Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cured my Islamophobia
How relieved I was to discover that Muhammad was actually wise, noble and enlightened.

Until I read this wonderful book I thought he was a monsterous seventh century war-lord who convinced his followers that God wanted them to convert, subjugate (as dhimmi) or kill "unbelievers". I thought he had fifteen wives, the last of whom was the daughter of his adopted...
Published 9 months ago by SteveJones

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hot and Cold
Having studied the life of Prophet Muhammad;Peace & Blessings of Allah be upon him (PBUH) I was overwhelmingly impressed with some chapters in this book which were quite simply outstanding. Other contents of the book raised some eyebrows as Karen Armstrong mentioned several events quoting no references & this in a book where she has quoted hundreds of references, perhaps...
Published on 20 Nov 2011 by I. Tufail


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cured my Islamophobia, 27 Oct 2013
This review is from: Muhammad: Biography of the Prophet: A Biography of the Prophet (Paperback)
How relieved I was to discover that Muhammad was actually wise, noble and enlightened.

Until I read this wonderful book I thought he was a monsterous seventh century war-lord who convinced his followers that God wanted them to convert, subjugate (as dhimmi) or kill "unbelievers". I thought he had fifteen wives, the last of whom was the daughter of his adopted son and was aged between six and nine at betrothal and fourteen at consummation. I believed he wiped out the Qurayza Jews who were foolish enough to shelter him, claiming to have personally beheaded at least 600.

I even thought his present day followers, like (British Born) Cleric Anjem Choudary wanted to continue in the same way, mainly because they keep saying they do.

Armstrong's book, which is wonderful example of Blairite multiculturalism and political correctness, has convinced me that I believed these things due to a mental illness called 'Islamophobia'. Gosh I'm glad I'm cured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a highly readable and balanced biography., 18 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Muhammad (Paperback)
I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to read a balanced, informative and readable account of the Prophet of Islam. It is especially ideal for a western reader as it puts the events surrounding the coming of Islam not only into historical context but also within the context of Islam in the world today. Armstrong also dispels the popular conception of Islam as a harsh, fanatical religion that was spread 'by the sword' and of its prophet as an opportunistic womanising crusader. Indeed, she probes at the man behind the prophet and what emerges is a sensitive account of a man who was courageous yet fallible, strong yet gentle- a wise visionary who created a civilised society from what used to be the 'bloodbath' of pre-Islamic Arabia. She also emphasises the many similarities that Islam has in common with Judaism and Christianity and brings out the fact that Islam was really a continuation of those two great religions.
By setting the scene of pre-Islamic Arabia- a savage and tribal society, the reader not only appreciates that Islam was in fact a liberating force but also gains a sympathetic understanding of Muhammad's role and actions. Many aspects of his life and his actions that a westerner gazing at him through a twenty-first century lens finds hard to understand or reconcile with the actions of a prophet, are explained and put into context, such as his marrying twelve times.
Essentially, this is an excellent historical account and I would recommend it to anyone due to its readable and easy style and its well-balanced treatment of its subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muhammad: Biography of the Prophet: A Biography of the Prophet (Paperback)
The author does share faith with the Muslim people, but she wrote about prophet Muhammed with respect. There is criticism but it is not offensive. I recommend everyone to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's it all about? Find out here., 23 Jan 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muhammad: Biography of the Prophet: A Biography of the Prophet (Paperback)
As an atheist bought up as an anglican I was very much in the dark about Islam generally, though I do have some muslim friends. I found this book generally informative about Islam and the prophet. The book takes a while to get into Muhammad's life, the second chapter starts with the prophet's first vision, but then doesn't mention anything about the prophet's life after that, this occurs several times in the first few chapters. So prepare yourself for a lot of background and a lot of Islamic theology/philosophy at the start. Having said that the beginning of the book lays some very important groundwork for understanding what Muhammad was trying (and succeeding) to acheive, which is essential for the newcommer to the subject. I read this book as I wanted to find out about the Caliphate and thought it would be good background reading, which it was, but now I'll probably read more of Karen Armstrong's other books as well. She's such an informative writer, knows her subject inside out and is totally non-judgemental, leaving the reader to draw his or her own conclusions. If you buy this book you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hot and Cold, 20 Nov 2011
By 
I. Tufail - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Muhammad: Biography of the Prophet: A Biography of the Prophet (Paperback)
Having studied the life of Prophet Muhammad;Peace & Blessings of Allah be upon him (PBUH) I was overwhelmingly impressed with some chapters in this book which were quite simply outstanding. Other contents of the book raised some eyebrows as Karen Armstrong mentioned several events quoting no references & this in a book where she has quoted hundreds of references, perhaps some points are her own personal viewpoints. Just as you read the book thinking good job you will notice contradictions creeping in, perhaps the book was not thoroughly reviewed before it went to print as some contradictions are clear as day. The Battle of Badr, Islam not being for all Mankind (in first 100 years) are some examples where Karen Armstrong research was perhaps not the best & even then you can refute these points with other points in the book.

If your a Muslim this is an excellent supplementary textbook, if your a Non-Muslim I would advise reading "When the Moon Split" or Martin Lings book. I have copied the urls for both books below.
[...]

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A non Muslim's perspective of the book., 26 Aug 2011
By 
J. Taha - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muhammad: Biography of the Prophet: A Biography of the Prophet (Paperback)
This book gives a real insight into the life of the Prophet Mohammed and the trials and tribulations he dealt with when trying to convey Allah's message to the people of Arabia. Karen Armstrong has a terrific knowledge of Christianity, Judaism and Islam and can point out the many similarities. She also draws attention to the misinterpretations of Islam in the western world and how the religion of the western world has many skeletons in its closet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outsiders view, 29 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muhammad: Biography of the Prophet: A Biography of the Prophet (Paperback)
This book takes some time to get through but really worth it if you're interested in getting an accurate picture of what the man and the faith is all about. A breath of fresh air, well worth reading and even giving as a present to someone who wants an intelligent review of this man and his faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 17 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Muhammad: Biography of the Prophet: A Biography of the Prophet (Paperback)
The books of Karen Armstrong are religious texts that, unlike those of many other religious scholars, are very accessible.
Having enjoyed 'A Short History Of Islam', I picked up the biography of the prophet "Muhammad" (peace be upon him [pboh])with enthusiasm. It did not disappoint.
The beauty of her writing is not just in the clear presentation of the historical facts of Muhammad (pboh)& his life, but her very accurate and compassionate explanation of these facts in a historical context. As we all know, if presented with information without context, mis-representation and misinterpretation follow and this breeds scepticsm and contempt.
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. Karen Armstrong writes in a clear and gripping manner and, as a rather poorly informed Muslim, helped me understand the background of my religion, rather than just the daily practises.
My favourite part of the book was the magical description of the "Isra" and "Miraj" - the Night Journey and the Ascent To The Seven Heavens. Nobody had ever told me about this fascinating event in the Prophet's life. Fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muhammad, 20 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. M. Edwards (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent, a real eye opener, especially on Mohammed's efforts at concensus and conciliation in his later life. Unfortunately those most in need of it are unlikely to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written!, 10 Jan 2013
This review is from: Muhammad: Biography of the Prophet: A Biography of the Prophet (Paperback)
Very easy to read! In depth knowledge on the topic, quite objective and to the point. I would read it again and have recommended the book to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Muhammad: Biography of the Prophet: A Biography of the Prophet
Muhammad: Biography of the Prophet: A Biography of the Prophet by Karen Armstrong (Paperback - 3 Dec 2001)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews