Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for anybody with interest in the Countryside
This is as close to an essential text as you get if you are interested in the development of the English Countryside and current state of the Environment in the UK. Written with the clear authority of excellent research, but presented in a way which is highly accessible, this is a model of both scholarship and style. After introducing the research methods used by the...
Published on 24 May 2009 by Stewart M

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Very informative, although Im finding it hard work!
Published 1 month ago by M J ELDRED


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for anybody with interest in the Countryside, 24 May 2009
By 
Stewart M (Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: History of the Countryside (Paperback)
This is as close to an essential text as you get if you are interested in the development of the English Countryside and current state of the Environment in the UK. Written with the clear authority of excellent research, but presented in a way which is highly accessible, this is a model of both scholarship and style. After introducing the research methods used by the book it book addresses aspects of the landscape such as fields, woodlands and moorlands on a chapter by chapter basis. However, the book always manages to maintain a coherent picture of these aspects within the wider landscape. The origin and nature of the British Countryside is swathed in many myths and factoids - this book goes a very long way to addressing these. As the other reviews have said - it comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning book on how the countryside came to be, 11 Mar 1999
By A Customer
The Norfolk Broads are artificial, not natural. Forests traditionally could exist without a tree in sight. Oliver Rackham has a few surprises up his sleeve but what really makes this book great is that for all its 500 or so pages, its a total page turner!
The British countryside was made: barely an acre of our land is in its prehistoric state. This book shows how woods, fields ponds and heath grew up alongside mankind; how they were used, and how historical documents as well as the land itself takes us far back into history.
The land changes slowly, and despite the damage of the last 100 years there is much of historical interest to be found, and the guided walks of the illustrated edition take you there.
A beautiful example of how a lifelong academic can remain passionate about his subject and totally readable. I read the non-illustrated version, but I checked the illustrated one in the local bookshop and it looks fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure to own and read, 28 Jun 2011
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I bought Oliver Rackham's original History of the Countryside, lent it to a close relative and never saw it again; expensive mistake! Someone, probably fed up with my long face, bought me the illustrated edition as a consolation prize, so I've read and owned both. It's hard to be objective choosing between the two in the circumstances, but I think I marginally preferred the original with its greater detail. Certainly the big, colour illustrations in this edition are a real pleasure, and ease one gently through a description and analysis which is far from trivial. However the abridged text sometimes comes across as rather terse, some of the richness of the writing in the original edition having been sacrificed for brevity. And the original edition isn't without illustrations; its just that here there is more colour, they are larger, and inset in the text.

Rackham arranges his book thematically. Chapter headings are:
Rural Detection; Animals and Plants; Woodland; Wood Pasture; Boundaries and Fields; Trees of Hedgerow and Farmland; Highways; Grassland and Heath; Moorland; Ponds, Dells and Pits; Marshes, Fens, Rivers and the Sea. Here the text broadly follows the original edition, and there is a bibliography of suggested further reading, and a detailed index at the back.

There are, in addition 8 annotated walks, which are like mini-field-trips, designed to let you see many of the features described in the book out there in the landscape. Unfortunately the book is rather too large and heavy to take with you, so you'd presumably photocopy the relevant pages before setting out. As the walks are all over Great Britain, it is unlikely that any but the most dedicated would do more than a couple of them.

I would suggest this is the best version to buy as a gift, or if you are a general reader seeking to understand more about what you see around you, especially if you are a keen walker. For more depth, and for anyone studying geography or environmental science, go for the original. This is clearly what Rackham himself intends. Collins New Naturalist Library (100) - Woodlands by Rackham is a serious, detailed study which is packed with fascinating reading too; well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rackham Does It Again!, 30 Jun 2006
By 
J. Angelson (NYC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: History of the Countryside (Paperback)
Rackham, a senior fellow at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, outdoes himself with this stunning exposition of the English countryside. He displays a grasp of his material both wide and deep, saturated with intuitive understanding and ecological consciousness. Rackham really outdoes himself with this one! Highly recommended. The treatment of Essex marshland represents a particular contribution to the literautre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating & impressive book, 1 Mar 2011
By 
H. Campion (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is easy to enjoy the countryside, but this book does a lot to extend & deepen our understanding of what we are looking at. It explains the features in a landscape - the interaction of geology, plants, animal habitats & human interaction with the natural environment.

I think the illustrated edition is particularly attractive - not just because the pictures are beautiful, but because they supply examples of landscapes and features & so help us to recognise similar things when we find them. We've noticed things we wouldn't have noticed before reading this, and now they mean something to us. That's a pleasure in itself.

It's very enjoyable, and valuable, to look around, and, thanks to this book, notice things, & begin to understand what has made the place look as it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great scoping exercise., 31 Jan 2013
A way of educating oneself away from airy fairy notions of the countryside and Nature. He is a good, succinct writer with a light touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a book, 29 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a keen walker and very amateur naturalist I have more than a passing interest in the countryside. I'm into trees, birding, dragonflies, botany to mention just a few. Beyond that though, as I walk through the countryside, I'd like to understand how it has been formed. I've spent a lot of time wondering why things are like they are. Why does my local wood have large holes in the ground? why are some trees pollarded? why is that large nettle bed where it is and what is this ridge and furrow all about? It's all very well being able to identify birds and dragonflies and grasses and sedges, but there are far bigger mysteries out there to struggle with. Then I found this book. It goes some considerable way in explaining how the countryside has formed. Reading it has given me the considerable pleasure of being able to go out and solve a few mysteries.

I've owned this book for ages, in fact as a collector of books I have both paper and hardback editions. This is simply the finest book I've read on the subject by some considerable margin and Oliver Rackham is undoubtedly an absolute legend. Not only is this book a joy to read, it is an absolute mine of information. You will not find a better book. The very fact that Oliver Rackham books are so eminently collectable is testament to the genius of the author. Don't mess around, if you're interested in our fantastic countryside, then you have to own this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly brilliant, 5 Feb 2000
By 
Andrew Montford (Edinburgh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
As the previous reviewer says, this is completely fascinating. I read the illustrated abridgement, and while I found it a page turner, it does read like an abridgement. The pictures are great though. Can't wait to get hold of the full edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for Ecology and Conservation students, 18 Oct 2009
By 
Dr. N. WOODRUFF (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Countryside (Paperback)
This book as a reference is a must for all colleges and students studying Ecology and Conservation, I was searching for a book which brought data and fact together and this book does that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learning is key, 29 Oct 2013
This little coffee table book will explain, an England that has been manicured to form the beautiful countryside we all love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

History of the Countryside
History of the Countryside by Dr Oliver Rackham (Paperback - 9 Nov 2000)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews