Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, but not a weighty tome for serious scholars
I loved this book, as a resource to get me started on my research into the era. I don't agree with one other reviewer that it does not give a good picture of what it was like to live in the times, for indeed I think it's the weird and wonderful quirky and every day stories that depict life for the majority.
However, the author does rely heavily on Pepys, and this is...
Published on 8 Nov. 2011 by Carmelia Jenkin

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed
As a bit of a fan of London and its history, I was looking forward to something enjoyable from this book, but whilst it initially appears interesting, you quickly realise that it simply consists of an endless stream of trivia, and precious little insight. It's also not especially well written, and is occasionally unintentionally hilarious, for instance when we are told...
Published on 24 Sept. 2011 by Los Angeleno


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, but not a weighty tome for serious scholars, 8 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restoration London: Everyday Life in the 1660s (Paperback)
I loved this book, as a resource to get me started on my research into the era. I don't agree with one other reviewer that it does not give a good picture of what it was like to live in the times, for indeed I think it's the weird and wonderful quirky and every day stories that depict life for the majority.
However, the author does rely heavily on Pepys, and this is certainly not a comprehensive guide to Restoration London, but nor does it claim to be. You can tell from the size, cover and introduction that this is supposed to be an accessible, fun peek into everyday life, and that is what it is.

What it certainly is brilliant for is writers who wish to add details that will lend authenticity to the era they are writing in, this is what I originally bought it for, but I ended up enjoying it so much that I read it all in two sittings.

I would only not recommend this to you if you are looking for a meticulously researched in depth look into all walks of life/politics etc. But as an overview and an interesting read it shines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 6 July 2011
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Restoration London: Everyday Life in the 1660s (Paperback)
Liza Picard aims to give us a rounded picture of life in the London of Charles II. Necessarily, there is less source material for this than for her fascinating book on Victorian London, and we hear the author's voice more. Her style is very easy to follow, and each paragraph of description is well-written and balanced. But where in "Victorian London" we found ourselves immersed in a rich soup of detail, here there is a lot more speculation, interpretation and analysis. It is a world less familar to us, too, which makes a difference. It is also true that London was different; a large, thriving city but not the extraordinary Babylon it had become by the 19th century.

For anyone who is studying the history of the period, or has an interest in social history in general, this is an excellent starting point. There is the usual blend of the blood-curdling, the scatalogical and the obscure, and Picard's accessible style brings it all together into a coherent journey through the city. Though I enjoyed it less than Victorian London I suspect that is an inevitable result of the different nature of the sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent social history primer for the period, 15 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Restoration London: Everyday Life in the 1660s (Paperback)
Using a comprehensive range of sources (including the diaries of Samuel Pepys and John Evelyn and countless papers and observations from the time), Liza Picard aims to give an introduction to life in London between 1660 and 1670 (although she also uses sources from outside these time periods where the same illuminates the period).

The book is divided into the following sections: London; Houses; Interiors; Gardens, Parks and Open Spaces; Communications, Medicine and Dentistry; Clothes, Jewellery, Cosmetics, Hairdressing, Washing etc; Housework, Laundry and Shopping; Cooking, Meals, Food and Drink; Sex; Households; Education, Literacy and Speech; Hobbies, Excursions, Family Occasions and Etiquette; Divers Events and Acts in the Law; Money, Poverty and Class; Religion and Popular Beliefs and the World Picture. Picard's research is meticulous and she succeeds in providing a flavour for each section, while the comprehensive end notes provide an excellent starting point for further research for those so inclined.

Opinion is kept to a minimal, although Picard does offer suggestions where the raw data is inconclusive. The only point where this is difficult to agree with is in the Sex section where she uses the low child mortality rate to challenge the preconception of Restoration as being rife with rumpy pumpy, when it is equally possible that the statistics of the period were inaccurate due to under-reporting (a subject that she doesn't address).

This aside, Picard's novel is an excellent resource for anyone with a passing interest in Restoration social history or anyone requiring a primer for further research in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London from 1660-1670, 6 Sept. 2006
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Restoration London: Everyday Life in the 1660s (Paperback)
I stumbled on Liza Picard's books quite by chance. After looking at the publishing date in some of the books it is apparent some of them have been around for several years. I am now recommending them to anyone and everyone and I am so glad I stumbled across the first one I read on a rainy afternoon, lonely and far away from home. I have now read them all.

As soon as you start to read the book it becomes apparent that the author is passionate about her subject and wants the reader to enjoy the reading experience as much as she has in the writing of it. Liza Picard presents an enthralling picture of how life in London was really lived in the 1600s: the houses and streets, gardens and parks, cooking, clothes and jewellery, cosmetics, hairdressing, housework, laundry and shopping, medicine and dentistry, sex, education, hobbies, etiquette, law and crime, religion and popular beliefs. To anyone who has not read the author's books perhaps these subjects seem boring and mundane, but they are written about with such knowledge and wit that they literally come to life in the readers imagination.

Liza Picard was born in 1927. She read law and qualified as a barrister but did not practice. Quite where she gleaned all this information from I am not sure. That it was a labour of love is obvious to anyone who reads her books and I for one am grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Restoration insight, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restoration London: Everyday Life in the 1660s (Paperback)
Good insight in everyday life in Restoration London. Well researched although it is not an in depth narrative book, more a reference book with snippets of information for further research. I liked how the topics have been divided into specific chapters covering practically every side of life - houses, gardens, cooking, social context, hobbies ect. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Research Base, 14 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restoration London: Everyday Life in the 1660s (Paperback)
A must for the 17th century London research, covers all fields of the daily life. As said before: Its style is both simple and evocative... A good and entertaining read which gives you a lively picture of how life in London was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this book, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restoration London: Everyday Life in the 1660s (Paperback)
I bought this book as I wanted to read around the Restoration period after reading Pepys' diaries. Full of interesting detail, maybe a little dated at times, but just what I was after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hurrah for Liza Picard's Books!, 15 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Restoration London: Everyday Life in the 1660s (Paperback)
All of Liza Picard's books bring the period she is writing about to life in vivid colour because she deals in the every day of people just like us - so we identify with them. She researches in great depth, but presents all the fascinating, and often hilarious, facts in such a way that draws us in and keeps us enthralled. Buy it - worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive history, 9 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restoration London: Everyday Life in the 1660s (Paperback)
What a fantastic book. Well researched, informative and very human. I love the way it's organized. I highly recommend it and will be reading it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really fascinating if you're interested in the period, which ..., 31 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restoration London: Everyday Life in the 1660s (Paperback)
Really fascinating if you're interested in the period, which I am. A book to dip into, not to read all in one go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Restoration London: Everyday Life in the 1660s
Restoration London: Everyday Life in the 1660s by Liza Picard (Paperback - 6 May 2004)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews