders like attacking the USSR to tactical ones, such as his insistence that the first jet aircraft should serve as bombers rather than defensive fighters. This is fascinating political science, showing both the strengths of the regime - Hitler in his amateurishness could surprise enemies with audacious and unorthodox tactics supported by new technologies, hence the Blitzkrieg - to the dangers of over-centralization as Hitler proved unable to delegate even the most mundane details. From efficiency of the Nazi killing machine, you witness its decline into incompetence, with the costs in German lives rising with stupid decisions. Speer also addresses many questions, such as the extent of the regime's pursuit of a nuclear weapon and other high tech secret weapons. It is singularly illuminating.

Speer also chronicles how he began to fight Hitler, particularly after he ordered a scorched earth policy for inside of Germany, which would have destroyed its industrial base. Here Speer acts the hero, attempting to preserve factories and bridges as all order crumbles around them. In a startling transformation of loyalty that Speer cannot completely renounce, he recognises Hitler as a man devoid of human emotion and empathy, a kind of sociopathic murderer like those around him, though Speer exempts himself from these crimes in his deepest heart. This is a story of psychological deterioration and the acceptance of death as the only way out. While he fails to fully explain or comprehend Hitler, perhaps we never will; at any rate, Speer avoids simplitic psychological labels.

Finally, there is the Nuremberg trial, in which Speer claims he was truthful and accepted his guilt. While the reader must remain suspicious of Speer's persona here - it appeared nakedly self-seving to me, yet with an honest voice of remorse - he makes a good case for Germany's new course and the end of the Hitler myth.

All in all, this is one of the best historical memoirs I ever read. Warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars View from the Architect of the Third Reich, 27 Nov 2010
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inside the Third Reich (Hardcover)
Albert Speer was Hitler's architect and Minister of Arms and Munitions. He was close to Hitler and gives us a glimpse of the man through his life in the years 1933 through 1945. The author wrote this memoir while serving his sentence for war crimes in Spandau prison. A sentence he agreed he deserved though he claims he did not know of the final solution. I will leave that to the reader too decide.

Speer shares what he saw as Hitler's likable traits and as a man who was capable and devoted but later or perhaps reflection in prison Speer felt these traits may have been only superficial. The work Speer did during WWII for the Third Reich was essential for the war machine to function. He claims he did not know that his friend was committing genocide but he willing used the slave labor provided for his factories.

It is mainly a book of the daily routine of the man that shared tea with Hitler and the bureaucracy that was the Third Reich. A bureaucracy that Speer knew how to handle quite well and prospered in. What it took to operate in this government is expressed in detail. The insight on how one could operate in such a regime and be successful in the construction and requisition projects that Speer was involved in. Some may fine these parts too detailed but they give us an insight on the inner workings of the regime.

As in all relationships his view of Hitler changed over time as did his view of the man. But a man is what we are shown through the eyes of the author. Though Speer admits that his country committed war crimes and he took responsibility for his part by accepting the sentence of twenty years he never apologized. As you read I feel he felt though he had a part that he was made a to pay the penalty for those who were either dead or escaped. To his credit at the end of WWII Speer did try and block some of Hitlers policy of total destruction of cities and infrastructure as the Third Reich collapsed around them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inside the Third Reich by Albert Speer, 13 Sep 2010
By 
Ian J. Thain (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inside The Third Reich (Paperback)
I have made a study of all facets of the Third Reich, and the life and times of Adolf Hitler, including the observations of his secretaries. This book although it is the memoirs of a single person. It is obvious in his quiet way he was a genius. From being an architect to running the biggest war machine the world has ever seen.Unique.
There is little contradiction between other writers, except his observations on Magda Goebbels as a mother and the Political genius of her husband.
He lays bare the evil influence of Martin Bormannn and the ineffectual but ubiquitous powers of Reichsmarschall Goering. It is also clear from Herr Speer's writings that both Himmler and Goering were acquisitive. He also outlines clearly the inefficiencies of the Gauleiter System.
He makes observations on Bomber Harris how he was so near to victory, but due to his theories about bombing the same places twice as being counter productive.
Speer said that if he had done so, and especially in the Mohne Dams the war would have been shortened by a year.
The human side of Speer is portrayed by the fact that (a) He didn't like workers moved very far from their own environment. (b) Treating forced labour well had its own rewards.
He had a great deal of admiration towards Great Britain and their system, that only children were exempt from the war effort, and how Hitler was too late in recognising this.
The book is incredibly detailed and is a magnum opus on the organisation, or lack of it of the Third Reich.
This is not a quick read, but a seasoned observation of a man who's only crime was being efficient, and oulining Hitler's weakness in being unable to deal with Military Staff from the First World War. He saved Germany from total destruction by taking direct charge of all German factories at the last stages of the war and allowing Germany to have a base for rebuilding.The General Staff upheld his brave stand in intentionally misrepresenting his orders. Fascinating book. IJ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inside The Third Reich
Inside The Third Reich by Albert Speer (Paperback - 20 Aug 2009)
£10.49
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews